Chevron Left
Particle Physics: an Introduction に戻る

ジュネーヴ大学(University of Geneva) による Particle Physics: an Introduction の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
815件の評価

コースについて

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

人気のレビュー

VL

2021年3月26日

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.

Thank you for the great course!

MK

2017年8月4日

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

フィルター:

Particle Physics: an Introduction: 151 - 175 / 240 レビュー

by Chris B

2020年3月25日

Really good course.

by Cao S S

2017年9月23日

Excellent course!

by Dr.S S

2021年6月21日

Excellent Course

by Dr. S K J

2020年5月11日

Excellent course

by hassan a

2017年12月5日

Very Good Course

by Raphael G C

2022年1月30日

Awesome course!

by Arko P S

2020年6月28日

Great Course

by Ryan C

2020年10月5日

Amazing!!!

by Manuel H R

2020年7月29日

Very good.

by Hrishit M

2021年9月23日

Excellent

by natchimuthu V

2020年9月22日

thank you

by Sunday O C

2020年7月5日

Very Good

by Soumil G S

2020年6月20日

Excellent

by Vikram M

2020年5月4日

Thank You

by SAHIL A M

2021年9月24日

Great

by SaIkat D

2021年9月24日

Great

by 2K19/EP/103 V G

2022年5月5日

good

by ROHIT N

2018年4月13日

Best

by Tanmay G

2020年6月28日

nil

by M. A l g

2022年4月25日

-

by Jean S

2019年3月5日

Excellent course, I recommend it. You will need to review the material offline and do some outside research occasionally to understand the material, but overall, it is quite comprehensive. The optional videos are sometimes more interesting than the course videos, so don't skip them!! Martin Pohl is really fantastic as the main presenter and interviewer. Mercedes Paniccia has a heavy accent and intonations which make it difficult for us north americans, but she is obviously quite competent at the research level. I just wish the presentations were more interactive than static. Overall I give it 4 stars for the material covered and quality.

by Lane W

2020年8月25日

NOT AND INTRODUCTION

I feel badly giving this course anything less than four stars because the instructors put a lot of time into making it and I am VERY thankful that they offered the course for free to the world. I think it is a very noble thing.

There was value in the course for me for the first 2 or 3 modules but after that I hardly learned anything except some conceptual points about the Higgs Boson and Dark Matter because it was WAY above an entry level course. To get the most of the course you'd probably need to have either been exposed to it before or have a degree in it.

I am very thankful that they put it together though.

by Tyler C

2017年7月18日

Fascinating course covering the fundamentals of the standard model up to current research. The material is dense - I often had to look back at previous videos to remember terms and concepts. The key mathematics is provided and gone over, but was a little fast paced for me. Most derivations are left out except for a few optional videos which cover simple ones. You don't necessarily need to understand the details of the mathematics to pass the graded assignments which just ask a few questions covering the main concepts. Overall this course is challenging but incredibly instructive.

by Jana A

2020年8月12日

Very interesting course, but not for beginners. The information provided in the videos presupposed some knowledge in this field, which I unfortunately did not have. To understand the topics, I had to look for other sources. I would also welcome a terminological glossary explaining frequently used terms. A big problem for me was the English pronunciation of one lecturer. Otherwise, I rate this course very well. A number of things that interested me were clarified and I think it could be a good basis for further study.

by Samy S

2017年9月17日

It is a very nice introductory course which is supported with laboratory session which is an awesome idea, but the mathematics used in this course is somehow higher level to me, so I recommend if there is any source to learn the mathematics behind this lectures. last but not least I would like to thank all the staff working on this course especially Dr. Martin, Dr. Mercedes, Dr. Anna for their attractive and elaborating way of lecturing