Chevron Left
Particle Physics: an Introduction に戻る

ジュネーヴ大学(University of Geneva) による Particle Physics: an Introduction の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
814件の評価

コースについて

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

人気のレビュー

VL

2021年3月26日

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.

Thank you for the great course!

MK

2017年8月4日

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

フィルター:

Particle Physics: an Introduction: 176 - 200 / 240 レビュー

by Somesh K

2019年7月15日

The course is very good in structure and content.I am now more familiar with physics and equations - how they describe the phenomena. The one thing about which I felt unease was that,I was not able to follow profs without subtitle and I also feel more explanation is required for some topics. But its all right they suggested many materials and videos from minute physics. The course is worth doing by aspiring scientists.

by KEVIN G A

2020年6月14日

It was a very marvelous experience. It provided me a wide variety of knowledge regarding complex and diverse phenomena. It sparked me in thinking about the fundamental and ' cause,' role of particles in physics. Really it has most scopes of pathbreaking and changing the realm of physics in future. The classes and optional experiments were very beautiful and informative , they often made us to think more and more.

by SAIKIRAN V

2020年6月13日

The course is very nice and after listening to the lecture videos if we go through the material provided we can easily finish the quizzes and graded quizzes of each module successfully.

They planned it very nicely and in the end, I felt like it is rushing but the topic itself is advanced so it is fine. Overall it is a very nice and useful course for the beginners in particle physics.

by gareth w

2018年1月15日

A whistle stop tour of particle physics at an undergraduate level. Electro-weak is covered in some depth and I would have liked the same depth on the Higgs mechanism. Not surprisingly due to U/Geneva's location near the LHC there is a strong emphasis on accelerators and particle detection.

Forum response to questions is poor.

by Arabindo D

2020年2月17日

The course is nice, but I give 4 stars because I prefer blackboard lectures more than that of only slides. The course is much descriptive. If it becomes more just like giving lectures with deriving some equations it would be fun. Overall the course is really good with a few self-studies and knowledge of bit advance physics.

by Charlotte B

2022年5月17日

My background is in mechanical engineering and there was a lot of stuff that was a bit hard for me to grasp. I didn;t grasp all the concepts for sure, however I did learn a lot. I watched only half of the videos. At the end, printing the slides with the notes was easier: I can add my notes, and highlight the key parts.

by Shuaidi Z

2019年7月19日

This course is very effective at introducing concepts for students to dig into on there own. An especially good job is done at introducing important concepts such as vacuum polarization and CKM matrix. However, I do wish the course had been a bit more in depth on neutrinos and Higgs mechanism.

by Daniel A B U

2018年9月15日

Está bueno el curso para los que no tienen mucha idea sobre partículas. Sin embargo, creo que puede ser mejor si se ponen más actividades que no sean de selección simple para así garantizar una mayor comprensión del tema que se trata en los distintos módulos

by Thomas G

2018年1月6日

Très bon cours. Le niveau est haut si l'on ne connait pas du tout le sujet. Le cours évolue rapidement. Il est donc parfois nécessaire de prendre plus qu'une semaine (le temps de travail prévu par semaine) pour être capable de suivre le cours.

by Maulik P

2020年7月8日

It was a really well tailored course for starting to learn particle phsyics. Although it was tough at times to understand the accents. Also, I would've liked it more if it was based on a blackboard method of teaching rather than ppt slides.

by Anandhu V

2021年2月24日

Though at first it seems a little difficult as you need some knowledge about particle physics but as i also referred from outside sources it became relatively easy for me and its a good course for further development of knowledge

by Fethi O Ö

2017年12月11日

Great course by coursera.It was nice try to understand subatomic World.Don't need to know good maths.Language was enough to understand the subjects.hanks fo University Geneva and Martin Pohl, Mercedes Paniccini,Anna Sfyrla.

by Bob R

2018年1月28日

Excellent course in you are interested in learning, or improving your knowledge, about fundamental particles and forces and their interactions. You might want to brush up a bit on your math skill

by K R K

2020年12月18日

It is interesting but complicated. Most of the calculations and formulas go over my head. But I recommend this course to anyone who is a physics enthusiast.

by rujuta j

2020年6月21日

it was a great course ! a lot of information was studies and the professors were great!! do recommend it 100%. some more detailing could have been done.

by Devak G

2017年3月28日

For me it was for eye opening into the world that is smaller than us and the principles that control that make the universe what it is.

by Norberto R

2017年5月23日

Thank you very much for your effort to make this course.It was a difficult trip, but for the knowledge received, it was worth it.

by Noëlie C

2018年3月27日

Parfois trop rapide. Les questions du quizz sont trop précises sur certains aspects qui n'ont été que survolés dans les vidéos.

by Ajinkya G

2017年4月25日

Not really introductory to people with very little background or familiarity with the field, but the notes are very good.

by Sophie F

2020年7月17日

Very good course, but a bit long and can be boring at times but you learn a lot of interesting things. Would recommend

by Austin L

2020年11月30日

Could use more quiz questions using the math taught in the course. However really good at getting the ideas across.

by Muhammad F

2019年3月12日

That's really a nice course. I have learn a lot about the particle physics. which helpful in MPhIL program.

by Harshdeep S

2020年1月20日

A lot of room for improvement is there, but it was a pretty good and detailed course in particle physics.

by David D

2020年11月8日

It was a nice overview of an extremely broad subject and provides ample fodder for additional research.

by Chu D

2020年9月27日

Although some of the studying materials cannot be downloaded, it is still a good course to join.