Chevron Left
Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.4
603件の評価
169件のレビュー

コースについて

Philosophy, Science and Religion mark three of the most fundamental modes of thinking about the world and our place in it. Are these modes incompatible? Put another way: is the intellectually responsible thing to do to ‘pick sides’ and identify with one of these approaches at the exclusion of others? Or, are they complementary or mutually supportive? As is typical of questions of such magnitude, the devil is in the details. For example, it is important to work out what is really distinctive about each of these ways of inquiring about the world. In order to gain some clarity here, we’ll be investigating what some of the current leading thinkers in philosophy, science and religion are actually doing. This course, entitled ‘Science and Philosophy’, is the first of three related courses in our Philosophy, Science and Religion Online series. The first launch is now closed to enrolments. We will launch a new version of the course in July 2018. The course will address four themes each presented by guest lecturers: 1. Are Science and Religion in conflict? (Professor Michael Murray, Franklin & Marshall) 2. Neuroscience and Free Will (Professor Al Mele, Florida State) 3. Creationism and Evolutionary Biology--Science or Pseudo-science? (Dr. Mark Harris and Dr. David de Pomerai, University of Edinburgh) 4. Do Scientific claims constitute absolute truths? (Professor Martin Kusch, University of Vienna) The second and third courses in the Philosophy, Science and Religion series are ‘Philosophy and Religion’ and ‘Religion and Science’. They may be taken in any order and completing all three courses will give you a broader understanding of this fascinating topic. Look for: • Philosophy, Science and Religion II: Philosophy and Religion • Philosophy, Science and Religion III: Religion and Science Check out our trailer to hear more: https://youtu.be/OifqTI5VKek You can also follow us on Twitter at https://twitter.com/EdiPhilOnline and you can follow the hashtag #psrmooc...

人気のレビュー

SR

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

DM

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

フィルター:

Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy: 1 - 25 / 166 レビュー

by Christopher M

Jun 06, 2018

The aim of these three courses seems to be to persuade people that the debate about the compatibility or otherwise of Christianity (and there's very little attempt here to disguise the view that 'religion' means Christianity) and science is genuinely important. Do they succeed? I don't think so; the somewhat confusing view of science presented by the course creators - that scientists have deliberately chosen naturalism as their metaphysical foundation, refusing to acknowledge any supernatural possibility, and consequently need to 'change their story' whenever they encounter new evidence leaving science weak and unreliable but on the other hand, that science is so powerful and successful that 'scientism' is a real threat to the future of humanity - contrasts with the uncritical view of Christianity (what little critical assessment there is, is laughable in my view) to such an extent that any debate would be meaningless. As far as I can see this remains a problem within Christianity between young earth fundamentalists and those, such as the Templeton Foundation who financed the courses, who want Christianity to be acceptable and relevant in modern society. I think Christians should be free to believe whichever of the hundreds of different types of Christianity they want but that, in the same way that they don't want science imposing a naturalistic view on everyone, they shouldn't expect everyone else to believe the same things that they do.

by Juan D G G

May 01, 2018

This is an incredibly terrible course, that only serves as propaganda for Christian creationism. Some of the lecturers are people completely unknowledgeable about both science and philosophy. It is incredibly sad that an university of such quality and history would lend its name for such endeavors.

by James R E

Mar 22, 2018

First weeks material was pretty good, during the second week I started to get a funny feeling about the way it was going. I noticed, during the credits, that this was funded by a group called the Templeton Foundation. I googled them, and discovered that this "foundation" is dedicated to funding endeavors that promote Christianity. So, under the guise of a serious academic, what we have here is propaganda. Coursera should remove this, or at least reveal the true source and purpose of this program. BTW, the lectture by Connor Cunningham is hilarious - a disjointed rambling monologue that reminded me of ...Hunter Thompson? Donald Trump on acid?

by Samonee R

Nov 14, 2017

A very interesting course and it has given a great knowleddge to me about the concept of science and religion . just amazed and the professors taught this in a very impressive way . very nyccc .

by David M

Aug 21, 2019

I enjoyed the course very much and found it useful to prepare for a graduate course about the same subject. The teachers are very knowledgeable and the material very adequate,

by Solveig H

Nov 11, 2018

An excellent and interesting range of lectures. Not particularly fond of the Stanford readings, but such is life. Very enjoyable!

by Patrick Q

Jun 05, 2020

Course pretty good overall, although a bit easy for my taste!

by Henk J G

Mar 17, 2019

Interesting though not always easy to consume

by Nathalie Z

Dec 15, 2017

A lot of the given arguments seem flawed or incomplete. I was looking for a course that would show where these fields come together successfully, and would broaden my worldview. Instead it set out arguments from both sides that barely fit each other, and didn't inspire open

by Pedro F B S

Dec 30, 2017

Short but interesting course on Philosophy of Science. The contents are introduced in a very pedagogic fashion and I appreciated the focus on the work of Popper who I always admired for his relatively accurate description of the virtues of the scientific knowledge. Also appreciated the fact that the concepts are illustrated by means of several examples allowing to acquire an adequate perspective in terms of historical evolution of the different trends in Philosophy of Science.

by Eric C

Mar 25, 2018

This was a truly fantastic course, taught by engaging professors and investigations fascinating questions about the relationship between science and religion while reference a host of interesting material for further investigation. Anyone interested in better understanding the historic relationship between these two domains or self-examining their own beliefs will be very pleased with this course!

by Ali A M

Mar 17, 2018

In most of Middle-Eastern countries which i live in one of them , talking about the relationship between science and religion is a kind of a taboo. Ideas and critical thoughts usually not goes out from the academic field. Therefore; the person who wants to learn different perspectives about the issue need to be challenger. Thanks to this course, it is much more easier for me. Great job!

by Bow M

Apr 22, 2018

Coursera provides a wide range of studies and outstanding courses. Even though this is an online course, the professors keep you involves and interested throughout the whole course. When applying yourself, you can learn an incredible amount from this class. I recommend it to anyone wanting to look further into science/religion problem and see both sides and when and how it originated.

by Vaishna R

May 09, 2020

It was an exciting experience. I could learn a lot of things. Such a worth mentioning learning experience. I came to understand the different views that philosophy, science and religion uphold. I came to understand about the study of certain experiments and also the problems caused. Overall, it was a beautiful experience.

by Khadim H C

Jan 19, 2018

It was very hard to reject a centuries old established doctrine or a theory because you need to measure some thing through a tool system to prove the subject is more or less, false or true, sustainable or unsustainable etc

Thank you all of you there who have set up a forum for this advancement in spread of real knowledge.

by Ahmed H

Feb 10, 2017

Excellent course and one of the kind. I believe it is essential for any thoughtful person who tends to have holistic view for life matters. Whatever your religious belief or ideology, this course will motivate you to think differently. Do not expect answers, there are a lot of questions and you need to look for answers!

by Vaighna R

May 10, 2020

I found the course very interesting as the three main perspectives with which the world is viewed is depicted very clearly. And also, the quizzes after each video encouraged me to listen to the video very carefully. Altogether, it was a wonderful experience which gave rise to many new thoughts and dimensions.

by Wind C

Mar 01, 2017

I really liked this course. The material was good. the lectures were interesting and enjoyable. I learned a lot from the course. My only disappointment was the brevity. I would have liked to delve deeper into these issues, but it was a good starter course for this subject matter. The quizzes were too easy.

by Anna Q J

Jun 14, 2017

“Philosophy, Science and Religion: Science and Philosophy” is an extremely interesting course, well taught and easy to follow. I’m always amazed to see how good professors manage to teach complicated topics in a way that makes them look simple. Definitely, this course in an example of good practice.

by SYED M H S

May 07, 2020

PERFECT course for critical thinkers. You will get to know some great things and especially how to reason and question things. You will get answers to many queries and will finally result in some great outcomes making you more aware about how we evolved into what we are today. Loved this course.

by Dominique J A W

Jun 15, 2017

This was a mega course and I'm looking for the next two on science and religion. Creationists featured a lot in my young life, and so as an atheist it is great to finally see universities taking on the great creationism Vs evolution debate, because it is deep and poignant to religion.

by Sophia A

Jan 16, 2018

It helps me to deeply understand what is science and the relationship between science and philosophy and religion. We need a scientific view regarding science, the philosophy of science is more important than science itself. Science is the tool for us to find the truth.

by Jorge G

Apr 02, 2018

Nice and interactive course. It gives you a good introduction into philosophy of science and its main challenges. As well it introduces you to the main BIG players in this field. The best asset, is some of its presentations, interactive and intellectually challenging.

by Shalonda V

May 15, 2017

This course gave me the fundamentals of philosophy without being too chatty or lengthy. It made me think harder and sparked a desire to go deeper into philosophy outside of the course. This course also gave me excellent tools to do just that. I recommend it to all.

by Jung H L

Apr 09, 2020

Excellent course! I'd like to everyone involved in the production and decision to make this great available to us for free specially in this time of needs. I will honour the time, resources and generosity by sharing it with friends and family. Thanks again!