Chevron Left
Parallel Programming in Java に戻る

ライス大学(Rice University) による Parallel Programming in Java の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
686件の評価
137件のレビュー

コースについて

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of parallel programming in the context of Java 8. Parallel programming enables developers to use multicore computers to make their applications run faster by using multiple processors at the same time. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use popular parallel Java frameworks (such as ForkJoin, Stream, and Phaser) to write parallel programs for a wide range of multicore platforms including servers, desktops, or mobile devices, while also learning about their theoretical foundations including computation graphs, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism. Why take this course? • All computers are multicore computers, so it is important for you to learn how to extend your knowledge of sequential Java programming to multicore parallelism. • Java 7 and Java 8 have introduced new frameworks for parallelism (ForkJoin, Stream) that have significantly changed the paradigms for parallel programming since the early days of Java. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and the mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on forums. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Theory of parallelism: computation graphs, work, span, ideal parallelism, parallel speedup, Amdahl's Law, data races, and determinism • Task parallelism using Java’s ForkJoin framework • Functional parallelism using Java’s Future and Stream frameworks • Loop-level parallelism with extensions for barriers and iteration grouping (chunking) • Dataflow parallelism using the Phaser framework and data-driven tasks Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of multicore Java programs, and will also provide the foundation for mastering other parallel programming systems that you may encounter in the future (e.g., C++11, OpenMP, .Net Task Parallel Library)....

人気のレビュー

LG

Dec 13, 2017

This is a great course in parallel programming. The videos were very clear, summaries reinforced the video material and the programming projects and quizzes were challenging but not overwhelming.

SV

Aug 28, 2017

Great course. Introduces Parallel Programming in Java in a gentle way.\n\nKudos to Professor Vivek Sarkar for simplifying complex concepts and presenting them in an elegant manner.

フィルター:

Parallel Programming in Java: 51 - 75 / 137 レビュー

by Abinash S

Jan 24, 2018

Precise but comprehensive at the same time

by Malyik J

May 21, 2018

It was a great journey. The course material was clearly presented and it was easy to follow. I recommend it.

by Rishabh A

Dec 27, 2017

Very relevant concepts, explained beautifully by a very experienced professor. The assignments were good, but they could involve more programming for more practice!

by Qian L

Jan 24, 2018

The combination of quiz and programming assignment helps understanding the course in a quite nice way. I will finish up the other two courses for sure.

by Josh S

Feb 09, 2018

This was a very well laid out, useful, and interesting course. I have done a few of them and this was one of the better ones by far. Clearly communicated and short lectures. Assignments that are actually useful and focus on what you learn. Course doesn't require a huge time sink so good for professionals.

by chen x

Oct 15, 2017

Very impressive!

by Tai H T

Oct 25, 2017

Interesting course!

by Lei Y

Apr 29, 2018

simple but useful topics, practical code examples, and new features of java 8.

by Nakib A T

May 03, 2018

Very helpful and advanced

by José A X C

Nov 09, 2017

great course.

by Hannah S

Jun 28, 2018

Fantastic introduction to parallelism in Java. Starts basic enough for those with zero experience with parallel computing, goes far enough to give more experienced Java devs some things to chew on, gives practical examples for how to apply parallel techniques throughout. Highly recommended!

by Michał P

Aug 05, 2017

Great course, clear explanations and very good examples.

by Serikzhan K

Jul 20, 2018

Learned a lot about Phasers; parallel programming concepts such as computation graph, span, ideal parallelism, CPL -- good introduction.

by Rahul K R

Jul 21, 2018

We need more exercises and more small size exercises

by Leonid S

Sep 07, 2018

Thanks to this course I've learned actual (modern?) Java APIs which helps to embed parallelism into my programs.

And one more important thing: I stated to learn again. This worth to do at any age :)

by Travis W

Jul 23, 2018

A little easy, I don't think I spent more than 5 hours on the whole thing lol

by Tianxiang X

Jul 23, 2018

Well-made videos, good explanation of concepts, great hands-on projects (not too difficult).

Some issues w/ differences b/t dev and grader environments in terms of performance / tests passing, but that's inevitable.

by Marcos N F

May 04, 2019

Excelente

by John O O

Jul 25, 2019

Full tremendous course for understanding the essentials about parallel programing in Java! Excellent mini-projects to reinforce concepts!

by Tsung T C

Jul 13, 2019

Clear instruction and concepts provided with this 4-weeks-long course.

by PATEL H K

Oct 17, 2019

Good course to learn parallel programming in java

by Matthew

Oct 23, 2019

Great course. Can't wait to start using phasers in production code, if the reviewers on PRs don't accuse me over-engineering :)

by Carlos A R

Oct 23, 2019

Really didactic!

by frishta

Oct 10, 2019

it was a great experience that I learned new skills. thanks a lot to my teachers who helped me to complete this course successfully.

by marcos h b p

Nov 11, 2019

I liked very much the material support. I found fascinating the framework PCD. Congrats