Chevron Left
The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill に戻る

ローマ・ラ・サピエンツァ大学(Sapienza University of Rome) による The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
278件の評価

コースについて

Studying ancient - as well as medieval or modern - cities basically means telling local urban stories based on the reconstruction of changing landscapes through the centuries. Given the fragmentary nature of archaeological evidence, it is necessary to create new images that would give back the physical aspect of the urban landscape and that would bring it to life again. We are not just content with analyzing the many elements still visible of the ancient city. The connections between objects and architectures, visible and non visible buildings, which have been broken through time have to be rejoined, to acknowledge the elements that compose the urban landscape. Landscape and its content are a very relevant and still vital part of any national cultural heritage. The course will introduce students to the way we have been reflecting on over the last twenty years and still are engaged with the study of the past of our cities, beginning from the most complex case in the ancient Mediterranean World: the core of Italy and of Roman Empire. On the other hand, knowledge means also preservation and defense of material remains and cultural memory. “The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archeology and History of the Palatine Hill” presents to a large public the topographical lay-out of the most relevant part of the city (according the Greek and Roman Historians Rome was founded on the Palatine). Research developed on the Palatine since the end of last century by the team of Sapienza Classical Archaeologists opened a new phase in the urban archaeological investigation and in the scientific debate about the relation between archaeological features and literary tradition as well as the “correct use“ of both kind of evidence, key issues of wide archaeological and historical significance....

人気のレビュー

CS

2018年3月21日

I’m now living in Siena so visiting Roma and it’s wonderful ancient architecture especially the Roman forum and the palatine hill has new excitement and knowledge for me.

JC

2018年5月1日

I appreciate the opportunity to learn the history of Rome and how it became the marvel city it is today . I will enjoy a lot more my next trip to Rome. Thank you .

フィルター:

The Changing Landscape of Ancient Rome. Archaeology and History of the Palatine Hill: 51 - 75 / 111 レビュー

by susan

2017年8月25日

Loved it and went with Roman Art and architecture very well. Teacher was excellent!!

by Virginija G

2020年9月16日

i really liked the course. The information provided to students was indeed useful.

by Darko R

2021年6月2日

it was very interesting and nice. Prof. Carafa is real professional!

by Richard I M

2021年1月27日

really interesting and I loved the mix of live footage and the maps.

by Simon C

2017年8月10日

Thank you very much for such an informative course. Very enjoyable.

by Subala K

2021年3月22日

Course was excellent! Learned so many things

Thank you

by CHRISTINE M

2021年5月26日

Thank you very much for your course Sir Paolo Carafa.

by Demétrio G C d T

2020年9月7日

Excellent course, excellent professor!

by SAHIL P

2020年7月14日

This course is the best one..

by Jennifer L

2020年6月13日

Loved this course, thank you!

by Eric H

2019年6月10日

Very very interesting!

by Samer M K

2018年10月20日

Great course. Thanks

by Jisha

2020年7月16日

Excellent Course

by ELMER P M P

2021年9月26日

thank you

by Susana J M

2018年3月15日

Wonderful

by Maria S

2021年2月1日

AMAZING

by Fayziyeva F I

2020年7月25日

super

by Giuseppe G

2018年5月9日

Fanta

by John U

2020年4月30日

I enjoyed this course very much. I only audited the course, so I don't know how different it is from the purchased course. My only criticism are the transcriptions of Professor Carafa's video presentations. The transcriber obviously misunderstood some words spoken by Professor Carafa, due to his accented English. For instance, when Professor Carafa says "hall" it is transcribed as "hole". Another example is "porticos" being transcribed as "particles". These two examples occur several times throughout the course, since hall and porticos are ubiquitous architectural features in the course. It was confusing until I understood what the Professor was actually saying. There were other transcription errors that caused confusion. It would be helpful for future students if Professor Carafa could proofread and correct the transcription errors. Alternatively, a mechanism that allowed students to suggest corrections would also suffice.

by Paul B

2020年6月19日

Great content. Really helped to bring the space to life. Three suggestions, though: 1) ensure quizzes reflect current content (e.g. lesson 8, "heliogabalium" doesn't appear to have been mentioned in any video yet there is a question about it); there is LOTS about which building was where and what it might have looked like - a little more about the men who occupied the space would be helpful; 3) no real mention of the sacking of Rome and what new rulers did with these buildings. Thanks! My next trip to Rome will be better as a result of my learning from this course.

by Niels B

2020年2月20日

The professor is very knowledgable and the course material on the palatine hill is really interesting. But the course is content is sometimes a bit chaotic, switching quickly between locations, periods and people. And the formulation of the questions in the tests doesn't always correspond with the way the answer is presented in the lectures. So the course could use an update.

by jean p D

2020年8月14日

Thanks for giving such detailed information about a very important spot in Roman history, that is difficult to understand when you visit without previous data.

Now I understood the most relevant changes through it´s amazing history.

It was sometimes hard to orient myself with the drawings, as they where not always heading North.

Thanks again.

by Peter N

2019年8月13日

A wonderful course that allowed me to understand a part of Rome much better.

I feel that the additional course material was simply a recap of the lecture and didn't expand or clarify anything.

The tutorials at the very beginning and the directions to download and instal AutoCad are irrelevant.

by julian l

2020年9月21日

not an easy course, the maps presented in the course are not very clear and far to small to be seen on the screen. Luckily I am quite familiar with the general orientation of Rome, and area around the palatine hill, otherwise, would not be able to answer lots of questions in the quiz.