Chevron Left
Particle Physics: an Introduction に戻る

ジュネーヴ大学(University of Geneva) による Particle Physics: an Introduction の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
814件の評価

コースについて

This course introduces you to subatomic physics, i.e. the physics of nuclei and particles. More specifically, the following questions are addressed: - What are the concepts of particle physics and how are they implemented? - What are the properties of atomic nuclei and how can one use them? - How does one accelerate and detect particles and measure their properties? - What does one learn from particle reactions at high energies and particle decays? - How do electromagnetic interactions work and how can one use them? - How do strong interactions work and why are they difficult to understand? - How do weak interactions work and why are they so special? - What is the mass of objects at the subatomic level and how does the Higgs boson intervene? - How does one search for new phenomena beyond the known ones? - What can one learn from particle physics concerning astrophysics and the Universe as a whole? The course is structured in eight modules. Following the first one which introduces our subject, the modules 2 (nuclear physics) and 3 (accelerators and detectors) are rather self contained and can be studied separately. The modules 4 to 6 go into more depth about matter and forces as described by the standard model of particle physics. Module 7 deals with our ways to search for new phenomena. And the last module introduces you to two mysterious components of the Universe, namely Dark Matter and Dark Energy....

人気のレビュー

VL

2021年3月26日

Way hard if you are not a science major! But the challenge is interesting. A quick advice : Refer to the slides if you find the accents too hard to understand.

Thank you for the great course!

MK

2017年8月4日

Challenging at first for someone with a non-traditional academic background, but thoroughly enjoyable and worth completing, if nothing but for the personal satisfaction of getting through it!

フィルター:

Particle Physics: an Introduction: 201 - 225 / 240 レビュー

by Yokesh S

2020年12月11日

Many videos were hard to follow, mostly because of the language and accent of the instructor.

by Harshit A

2020年10月23日

Content was good but the way of explaining was not up to the mark.

Content- 5/5

Teaching- 3/5

by saurav d

2018年4月12日

B

e

s

t

c

o

u

r

s

e

f

o

r

u

n

d

o

r

understanding

P

a

r

t

i

l

c

l

e

p

h

y

s

i

c

s

.

T

o

M

e

r

c

e

d

e

s

p

l

e

a

s

e

i

m

p

r

o

v

e

your

e

n

g

l

i

s

h

by Gustavo P

2017年10月8日

This course is quite good, I liked it a lot and learnt a lot from it.

by Anirudh S

2019年3月6日

The number of questions should be increased in every section!

by Prasanna K S

2020年12月4日

Really set of amazing series of lectures. Nicely explained.

by Sahil A

2019年8月9日

It would be great if there were numerical problems

by Saphilous S

2019年6月18日

French accent of the tutors is a bit troubling

by Мясников В А

2020年6月9日

french accent of mercedes is not that good

by Ayan B

2020年9月28日

The course is very informative indeed.

by Richard K

2018年7月7日

Fast paced but informative.

by Natnael M

2020年8月27日

It is a very nice cource.

by Samantha S

2018年3月23日

i love the material

by Ogunnaike F E

2020年7月9日

very easy to grasp

by TARIT G

2017年10月15日

Very good approach

by Ali H

2021年6月27日

.m

by jose

2017年12月2日

v

by Jacqueline T

2020年8月1日

Interesting material and good breadth. The difficulty level varies a lot between weeks - some weeks are very in depth while others seem like filler in comparison. There are a lot of equations introduced which require more knowledge of physics than I had expected from the course description and seem to be beyond the scope of an introductory course. Fortunately, following these equations is generally not necessary to understand the course objectives, but it does make following the lessons needlessly complex. Additionally, some of the quiz questions require memorization of specific numbers/values that are only tangentially related to the week's topic and don't help to further understanding of the subject matter.

by Christian T

2021年2月3日

I prefere courses with more explanation in detail. For example calculations actually done in real time. Good example would be the University of Australias courses about cosmology on EdX. Back of the envelope calculations are done in detail.

Just videos of presentations are a bit boring. I rather read something.

I do not see the point of all the numbers and calculations in the presentations but the tests are just about the theory. I would rather have a course with less material but more depth or more general but easier to understand. The additional video about Feynman diagrams was my favorite. I would like more of that.

by Hamza I

2020年8月28日

The course was very informative and finely detailed. I would say, however, that some parts or concepts were made a bit complicated and that they could have been easily explained/demonstrated.

by Samuel L J

2017年8月7日

The course is good, although too general. It could use more challenging exercises and mathematics, more in line with a course in Particle Physics in a standard Physics curriculum.

by Egor A

2021年12月28日

The course is about just sitting and listening for a person reading a textbook on a camera. The only interesting parts are vodeos from the actual labs.

by mrityunjoy s

2020年7月11日

there is a translation issue in some videos especially the ones with others (except Martin and Mercedes) and also the explanations are a bit monologous

by Egemen B

2018年8月8日

Unassuming about prior knowledge. Quizzes oriented to beginners, lectures to grad students. Confusing, but fun nonetheless.

by Wei-shun B

2017年9月28日

Introductory course and little prerequisites. It is good in general but I still got lost in some lecture videos.