Chevron Left
The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill に戻る

ローマ・ラ・サピエンツァ大学(Sapienza University of Rome) による The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
278件の評価

コースについて

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

人気のレビュー

CS

2018年3月21日

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

2018年5月1日

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

フィルター:

The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill: 26 - 50 / 111 レビュー

by antonio b

2019年9月13日

Very well done!! It is difficult to follow up all the details in this short sessions, but with some offline aid and readings the whole topic emerge in a structured and fascinating way! Looking forward to other offering from the university la sapienza and the amazing professor Carafa!!!

by Ronald W

2020年1月14日

If you are interested in Roman Architecture, you will find this course very interesting. It deals specifically with the development of the Palatine Hill thoughout the history of Ancient Rome, at a detailed level. For each era relevant contextual information is also provided.

by David H

2020年3月30日

I went from knowing very little about this time in history to knowing quite a lot by the end. The course was full of easy to understand topics and covered all areas as necessary. I found this course very good and full of very useful info.

by william s

2018年4月17日

Outstanding course. This course gave me a deeper understanding and appreciation for the evolution of the Roman Forum, centering around the Palatine Hill. The course has inspired me to continue my research into this phase of Roman culture.

by Kristina P T

2020年6月25日

Its incredible how one hill can be a microcosm for the Roman Empire. I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Carafa's course, and appreciated the careful explanations and detail he offered on the material. The course material was fascinating.

by Cecilia C

2017年7月28日

This Course is very interesting! Professor Carafa is very thorough and dedicated, it was a pleasure to listen to him! I especially liked the balance between the "on site " and the "auditorium" lectures! Thank you so much!

by E. S S

2017年9月21日

Fascinating course detailing the ancient building structures on the Roman Palatine Hill. As an architect, I greatly appreciated the knowledge and invitation to experience the metamorphoses of monuments and structures.

by Júlio C M d F

2017年11月6日

This course was fantastic ! Congratulations to Professor Paolo Carafa and Coursera. Thank you very much for this worderful course ! I learn very much with it. Julio César (from Brazil)

by Cathryn S

2018年3月22日

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

by juan a c

2018年5月2日

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

by LOKHANDWALA A H

2020年7月8日

The course is a good blend of entertaining and educational. You learn a tremendous amount about Rome and the architecture in that particular part of the city.

by 黄中

2019年10月28日

A very good course to know some archaeological and architecutral knowledge about Rome. The assignments are a little hard but it is fine. A good course anyway.

by KONSTANTINA K

2021年2月14日

Wonderful Professor, it was really easy to understand the context of this course due to the well-organized information and slide-show. Highly recommended.

by Lisa F

2022年6月25日

The lessons were well-balanced with history, archeology and city planning. The presentation was easy to follow with ell appointed maps.

by Rosa M M Z

2020年9月21日

Excellent...!!!!! I enjoyed all the history and archaeology of ancient Rome... I want to visit Rome again to see all I've learned..!!!!

by Spencer P

2020年5月13日

It was fun and challenging and Prof. Carafa is a very good teacher. I hope to find more history courses from Sapienza University

by Davina S

2020年2月28日

I really enjoyed all the videos in this course! I hope to find more from this professor on this topic soon.

Thank you! Grazie

by JOHN Q

2017年7月28日

Very interesting course and much necessary to continue an interest I have in learning about Ancient Rome. Thanks so much!

by Rob v d B

2018年1月28日

Very good indepth overiew of the history of Rome. Been there often but will look at it differently next time i visit it.

by Tashi T

2022年2月6日

It was indeed a very fruitful course which enabled me to learn alot of new things which i had no clue about. Thank you

by simon w

2020年7月10日

An excellent course that makes me want to return to the Palatine to see what I missed last time. Highly recommended

by Maria J M S

2018年12月7日

Un curso bastante interesante. Un nuevo punto de vista sobre el Palatino y su relación con la historia de Roma

by Alexander L

2021年2月12日

Wonderful course; if you approach it with enthusiasm and curiosity there is a lot to take from it.

by Richard P

2019年10月8日

Good course. Learned alot about Palatine Hill. Wish I would have taken it before I went to Rome

by Melissa E

2020年10月24日

An in-depth introduction in the history of the Palatine hill and archaeology of Ancient Rome.