Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
7,969件の評価
1,859件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT
2015年9月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015年10月7日

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 251 - 275 / 1,850 レビュー

by Muaz J

2017年5月14日

Fantastic introductory course on Philosophy, with lot of resources and links. I loved it and the instructors are really lucid in their exposition. I hope Edinburgh comes up with more courses, especially Philosophy of Social Science/Economics

by Caro S

2020年7月25日

Excelente curso introductorio, me costó un poco porque no sé inglés y muchas declaraciones me parecieron ambiguas o majaderas, pero lo atribuyo a mi falta de comprensión, ya que no es el área a la que me dedico, aún así fue muy beneficioso.

by Valerie T

2020年4月15日

Great course to start learning about philosophy as a field of study! The lectures every week cover a different area of philosophy so I got a flavour of each, which I think is useful for someone just starting out and trying to find out more.

by William O P

2016年9月8日

Great general introduction to Philosophy. I suggest taking this philosophy course before any others because it puts a lot into perspective and it gives you a good idea of what path to take in your personal studies in philosophy and beyond.

by Skyraven

2021年3月13日

It sparked my interest in studying philosophy, with easy-to-comprehend courses and interesting topics. I also learnt the importance of thinking philosophically in life. An excellent introduction into the world of philosophy for beginners.

by Iman M

2021年2月13日

I loved that there were two options for what we wanted to learn for most weeks in the course, it made it really interesting. All of the videos provided really good explanations and helpful examples. Overall, I think it was a great course!

by Pedro M

2021年1月10日

Clear and concise information. The lecturers were excellent & easy to follow. The amount of additional information via links was very good and required much more investment in time than estimated in the weekly workloads but were worth it.

by Jayash R M

2017年2月12日

A short course but introduces several areas of Philosophy. Every week there are new concepts introduced and its very interesting to listen to the teachers. Thank you University of Edinburgh, the teachers and Coursera for this good course.

by Dean M

2020年12月18日

Really enjoyed and valued this introductory course. It was challenging and I found some of the topics difficult but I'm really glad I stuck with them. This was a great first step in my journey with Philosophy and I would like to do more.

by Sohail N K

2017年6月8日

An excellent course to make sense of philosophy... and I really loved the possibility of time travel... even though it was only an intellectual possibility ... kudos to the faculty to make it an interesting experience... thanks everyone.

by Candy L

2016年10月12日

for a ESL student, its really a challenge for me, but i am glad i have passed it, thank you all--the teachers, and the mentors, what an experience! since this is my first course, i'll continue my 2nd, and 3rd course, good luck to you!

by Diego M D

2021年4月6日

Thoroughly enjoyed all the lectures and the content is really varied and well structured. It certainly gives you a very good overview of what Philosophy is and what it does, what it looks at and the questions we have raised over time

by Aarya M

2021年1月22日

The course was absolutely riveting. It inculcates thought about every aspect of our existence while simultaneously informing us of fascinating philosophical and physical concepts. The instructors executed their lessons masterfully :)

by Parisa G

2020年11月17日

It was a wonderful course. The professors amazingly, with a clear, simple language and using multiple examples, have introduced and explained some core issues in philosophy. I am so glad I had the opportunity to complete this course.

by Hung W C C

2020年7月10日

This introduction bring in a lot of theories and information in relating to Philosophy. This is important to someone who want to understand what Philosophy is. The section of time travel is the most interesting section I experienced.

by Juan E L S

2020年11月25日

I really like this course, All the topics proposed here had an enourmous impact on my understanding. I really appreciate the work of all the philosophers who give the lectures. Withouth hesitation, I will recommend it every time!!!

by Richard B

2017年11月13日

A wonderful experience. My most important takeaway was thinking more about the questions beyond the asked question. This course will make me a better and more informed reader, especially combined with my readings about rhetoric.

by Ujjawal S

2018年11月9日

Great Course. I loved the content, it covered few of the topics i used to wonder about. Really engaging teachers, they seemed that they were passionate about their topic and also had a deep understanding of the matter. Thank You.

by Halim G M

2015年9月27日

Such a eye-opener. Philosophy was a hobby until I ran into this course. It structure my thinking. It made me realize the schools of thought that have tackled the questions I've dived into are as many angles to view a given issue.

by Manuel G P R

2019年3月27日

Es perfecto para quien le gusta y quisiera tener una idea organizada de la filosofía. Las conferencias son con profesores calificados y utilizan un lenguaje claro. E invita a seguir profundizando en la materia o esta actividad.

by Siddhesh D

2020年5月15日

It has widened my horizons extensively. As long as you are someone who is even so slightly interested in thinking deeply about the wordly aspects of the world you should enroll for this course or atleast try to learn philosophy

by Benjamin M C P

2017年4月13日

It is very complete and wide in the optional themes treated on the course. Also you are provided with link to forums, debates, guides, and bibliography to investigate further more what caught your interest. Highly recommended!!

by Alexis O

2015年12月14日

I love the way this course let you embrace the basics notions of philosophy.

The only bad thing it's that I haven't found a course like this (That talks of philosophy) in this site, so I think Coursera need more of this courses.

by Marco R

2020年5月26日

Great way to get to know the big branches of philosophy, great examples, great questions to think about. This course offers the opportunity to learn to understand the world around us and to understand ourselves a little better

by z b

2020年8月21日

thank you Coursera and faculty of the University of Edinburgh for allowing me to get for my first time an official certificate for learning something, growing up without any kind of formal education I can't withhold my tears.