Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
8,418件の評価

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT

2015年9月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG

2021年4月10日

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 101 - 125 / 1,954 レビュー

by Dawn S

2020年5月3日

The introduction to philosophy has been a great course. I enjoyed all of the instructors. It was extremely informative, every week I learned new terms and discovered new things to share with my significant other. All that I learned and shared with him lead to lively debates. Most importantly I gained a greater understanding of philosophy, its history and the schools of thoughts that are in philosophy and best of all it has given me a thirst to really examine how I choose to think.

by dragonsong86@hotmail.com

2019年12月29日

Fantastic course! I found all the instructors to be skilled in communicating the material in clear and interesting ways. The idea of alternative course pathways based on different topics is great (although I completed ALL of them, anyway). And I appreciate that there were no "Peer Graded Assignments," because those tend to be a sham, in my experience. I've seen everything from plagiarism to a dissertation on fairies in response to a History question in that type of assignment.

by Sonja W

2020年4月26日

I truly enjoyed completing this course! I did not believe that my brain was wired to understand the complexities, let alone the language and terminologies used in this particular area of learning. I suppose that I surprised myself. Perhaps on a personal note, I should ensure adequate Internet reception and connection at all times - being disconnected or having to reload pages continuously has proven highly frustrating. Thanks, for making International learning possible!

by Luis A B B

2021年12月15日

Thank you very much for helping me to think in a more critical and rational way. I think this is a deep need of the human being, and it is something that we must cultivate and share with others. Thanks to this course I have a route of access and guide to be able to investigate with more depth topics that concern me and that are of great importance. We are alive and therefore we need to know the why of many things... thanks for the clarity and order. you are the best.

by Jiali S

2017年4月26日

I like this course a lot and have spent several days following all the lectures, for a feeling that the whole course is formulated not with a historical/overwhelmed view but aims to inspire a true interest in the ways of thinking. A discursive thought path and I've really enjoyed it. Thank you for your sharing knowledge and kind design. Besides, the materials for independent learning are good guide! At least, I know where to find trustworthy information. THANKS!

by Mariana S

2020年9月10日

This was my very first time doing philosophy, yet everything was clearly presented and well explained by the professors for each topic. This course has definitely motivated me to further explore philosophy and also made me question some of the usual daily life situations. I want to thank all the lecturers that have participated in the creation of this course and encourage other students, who are new to philosophy just as I once was, to take part in this course.

by Raghu K

2019年3月19日

This was my first MOOC course that I completed successfully. It will inspire me to take more. I am an engineer and I joined this course to improve my clarity of thinking. At the very beginning the instructor Dave's definition of philosophy as the activity of working out the best way to think about things caught my interest and I learned a lot about common topics but in an intellectual way. To all the instructors and forum moderators of this course, thank you!

by Sajid I

2020年7月24日

An immensely important course to be taken, irrespective of one's core area of studies and expertise to be able to, as professor Dave Wards puts it, occasionally step back and ask questions about fundamentals of subject matter that one is engaged in to somehow not only actually justify actions arising out of the subject matter but to also fulfill intellectual craving that defines the true spirit in acquiring knowledge if it could be acquired at all.

by Rishabh

2015年10月31日

Very good course, Offers insights from various domains of Philosophy, which one doesn't go in usually. And ends up discovering that there are in fact various ways to look at this subject which is an essential tool for living and constant improving our quality of life.

The University of Edinburgh has structured this course well, and the faculties, bright and deep in their domains makes you understand the contents more easily then they are.

Thank you.

by Aleksandra B

2020年3月26日

I have learnt about a number of fundamental topics in philosophy through lectures and materials. I have also been able to test my knowledge via practice questions and quizzes. Finally, I have conducted my own research and engaged in philosophical analysis for the final essay assignment, as well as evaluated my peers' submissions. Of particular interest and impact to me were the topics of Morality, Law, Knowledge and Testimony. Thanks, @Edinburgh.

by Donise L D

2022年8月5日

Thank you for offering this free Introduction to Philosophy course. Philosophy is an interesting subject to me and my goal was to begin building a foundation of knowledge in terms of different ideas and of different philosphies over time. The instrustors were charming and knowledgeble and I really appreciated the video lectures alongside the text. I learn in different ways to this was helpful.

Again, thanks ever so much.

Best regards,

Donise

by Enrique A

2021年5月3日

Dificil para mi que no soy muy fluido en Ingles, las transcripciones ayudan mucho.

El curso esta muy bien estructurado, lo basico, lo necesario para emprender un estudio sobre un tema tan complejo, definitivamente te deja con ganas de buscar mas informacion sobre todos esos problemas, ideas,planteamientos y aplicaciones; el debate nunca termina.

Recomiendo mucho esta ventana al conocimiento a travez de personajes tan entregados a su profesion.

by Abhishek S

2020年5月30日

A very insightful course to initiate the understanding about Philosophy.

Philosophy is related to each and every situation and decison we make.

And this is the course which tries to put some seeds in the brain to think broader and helps to create a better process of looking at thing/situations

All the instructer have a very deep understanding about the subject and helped alot in making and initial study through their effective teaching styles.

by Olivia H

2020年8月17日

Finally, a free online course WORTH TAKING! I found this course pretty difficult, but in a really satisfying way- I felt like I was genuinely learning something new and hard in every lecture, yet it was all so well explained. Great lecturers, and great tests that you really have to focus on in order to pass. It's refreshing to do an online course that isn't 'stupidly simple'. This is hard but you'll enjoy it a lot :) Recommend to everyone!

by Madeleine W

2017年5月21日

Couldn't have asked for a better introduction to Philosophy. The handouts and videos matched very well and gave option for different styles of learning. The text book (Philosophy for everyone) I bought on Amazon was also very interesting for extra reading and I can refer to that when learning more about Philosophy. Perfect amount of options for how much detail I wanted to learn and plenty of resources for me to check out in my spare time.

by Alexis B

2020年9月29日

I found it to be interesting and informative. I had had a interest in Philosophy for a long long time. I'm in accounting and finance so have never had much of a chance to pursue my other interests. I now have the time during Covid-19 to pursue my interests. Would I be interested in taking more classes on Philosophy. Not really.But it was well done and the moderators were all very good but I especially liked the last one on Time Travel.

by Peter P

2021年9月29日

I enrolled in The Introduction to Philosophy on a whim and this course became my most favorite course in the history of my attendance of Coursera courses.  The processors at the University of Edinburgh blew my expectation, maintained my interest, and generated further philosophical thought and curiosity I never knew existed in me.  Awesome course and I highly recommend for anyone who might have the slightest interest in the subject.

by Abner O S S

2018年11月9日

This course is an introduction to the topics that philosophers are talking about. It addresses, for instance, questions about the nature of knowledge, morality, philosophy of science, etc. It emphasizes on Scottish philosopher David Hume, but it does not omit other philosophical traditions on the topic they aboard. I strongly recommend it for those who are interested in developing philosophical curiosity about some specific topics.

by Aedrian A

2021年1月19日

As someone in grad school whose first and only formal exposure to academic philosophy was a single introductory course in college, this course was extremely useful in helping me keep up with the general trends and concepts in the field. The readings and the optional lectures are impressively engaging; while the course lets you choose 1 of 2 options for the final weekly material, I highly recommend taking both for more learning.

by Dr A A U

2017年12月12日

This course is a great start to induce thinking about things around us. It is very mind provoking course that opens wide room of discussion concerning something we might simply take for granted in life. It also challenges the very essence of dogmatic belief or even scientific 'fact' that seems at first glance satisfies our senses but not an inquisitive mind. A highly recommended and intellectually enjoyable course.

by Mary L

2016年10月18日

I found this course very interesting, informative, and engaging. The instructors and lectures are interesting, and the topics covered are fascinating. The quizzes cover the most important concepts of the course without being unnecessarily difficult. I have recommended this course more than once already, and would do so again. If I found that another course were created to follow this one, I would definitely take it.

by Tonim T K

2020年8月17日

I always have tried to observe the world in a scientific way but this time I have removed my science goggles and started to learn about how to observe the world and our lives through Philosophy. And found that science and Philosophy is vastly related to each other. The Amazing thing about Philosophy is that even you can create reasoning and theories just sitting and thinking on your armchair. Well decorated course.

by Anne

2021年2月21日

I'm glad I took this course. I realize now that philosophy is truly complex! I took the tests and retook them until I got all of the questions correct or at least understood them better. The tests were an excellent learning tool as well as those short answer questions during the videos. I appreciate the printable notes for the videos. The topics were fascinating and I learned so much. Good introductory course.

by anant t

2020年7月6日

It was truly amazing. Thank you so much to the professors, to the university of Edienburgh .

I really loved the way they explained everything. After taking this course my view to look things changed a lot. my thought are different now. I am sad also that this course ended but truly it was amazing .

Thank you so much to Cousera team for providing such a great platform to everyone. ITs changing peoples life.

by Xia Y

2022年6月3日

Probably the best problem based philosophy introduction on the internet. These lectures really give me a roadmap of the philosophy world, instead of diving into the mass philosophy books without a map.

Magically, after taking the course I realized that I can automatically think philosophically. It might help someone who is not interested in academic philosophy but has a mind of philosophical thinking.