Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,220件の評価
274件のレビュー

コースについて

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

人気のレビュー

CG
2020年2月10日

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS
2020年6月24日

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

フィルター:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences: 226 - 250 / 273 レビュー

by Mohamed A

2017年4月4日

This is a complete introduction the cognitive sciences. A great course to start with, but is still for the beginners

by Jay K

2020年5月13日

Exceptional and accessible introductory course into the cognitive science and evolutionary and adaptive principles.

by Robert L

2017年9月8日

A good overview though it does mix and match definition from Edinburgh research rather than research in general.

by Magdalena M

2020年5月30日

The slides for the last weeks lectures were a bit unstructured, would love if that was a bit more organized.

by Manolis P

2016年11月28日

Approachable, easy to follow, interesting examples, rich additional readings, good lecturers, easy exams

by Karin F

2017年3月22日

Great course! Could've been longer. Looking forward to more online courses from the U of Edinburgh.

by Israel Á P J

2020年8月13日

Thanks for the course, I enjoy more than the first part! I loved the funny options in the quizzes.

by Helene L E

2021年1月6日

Great course, scratching the surface of many important concepts and explaining them well.

by Yan L

2019年5月6日

I enjoyed the course, but felt like something was missing from the course.

by Ignacio J B P

2019年8月12日

It lacks a certain unity, maybe because it has many different teachers.

by Marie F

2018年8月20日

Really Interesting, gives a first idea of what cognitive sciences are !

by Troy

2019年5月1日

A pretty course to have a brief understanding of cognitive science.

by Srikanth G

2019年2月14日

One of the most thought provoking courses. Lot to think and learn.

by Jonathan G

2018年2月13日

fascinating course. I had no idea this was connected to robotics!

by Sidney C

2017年6月21日

This is a well done overview of Cognitive Sciences. Thank you.

by Daniel G

2021年1月15日

I was expecting a bit more of Philosophy of research methods

by Carola S

2020年7月25日

Very interesting course and could have been longer.

by scalesr4

2017年8月5日

I love these topics and all of the implications.

by Madhura A

2020年7月4日

A very interesting and well structured course.

by JEEVA T

2020年7月19日

I'm really happy doing this course

by 梅思远

2020年5月4日

a brief introduction to the topic.

by Sherry P

2020年8月19日

Challenging, but fun.

by Dr C J W

2019年1月25日

I came to update my existing knowledge of Cognitive Science (which dates from the 1990s), and this short course worked well enough for that.

However, it was a bit variable in quality for me. Andy Clark was okay, I got annoyed with the Philosophy of Consciousness lecture (probably not the lecturer's fault, more the terms of the debate), but I really loved Series's lecture on the Bayesian Brain.

The quizzes will not leave you feeling you have achieved great things, however - too easy. I won't be purchasing a certificate for my wall.

by Marcel D S

2017年6月16日

Nice introduction to the philosophy of cognitive sciences. As a psychology undergraduate, I have seen some of the material before but still, I've learned a thing or two. My biggest problem with the course is that it's very short and the quizzes are no real challenge. It took me three days to finish this course with 100% accuracy which diminishes the value of the certificate. However, the course recommends some interesting readings with which I'll spend a bit more time with.

by Anjali N

2020年11月4日

I found it okay-ish. Some of the abstract concepts explained by the lecturers can be taught in simpler easier to understand ways. I thought it was my problem at first, not being a native English speaker, but I was able to find a lot of resources online explaining the same concepts in easier ways. So I'd definitely recommend the staff to re-work the lecture material keeping in mind the diverse audience on the internet!