Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,248件の評価
281件のレビュー

コースについて

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

人気のレビュー

CG

2020年2月10日

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

2020年6月24日

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

フィルター:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences: 76 - 100 / 280 レビュー

by Frank R

2017年4月24日

Outstanding introductory philosophy course, taught in an accessible format by knowledgeable instructors. This is a rewarding and enjoyable course.

by Hanna a

2020年10月1日

Great course! The course structure and material makes it easier to grasp the different concepts and makes navigating through the topics seamless!

by Francisco A

2017年9月26日

Fantastic experience. I really enjoyed the explanation of such complex topics. It is really a unique opportunity regarding philosophy of science.

by Javier P M

2017年12月22日

Loved it. Never thought it was going to be this insightful. Grateful for running into this one and will tryout some more from this university.

by Ipekpinar C

2018年11月25日

This course is quite helpful for the people who are coming from different disciplines just like me. It is quite interesting and informative.

by FRANCISCO D C P G

2017年4月17日

The course focuses the top issues involving philsophy of sciences at present time, it is hosted by top figures in the field. Great course!

by medina q

2021年4月6日

such an interesting course with multi perspectives in how to look cognitive process and behavior, thank you Edinburgh Uni and Coursera

by Vimukthi M

2020年11月29日

This course changed how I looked at the world, and I hope this will be a major shift in my higher studies. Thank you dear Professors!

by Michael T

2019年5月9日

Great. Very interesting, not an overwhelming amount of work, but a great starter for anyone interested in philosophy of the mind.

by Luis J

2019年4月20日

Fascinating, the course catches you from the first instances, the story is agile, interactive, enjoyable and very professional

by Michael O

2020年1月7日

Very insightful introductory course on the subject with ample creatively shot video material and additional reading sources.

by Essaq A R

2018年3月20日

At the first I would like to thank you from Edinburgh university to offered and especially thank you from all of my teachers

by Kahuho G

2020年12月21日

Very enlightening and enables one to grasp the development of science hitherto with respect to humanity and other species.

by Yingyi Z

2018年5月16日

A very good introductory course to the philosophy of mind and machines. Ideas are well explained and very easy to follow.

by Nguyen V L

2017年5月19日

This course has boarden my point of view and it also has shown me the link between artificial intelligent and philosophy.

by Jamie H

2020年5月3日

Excellent course. I learned so much. Pairs really well with the first course on the philosophy of the physical sciences.

by Jilly M

2019年9月2日

Awesome, I learned lots, loved the McGurk effect just for the name. Great intro to this interesting and growing field.

by Karina R J

2017年7月9日

Thank you for a great and interesting course. It gave a lot of inspiration and new angels to how our brain thinks!:)

by Luis G M

2021年1月5日

Excellent course, wide in scope but accessible enough to stimulate the desire of learning more about these subjects.

by Salvatore F

2020年5月7日

Very fascinating tutorial. An open mind point of view about our brain and its relation with the world surrounding it

by Laura V

2020年4月22日

It is a great introductory course, covering a vast variety of topics. I truly enjoyed taking it! Thank you so much!

by Omar S

2020年8月2日

I enjoyed this course. It was a fun experience and I got some basic information on what cognitive sciences cover.

by shradha k

2019年1月13日

Amazing.

Really useful and I understood all of it even though I do not have a background in this subject.

Thanks

by Ian B B

2020年4月27日

Very interesting introductory course on Cognitive Sciences. I hope there'll be more related courses on this.

by Blair K W D

2020年4月29日

Really enjoyed the course. I enjoyed learning about how the brain works. And how Cognitive Science works.