Chevron Left
Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
1,273件の評価
291件のレビュー

コースについて

Course Description What is our role in the universe as human agents capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? This is the second part of the course 'Philosophy and the Sciences', dedicated to Philosophy of the Cognitive Sciences. Scientific research across the cognitive sciences has raised pressing questions for philosophers. The goal of this course is to introduce you to some of the main areas and topics at the key juncture between philosophy and the cognitive sciences. Each week we will introduce you to some of these important questions at the forefront of scientific research. We will explain the science behind each topic in a simple, non-technical way, while also addressing the philosophical and conceptual questions arising from it. Areas you’ll learn about will include: Philosophy of psychology, among whose issues we will cover the evolution of the human mind and the nature of consciousness. Philosophy of neurosciences, where we’ll consider the nature of human cognition and the relation between mind, machines, and the environment. Learning objectives Gain a fairly well-rounded view on selected areas and topics at the intersection of philosophy and the sciences Understand some key questions, and conceptual problems arising in the cognitive sciences. Develop critical skills to evaluate and assess these problems. Suggested Readings To accompany 'Philosophy and the Sciences', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Philosophy and the Sciences' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy and the Sciences team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please note, this companion book is optional - all the resources needed to complete the course are available freely and listed on the course site....

人気のレビュー

CG

2020年2月10日

this course was very broad and incredibly interesting. I highly recommend it as introduction to the philosophy of science, but I have to warn you: Once you have started, your journey won't stop here!

AS

2020年6月24日

this is the great course for the people who are pursuing their carer in philosophy, philosophy of mind to be more precise and also for the people who are thinking of doing psychology later anytime.

フィルター:

Philosophy and the Sciences: Introduction to the Philosophy of Cognitive Sciences: 201 - 225 / 290 レビュー

by Diana M

2017年1月20日

good course

by LARISSA B D

2020年6月2日

VERY WELL!

by Rigoberto J M A

2016年10月26日

Excellent.

by Mokgethi J K

2022年8月3日

thank you

by Roberto C y L

2020年8月6日

Loved it!

by Gabriel V

2017年1月27日

excellent

by Jorge P

2020年6月15日

Great!!!

by Kermit B B

2017年3月19日

Awesome!

by Crony C

2021年2月3日

awesome

by Madison B

2020年7月19日

Great!

by Oky T S

2016年11月20日

Superb

by Kevin J R R

2021年11月18日

Nice

by Davina M

2017年10月11日

E

by Bruno G

2022年7月4日

This course felt like it was too short, I loved it! The stuff on niche construction and embodied cognition I found particularly fascinating, and it felt like it gave the course a satissatisfying begining and end focuing on how an organisms body, actions and environment are amalgmated into a single system for cognitive scientisits to pick a part and study. It really helped to hammer home that we are not just brains in a body, but that the brain, body in motion and environment stage all communicate with each other to bring about thought at all levels of analysis. Simply removing one of these elements would leave us mindless. This is so satissatisfying as I just recently finished my undergrate degree in forensic psychology a year ago and was left wondering why psychologists focus so much on the brain while the body and nervous system holds so much secerts to how we all behave, think and feel. This course help to broaden my curiousity on this idea, and let me see how important the environment is in every interainteraction in addition to the brain, body and action.

by Victor J M C

2017年12月9日

This was a good course, and I have learned new things by taking the course, but it would have benefitted from more depth. It is, however, a course for which it must be stressed that the title contains "introduction". By taking the course, one gets an overview of different areas of Cognitive Science and how different researchers might do research in those areas. This is all very good, but I had expected more depth. The course requires one to understand what the researchers are saying - nothing more than that; one does not learn to think in a new way or to analyse cases. Overall, it is an interesting course, but it is more like a documentary with quizzes to test, if one has paid attention, than it is like a course, in which one needs to really understand the content.

by Alain Q R

2018年12月10日

Very good course. Its topics are really well chosen. So the readings recommended. Its lecturers are well chosen too divided between more theoretical and more practical thinkers when the topic makes this distinction make sense or between a follower of some theory and a follower of an opposite (in some way) theory.

by Shaghayegh P

2021年8月20日

Hi This is a great course to know about Cognitive Science, It has very intresting topics that make you more cirious about this filed. But you should know after finish this course, you are just a biginner that like to learn more about this filed. I like it and I lerant a lot of it.

by Vijaya D

2020年6月6日

I learned a lot from this introductory course on Philosophy of Cognitive science.

Professors were very engaging and gave lots of example to make the understand the concepts better.

The course has made me so motivated and I am looking forward to learn more on Cognitive science.

by Lucy B

2020年8月29日

It was filled with information, almost too much to absorb and would have been much easier to understand with less technical, complicated terminology and overwhelming examples and references. Maybe simpler and more direct? The first part was fine and enjoyable and satisfying.

by Daniel F

2017年4月17日

Extremely interesting topics; it is a quick and broad survey, so very superficial, though. Just a series of 10-15 minutes presentations introducing each aspect of the field. Don't be discouraged if you find the first week's presentation lacking/unengaging: it gets better.

by Emiel d J

2018年8月24日

A very interesting course. Some of the lecturers where a bit monotone. And the information is quite hard to digest if you have little to no knowledge about cosmology. However besides that the course is amazing. It is a great introduction to the philosophy of science.

by Ben M

2021年11月7日

Both expansive and provoking course. The magnitude of the implications found in the evolutionary psychology component, reconfirmed in the bayesian statistic concepts re a mammalian brain augmented by predictive models.. staggering! Compelling and rousing.

by Jim K

2016年12月19日

I like the subject and the topics of each week are also interesting. However, the 4 weeks' content can only cover limited topics. And the course in Coursera can be improved by making the parts in each week clearer and reducing some subtitle mistakes.

by Netaniel R

2022年6月12日

It was a very interesting course, but it left me with a sensation of half understanding. The concepts were very clear, but for example I would appreciate a review of attempts made to defien conciousseness in neuroscience and philosophy in the past.

by Tan K Q

2017年5月6日

I am reading up on cognitive sciences for my PhD dissertation on cognitive narratology and space. The contents of this course are mostly very clearly presented. The topic is engaging, and I like the examples cited in the presentations.