Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
630件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 201 - 225 / 253 レビュー

by Elizabeth M

Nov 05, 2019

As someone who has been involved in digital graphics/video/music production and had not touched paint since grade school I suddenly over the last year or so surprisingly found myself being drawn to the ideas behind painting. I perused the course "In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting" but was unsure how much I would learn.

The course far exceeded my expectations. At times it almost felt like being in the classroom. I learned so much and am looking forward to trying out all the techniques described each week as I explore making my own paintings over the next few years.

The teacher is amazing, love Corey’s teaching style, he explained things in a very clear manner and his humble down to earth manner was endearing. Would highly recommend this course!

by Mourad E

May 19, 2018

I enjoyed every class, as an artist from Egypt, It was great to have an experince to study about NY art school with MOMA's videos. I hope MOMA will issue more and more courses later.

by Uma H

Aug 04, 2017

This course is EXCELLENT. I have been following many tutorials but this one is the unique: show you in a dry ad efficace way different painting techniques combine with the history of the painters who invented it. More you have a critics presentation of the most interesting abstract paintings of the century. Thanks for sharing your studies and your experiences with us.

by Houssam E H

Jan 01, 2018

i would like to give special thanks for the Moma museum Volkswagen and all the team behind the camera,for letting this hapend,the language is so easy to understand, and i had that chance to get to know all these artists and their technics, i would like to learn more and master my studies is posible

you guys are mazing

best regards, Houssam HAFDI.

by lorna z f

Jul 17, 2017

Excellent! Not boring at all. Plenty of well done reading materials and interesting links. My favorite part - "In the studio", I think I learned a lot and got motivation to do more.

Curators' and Corey's videos are informative, professional, involving. I would highly recommend this course.

by KIRSTEN M

Nov 04, 2017

Excellent - one of the most interesting courses I have done. The practical demonstrations make this a very unique experience - thank you!

by Paige S

Nov 09, 2018

very informative

by James S

Jun 12, 2017

Excellent course! Having the opportunity to paint like the artists adds so much insight and meaning to the experience. Thanks Corey!

by SHRUTI L T

Dec 02, 2019

I learnt about the birth of Abstract Expressionism as well as gained an understanding about the artists behind it. It changed my perception regarding the individuality of the artistic process, and how an artwork can silently reveal the inticasies of the mind that created it.

by lei w

Dec 11, 2017

Best class I have ever taken. It is a rare opportunity for me who lives in China to be able to take a class from MOMA. I truly appreciate it.

by Fernando P

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent. Allows us a greater understanding of the New York School.

by Angelica S

Apr 02, 2018

A great experience to have taken this course. Knowing and applying the techniques of these seven artists was enriching.

by brian n

Jul 16, 2017

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.

by Kim M

Feb 26, 2018

great class!

by cian

Apr 19, 2017

Excellent all round course and the instruction videos are particularly good. Highly recommend.

by Gabriela L

Jan 09, 2018

Great course. The lecturer is knowledgeable and passionate about the subject, his explanations are very clear. I think it's a great idea to combine art history on the artists with studio technique lessons. The best part is to have the lessons taught in front of the actual paintings that hang on the walls of MoMA, that's not only exciting, but we are able to see the true dimensions of each work reviewed, as well as some close ups to appreciate details and textures. The references and links presented are very useful.

by Marjorie B

Jan 11, 2019

This course provided an excellent overview of the selected artists, unique explanations of the artwork by museum professionals, and great studio assignments to paint along with. I had so much fun learning and painting! If you are looking for increased art appreciation or some inspiration in the studio, I would highly recommend this course!

by Daniella R

May 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this enriching and inspiring course. The material shared is so valuable and the teachers and exponents are really good. A life changing experience to learn to observe an artwork, exploring deeper into the artists' lives and vision.

by Hilary L

Nov 02, 2018

I loved this course. Full of content, knowledge and invaluable technical insight, it has helped broaden my perspective of this era immensely, whilst positively contributing to my own artistic and creative journey. Thank you MOMA and to Corey, who really does a fantastic job.

by Roberto B F

Aug 18, 2017

Awesome!

by Sune L

Oct 21, 2017

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

by James W

Sep 12, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyable and provided fantastic inspiration for my own work. The lecturer was clearly very knowledgeable and conveyed sometimes difficult concepts simply and reinforced these throughout the course. It really was easy to stay motivated with this course!

by Maura S

Jul 14, 2017

Extraordinary class!

A self-taught artist of eight years, I found I didn't really "get" abstract expressionism. This course as presented gave me a much deeper appreciation for the historical impact of this movement as well as a greater understanding of techniques employed, thanks to Corey D'Augustine's weekly "In the studio" video sessions. In fact, those videos, in particular, gave me the confidence to work in oils, which I had never attempted before, and validated my own instincts in working in the abstract world. What's more, the readings and images studied by these seven artists informed my appreciation for the AbEx movement and, hopefully, my ability to not sound like a dumba$$ when discussing AbEx or other forms of art as the course also provided a deeper introduction into technical terminology and evaluatative (is that a word?) procedures.

I highly recommend this course to those artists wanting to enhance their works, and also to those on the critical / commercial side of the art world seeking to deepen their understanding of the AbEx movement and become more informed about different painting processes in general.

by Jacopo

May 01, 2019

This course is well structured. Contents are accessible and insightful. Hopefully MoMA will do more similar ones or expand this one.