Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.6
4,815件の評価
1,105件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT

Sep 02, 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC

Oct 08, 2015

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 151 - 175 / 1,099 レビュー

by Trang M N

Mar 04, 2017

I appreciate how some of my messy thoughts about the world is organized and justified when I finished this course. I would like to learn some more advanced courses because there are still many unanswered questions.

by Vibert A M

Sep 18, 2015

A basic teaching of Philosophy. The idea of having specialists lecture in thei indivvidual concepts was a direct enhancement in the themes presented. I consider that the course will be repeated ,for several years.

by Tamsin C

Jan 19, 2016

Excellent first week! Promises to be a very interesting course. Unfortunately, I won't get back to it for a while, due to other pressing projects, but I'm looking forward to exploring it more later in the year.

by Ana K

Jan 09, 2016

Very interesting course with different approaches and topics on philosphy. Nice way to refresh knowledge or to get a new ones. Everything is really understandable with good videos and course materials provided.

by Graeme C

Jan 02, 2016

Excellent introduction to the subject from a great cast of different and interesting characters. Subject covered to a depth that was accessible enough to a novice yet deep enough to be interesting and valuable.

by Peter B V

Nov 30, 2015

This was a most interesting short course which I found most useful as a "taster" to help me understand what philosophy was about. I especially liked the fact that we had a specialist tutor for each subject.

by Athicha C

Feb 03, 2017

Great theories. Thoughtful. Many different perspective from philosophers on a topic. There are options of the course each week for your interest. Great explanation. Gain a lot of knowledge from this class.

by Aditri B

Jan 12, 2020

I think this course works well as a broad introductory overview, and exposed me to a multitude of subfields of philosophy, effectively allowing me to figure out which aspects I'd like to explore further.

by Seemin M

Nov 01, 2015

Excellent course. Well paced and very well explained. All the teachers have the ability to explain complex things in a simple way that is easy for a philosophy beginner to understand. Highly recommended.

by Germán K

Oct 23, 2019

Es un curso que me permitió conocer otra manera de entender filosofía. Con buenos profesores abriendo el juego a las preguntas. Me gustó transitar ese camino por el conocimiento.

Saludos para todos

by André R d C

Oct 07, 2019

This is an excellent course for those who wish to perform the first dive in philosophy. The content is wonderful and the teachers are very didactic. I really enjoy my "Introduction to Philosophy"!

by RISSER-MAROIX

Sep 24, 2015

Highly rated course.

For all people who think it is important to understand Life and for it to learn from nicer teachers and great philosophy trends. Thank you to Coursera and Edimburgh University.

by Nabha J

May 20, 2020

The professors of this course are exceptional! This course gives wonderful insights and encourages us to further explore the world of philosophy. I am very contented and happy I took this course.

by Elena H

May 14, 2020

Clear, complete, rigorous, user friendly, open to different levels of engagement, great and wide extra materials and peer discussion, covers the Big Questions and the mains ways to focus them.

by Smailey B

Feb 20, 2017

Os professores e os materiais de suporte são ótimos. O tema reflete exatamente o nome do curso, tratando-se de questões introdutórias à filosofia. Foi um tempo muito bem investido. Recomendo.

by Mahmood N

Feb 04, 2017

Actually I have enjoyed the course . I have learned about the problems were asked by previous philosophers and about how to think correctly by analyzing the prefaces to get logical results .

by Enya F N

May 17, 2020

I feel so glad I have been able to finish! It hasn't been easy, but I have to say I loved this course, and I have recomended it to my friends, I feel so glad I had the opportunity to do it.

by Horacio M C

Feb 20, 2019

Excelente Curso, el nivel es mucho mejor de lo que pensaba, me sera muy util, soy docente de filosofía y me permite incrementar mis recursos filosóficos en mi práctica docente, felicidades.

by Jose R

Aug 29, 2015

Excellent introduction to the the discipline of philosophy. The professors are experts and very accessible in their presentation of complex ideas. I am very happy to have taken this course.

by Maria F T

Feb 15, 2017

This was a very good introduction. Many important philosophical concepts are explored with very well thought out examples, and the quizzes really make you reflect on what you have learned.

by Lorly P

Oct 22, 2016

it helps me a lot in my studies....

upon enrolling this online course it's a big help in my Philosophy subject here in my school. hope that you may continue to help more student like me.

by Dickson

Feb 21, 2019

I´m pleased to conclude this magnificent course. Besides learnig so many new things, it also helped me to understand some hard philosophical approaches. I highly recommend it. Thank you.

by Luis E B C

Jun 28, 2018

i like all topics in this moment, i think the philosophy it's fundamental for every moment of decision, and i start to think to "see" the "all picture" thanks and regards from Colombia.

by José M T

Feb 11, 2018

This course was great. I really enjoyed every minute of the lectures. It has sparked the curiosity in philosophy once more in my life. I want to continue studying more about philosophy.

by Sahil Y

May 19, 2020

this was my first philosophy course and for beginners it is very interesting and interactive course. i really liked it and i think is a very good course for introduction to philosophy.