Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,248件の評価
281件のレビュー

コースについて

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

人気のレビュー

CG

2020年2月10日

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

2020年6月24日

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

フィルター:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences: 251 - 275 / 281 レビュー

by scalesr4

2017年8月5日

I love these topics and all of the implications.

by Madhura A

2020年7月4日

A very interesting and well structured course.

by JEEVA T

2020年7月19日

I'm really happy doing this course

by 梅思远

2020年5月4日

a brief introduction to the topic.

by Sherry P

2020年8月19日

Challenging, but fun.

by Dr C J W

2019年1月25日

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

by Marcel D S

2017年6月16日

Nice introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. As a psychology undergraduate, I have seen some of the material before but still, I've learned a thing or two. My biggest problem with the course is that it's very short and the quizzes are no real challenge. It took me three days to finish this course with 100% accuracy which diminishes the value of the certificate. However, the course recommends some interesting readings with which I'll spend a bit more time with.

by Anjali N

2020年11月4日

I found it okay-ish. Some of the abstract concepts explained by the lecturers can be taught in simpler easier to understand ways. I thought it was my problem at first, not being a native English speaker, but I was able to find a lot of resources online explaining the same concepts in easier ways. So I'd definitely recommend the staff to re-work the lecture material keeping in mind the diverse audience on the internet!

by Nina

2021年7月19日

T​his course is very accessible and the explanations in the videos are clear and concise. However, it is not very detailed - the videos give a very introductory and somewhat superficial overview. This is useful for someone who has never read any philosophy of mind or cognitive science before, but if you have a bit of familiarity with this fields, this course may be too easy for you.

by Hamad M

2020年7月6日

the sessions lack review question, either in the middle or the end of the session. the marking scheme is stringent with an 'all or nothing' way. half correct answers will be marked as Zero, making it difficult to know one's mistakes. Interesting course an new information, but give the professors a chair, they get distracted standing up.

by Zhou Y

2017年6月17日

The course is just a brief introduction to the topic. The content itself has some sparkling points. The main issue is that, there isn't a lot of correlation between the course itself with the quizzes. Making the quizzes not a very good way to self-evaluate and self-reflect on the content.

by Aastha

2020年6月18日

A good introduction for those looking to acquaint themselves with the philosophy of cognitive science and what it entails. But there is not a lot of depth. So if you're already familiar with the basic ideas of bayesian cognitive science, embodiment, etc., this is not for you.

by Caroline G S

2020年5月3日

A lot of this material was interesting, but it didn't seem to hang together as a whole, and I didn't feel that it fully addressed the questions mentioned in the course description--there wasn't a lot from the philosophy point of view.

by Esther R

2018年12月17日

It is an introductory course, it makes you curious about the topic but I found the last essay too complex for the level taught in the course. I would have liked it to be longer and that the weekly lectures were more linked.

by Amanda V

2020年11月9日

the idea of the course is interesting, but I think that some topics are complicated and uninteresting. I expected other issues to be addressed. The firsties lesons was the best for me.

by Heike K M

2018年5月8日

Very interesting and mind opening course. I highly recommand it to those who are interested in the cross field of psychology, philosophy & technology.

by Aviram F

2018年1月19日

Interesting videos, but quite basic. Would be good to include more cognitive psychology experiments and cases involving patients

by Cliff S

2016年9月18日

Very nice course, active forum, no issues technical or otherwise -but- it is more about science than Philosophy.

by Satyajit K

2021年3月11日

The last segment on embodiment is quite difficult to appreciate and the content is not in well flow.

by Cindy L

2019年1月13日

Interesting subject, but the course is only a quick introduction and doesn't go into much detail.

by Antoine G

2018年5月12日

The course was interesting but I would have liked it to be more comprehensive and detailed.

by Trang C

2020年5月5日

It was too easy but the lecturers were good, high quality video and easy to sit through.

by Lavinia W

2017年8月1日

I would have liked more information on the development of the capacities of the brain.

by Oldrich S

2017年2月15日

not so interesting and boring

by manas s

2019年7月24日

make it more rigorous.