Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
7,964件の評価
1,858件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT
2015年9月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

AG
2021年4月10日

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 151 - 175 / 1,849 レビュー

by Helena A

2021年3月12日

Thank you for the opportunity to study this amazing, interesting and thought-provoking course! I had never even thought about the subject before, thinking it was for genius boffins only. The lectures and notes were easy to follow and understand, although I had to read over them quite a few times to "get it". Now I am keen to study more!

by Annie W

2015年8月26日

Excellent course, interesting topics, the instructors all teach in a clear but professional way. Thank you Professor Richmond for spending so much time helping us on the discussion boards! In the future, I would love it if there was more recommended reading, and not just strictly related to the topics in the lectures. Thank you very much!

by sherri W

2021年8月22日

All of the instructors were knowledgeable and explained the subject matter in easy to understand ways. It has been a long time since I took any courses outside of my career, so there was a bit of adjusting on my part to do. Very happy that I took this course, already working on another! I highly recommend Introduction to Philosophy!

by Lisbeth K

2018年3月12日

A great introduction to philosophy. Enthusiastic teachers, and the class overall certainly creates much interest in going further. The classes keeps you on your toes, the quizzes and tests are just the right level of challenging. I learned so much, and most of all, lost my fear of philosophy studies! And, I loved the Time Travel part!

by M. C O

2020年5月6日

The content of this course is wide-ranging, clear and well-structured; hence I would definitely recommend it to my colleagues.

I would rate the performances of every Professor as excellent; they have definitely made me quite easy, a first approach to Philosophy.

Thanks to the University of Edinburg and congratulations on this course

by Michaela M

2015年11月22日

I am studying Philosophy at university next year and wanted to have a idea as to what it would be like. This course was perfect and gave me a taster of the vast number of fields included in Philosophy. It was interesting and challenging I would definitely suggest it to anyone, the course really gives you some things to think about!

by Oliver R

2020年10月11日

The fact that each topic is explored by a different philosopher makes it a truly enriching way of looking at the questions and answers posed. Each topic pertains to a whole field of study in itself, for which abundant reference materials are provided. All in all a very accurate and well executed overview of philosophical problems.

by Arnesh N

2020年8月15日

I have thoroughly enjoyed my time learning while studying and going through the wonderfully curated lessons! The videos are very well structured, with practice exercises, and links to further readings. I have always been encouraged to know more, to read more, to question. I would love to come back again for more Coursera courses.

by Carlos G

2020年7月3日

Um curso excelente.Os professores são excepcionais. Pude obter um aprendizado bastante profícuo e animador compreendo que será til em minha profissão de professor e em minha vida pessoal. Muiot obrigado por tudo. deixo meu abraço fraternal e considero o curso justo e perfeito....Gratidão e saúde.

Carlos Alberto Otranto Gontijo .'.

by Shafiqul I

2021年4月7日

Philosophy has remained a personal favorite of mine! I am really amazed, every time I revisit my studies of philosophy, I find new perspectives and vantage points. I think everyone needs to know the basics of philosophy, and that could have changed the world a lot; for the word ‘conviction’ would have lost all its strength! 😁

by ramlal s

2019年1月27日

This is a great introductory course to Philosophy. The course covers very important aspects of Philosophy in a succinct manner and sets the foundation to explore any topic in detail later. Overall great experience !! This is exactly how an introductory course should be. Thank you Coursera, thank you University of Edinburgh !!

by Carla A P M

2020年10月5日

This course was a great way for me to understand the ways that philosophy has and its role in the construction of my understanding of the world overall. Although I’m Chilean, it was very easy for me to comprehend the lessons and the scheme of the course. I hope there’s more Philosophy courses from Edinburgh University ahead.

by Ankit D

2020年7月9日

The course was really illuminating to me. It has really piqued my interest in philosophy and I would like to take a deeper dive into the subject. The most important thing about the course would be that the instructors were able to actually relate the sort of abstract ideas of philosophy to actual ground realities. Thank you!

by Clint

2016年9月18日

A Philosophy Sampler

A wonderful introduction to philosophy. Seven outstanding teachers each providing a sample of their areas of specialization. Plenty of follow up material if you want to go deeper into any specialization. At the end of the course, there is even a chance to write your own 750 word philosophical submission.

by Jacob F

2017年10月14日

As a theology graduate with little philosophical experience I found it an insightful introduction into many of philosophy's most pressing issues. Importantly, the clear and engaging lectures led to many thought-provoking moments. I would certainly recommend to anyone who is interested in learning more about philosophy.

by Folusho O

2015年9月6日

This course is off the hook! (Literally). And my dear prospective student, all I advise you to do is to sit down and carefully listen to and digest all the thoughts and arguments the tutors will put forward. This is NOT for the sake of agreeing with all they say, but for AN EXPOSURE TO A PLETHORA OF IDEAS. Enjoy!

by Indrajeet A S

2020年6月30日

Very very interesting course. I always wanted to know what concepts are covered in Philosophy and this course quenched my curiosity. As the weeks went ahead, the topics got better and invoked good thoughts. Teachers explain stuff really well and the quizzes make you think. Totally recommend this to everyone.

by meidi_chalal@hotmail.fr

2020年4月17日

Thank you for giving me the opportunity to rekindle my interest in a subject I love and for going through so many different topics. I now know what I would like to get a deeper understanding and knowledge of and I am looking forward to exploring the resources you have shared on this course.

All the best,

MC

by Paola R R

2019年11月17日

Aprecio infinitamente la oportunidad que se me brindò de ampliar mi conocimiento y mi capacidad de analisis ante la incertidumbre de la vida y la existencia, agradezco la nuevca perpectiva creada en mi a traves de el cuestionamiento del pensamiento humano y los eventos consecuentes de el. muchas gracias.

by Dr. A S

2021年7月20日

This is an eyeopener course. I have had difficulties in understanding western philosophy. But this course which is so lucidly explained with the help of videos and handouts and open sources that reading , understanding and making people understand Western philosophy is rather cohesive for me. Thank you.

by Héctor M M

2020年12月2日

Amazing course! I have an aficionado interest in philosophy and is great to see how there are several concepts that I can apply not only to my personal life but to my professional life as well. The lectures are really clear and the instructors make it easy to understand, is worth taking all the lessons.

by Gamal E H

2020年5月2日

I really enjoy this journy, very good teachers with a very good and simple way to make you understand to the most important topic of philosophy.

I have to thank you all for let me be part of this journy.

Loves sincerely from Venezuelan, a science student really love the opotunity to learn with you all.

by Estelle

2016年1月21日

This was a fantastic course! The content was very interesting, especially the section on time-travel, which I absolutely loved. I also liked that the course was perfectly manageable, unlike all the other MOOC's that I have attempted, where the time commitment turns out to be much bigger than expected.

by Sharalee L

2021年7月24日

I enjoyed learning about the introduction to philosophy. It is something I had thought I might be interested in but had not explored. I think that it has broadened my understanding of the media and politics as I can see where the ideas have come from in many cases and the problems in their arguments.