Chevron Left
In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting に戻る

The Museum of Modern Art による In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
625件の評価
256件のレビュー

コースについて

Want to know how some of the 20th century’s most celebrated artists made abstract paintings? This course offers an in-depth, hands-on look at the materials, techniques, and thinking of seven New York School artists, including Willem de Kooning, Yayoi Kusama, Agnes Martin, Barnett Newman, Jackson Pollock, Ad Reinhardt, and Mark Rothko. Through studio demonstrations and gallery walkthroughs, you’ll form a deeper understanding of what a studio practice means and how ideas develop from close looking, and you’ll gain a sensitivity to the physical qualities of paint. Readings and other resources will round out your understanding, providing broader cultural, intellectual, and historical context about the decades after World War II, when these artists were active. The works of art you will explore in this course may also serve as points of departure to make your own abstract paintings. You may choose to participate in the studio exercises, for which you are invited to post images of your own paintings to the discussion boards, or you may choose to complete the course through its quizzes and written assessments only. Learners who wish to participate in the optional studio exercises may need to purchase art supplies. A list of suggested materials is included in the first module. Learning Objectives: Learn about the materials, techniques, and approaches of seven New York School artists who made abstract paintings. Trace the development of each artist’s work and studio practice in relation to broader cultural, intellectual, and historical contexts in the decades after World War II. Hone your visual analysis skills. Use each artist’s works as a point of departure for making your own abstract paintings....

人気のレビュー

CG

Feb 25, 2019

This is the best art class I have ever taken. It offers a perfect mix of studio art/painting techniques and art history. Instructor Corey D'Augustine is fantastic. Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

AS

Oct 04, 2019

Well-designed course; interesting material, including optional readings. The studio demonstrations and accompanying exercises were very helpful to my own art work. Excellent overall; thank you.

フィルター:

In the Studio: Postwar Abstract Painting: 101 - 125 / 249 レビュー

by Patricia M C

Jun 02, 2017

Fantastico, falta que tenga subtitulos en español.

by Tonya

May 08, 2017

Informative and inspirational

by Natalya S

Jul 19, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the videos and course content. Lecturer was a knowledgeable and engaging speaker. Highly recommend to anyone interested in learning about techniques and concepts of well known abstract artists from 20th c.

by Elaine R

Jul 23, 2017

Really enjoyed finding out about a part of art history I had known and greatly enjoyed trying out the well explained (surprisingly complex!) techniques.

by Madeline W

Nov 12, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, in particular the studio sessions showing the methods used by the featured artists. The videos prompted me to paint again, something that I have not done for some considerable time. I now need to plan a holiday in New York and a visit to MOMA to see the art for myself. Thank you

by Roberto B

May 17, 2017

Very interesting course I appeciate it very much. My only suggestion is: maibe will be nice to go more deeply in the materials used by the artists (not the supposed one) , with link to papers, scientific investigation, conservation treatment report and other useful information about on what is the actual knowledge on the painting materials and tecnique used by the painters of newyork school. That can be useful for people involved in conservation study, or for others involved in museums jobs.

by Jan M

Jun 14, 2017

I have always loved the NY abstract expressionists therefore this course gave me the opportunity to learn and appreciate these painters in so much more detail. Also, learning how these artists painted and practicing their techniques has helped me build a much stronger connection to this vital transitional art movement, as well as the artists intentions and concepts. Each artist of study was unique. I really enjoyed our presenter and teacher Cory. He explained everything really well with such conviction. I also enjoyed how the course was set up with information from different sources, recommendations and then the chance to comment and discuss with other course members. As soon as I know I was at the end of the cause, I found myself looking for another one. This is my first online course and I am very happy and inspired to do another one on painters that includes studio practice.

by JOHN Q

May 16, 2017

Fascinating and interesting course. Thanks....

by Fanny W G

Apr 26, 2017

I really enjoyed this course!! Very fun and interesting!

by Antonio R M

Aug 15, 2017

Love it and I learned alto I love to paint :-)

by Peter R

Jun 19, 2017

This was my second attempt at a Coursera course and it widely exceeded my expectations - the first was in a technology arena and the technology for doing homework assignments never worked.

This class is exceptionally well thought out and executed, particularly for someone such as myself who has never had any painting experience. Corey D"Augustine has that rare gift of an instructor who intuitively knows what the student needs in order to advance through a concept. The class begins with the absolute basics, starting with how to stretch a canvas, prime a canvas and then through the different types of paint and tools needed. The class progresses to increasingly more complicated forms of painting in the style of postwar abstract expressionism.

I thoroughly enjoyed how each week progresses through one artist after another with the opportunity to do a painting in the style of that artist. Each module does a superb and consistent job of presenting the artist's major works, the philosophy and history and then the techniques through a demonstration. It is great to be able to upload a photo of your effort and then see and react to what other students have done. The quiz at the end of each module help to reinforce the lessons learned for that module.

In the end, I found that I could paint paintings in the style of the postwar abstract expressionists - something I never thought possible. To the student with little or no experience with painting, especially oils, the mere mixing of paint and applying it to a canvas can be intimidating - this instructor effectively moves the student away from those hesitations. More importantly, I will likely never look a painting in a museum with a more critical eye than I now have for this style of art and, I can now articulate why I have always enjoyed this period of art history. Well done Corey!

by Plácida

Aug 14, 2017

This course has provided the opportunity of knowing better each renown artists from Abstract Expressionism in United States. I've learnt in depth and discovered other personalities I've ever seen throughout my degree in Art History. The contents are actually instructive and teaching. Hope to enroll in more courses like that in a soon future. Congratulations!

by Nikka

Jul 19, 2017

I felt that I learned so much on this course. It gave me a deeper understanding of the works of each artist when I knew more of their process and had the chance to use these skills on my own.

by Michela P G

Nov 29, 2017

Very enjoyable!!! I feel I've learnt a lot.

by Fernando P

Nov 14, 2017

Excellent. Allows us a greater understanding of the New York School.

by Houssam E H

Jan 01, 2018

i would like to give special thanks for the Moma museum Volkswagen and all the team behind the camera,for letting this hapend,the language is so easy to understand, and i had that chance to get to know all these artists and their technics, i would like to learn more and master my studies is posible

you guys are mazing

best regards, Houssam HAFDI.

by Sune L

Oct 21, 2017

It's incredibly inspiring. Corey gives very good instruction and specific tasks, while encouraging pushing beyond limits if you feel like it. You won't be left flailing if your new to painting (like me) and you won't be limited if you are more experienced and adventurous. If in doubt check out the free "In the studio" videos on you tube, I gives a great idea of what you will get more of here.

by John V

Jul 23, 2017

I liked this course very much. The instructor Corey D'Augustine has an excellent presentation style: clear, concise and to the point. The studio component of the course was difficult but extraordinary rewarding, the works of the artists covered are incredibly difficult to reproduce. You get a true understanding of the brilliance of their ideas and their works. Excellent course. I highly recommend it.

by Andrew E

Dec 01, 2017

Excellent course. Material was concise. Videos were truly excellent and to the point. Easily manageable across a busy week and I learned much more than I anticipated. Heartily recommended. Look forward to the next!

by Annesha P

May 17, 2017

Excellent course which taught me how to appreciate abstract paintings. I also learned about some of the prominent painters, techniques and materials of the Abstract Expressionist movement.

by Christie J

May 22, 2017

The technical aspect of art history was fascinating and really helped me understand and remember how the artist worked, and the development of their practice. I feel able to talk about these artists, the movements they are associated with, and to produce credible visual analyses of their work.

by maria f l

Jun 25, 2017

muy buen curso ... ayuda a adquirir conocimientos mas especificos sobre los artistas , como son los videos en estudios . me ayudaron mucho

by Lisa R

Aug 18, 2017

Brilliant course, and Corey is a charismatic & knowledgeable presenter, a pleasure to learn from. Highly recommended for students of all ages & abilities.

by Susan C

Dec 08, 2017

Thank You MoMA for such a fun class :)

by brian n

Jul 16, 2017

It is impossible not to love this course. Corey's sincere enthusiasm is contagious and his ability to make painting skills accessible for beginners is awe inspiring. The videos are incredibly well done and the free written materials would cost hundreds of dollars at MOMA's bookstore. I cannot say enough great things about this class, so take it so you can experience it for yourself.