Chevron Left
Introduction to Philosophy に戻る

エディンバラ大学(The University of Edinburgh) による Introduction to Philosophy の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
7,120件の評価
1,665件のレビュー

コースについて

This course will introduce you to some of the main areas of research in contemporary philosophy. Each module a different philosopher will talk you through some of the most important questions and issues in their area of expertise. We’ll begin by trying to understand what philosophy is – what are its characteristic aims and methods, and how does it differ from other subjects? Then we’ll spend the rest of the course gaining an introductory overview of several different areas of philosophy. Topics you’ll learn about will include: Epistemology, where we’ll consider what our knowledge of the world and ourselves consists in, and how we come to have it; Philosophy of science, where we’ll investigate foundational conceptual issues in scientific research and practice; Philosophy of Mind, where we’ll ask questions about what it means for something to have a mind, and how minds should be understood and explained; Political Philosophy, where we'll investigate whether we have an obligation to obey the law; Moral Philosophy, where we’ll attempt to understand the nature of our moral judgements and reactions – whether they aim at some objective moral truth, or are mere personal or cultural preferences, and; Metaphysics, where we’ll think through some fundamental conceptual questions about free will and the nature of reality. The development of this MOOC has been led by the University of Edinburgh's Eidyn research centre. To accompany 'Introduction to Philosophy', we are pleased to announce a tie-in book from Routledge entitled 'Philosophy for Everyone'. This course companion to the 'Introduction to Philosophy' course was written by the Edinburgh Philosophy team expressly with the needs of MOOC students in mind. 'Philosophy for Everyone' contains clear and user-friendly chapters, chapter summaries, glossary, study questions, suggestions for further reading and guides to online resources. Please click "Start Here" and navigate to the "Optional Reading" page for more information....

人気のレビュー

LT
2015年9月1日

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and find that it encouragingly sets some directions, and of course, raises my excitement for further study into some of the different fields of philosophy. Thank you.

CC
2015年10月7日

Great explanations that is broken down with examples for understanding. Quizzes test for your understanding of the topic rather than just the textbook explanations. Challenging and thought revoking.

フィルター:

Introduction to Philosophy: 201 - 225 / 1,651 レビュー

by Elad

2020年5月9日

This was really a great starting point to explore a field that I have for many years yearned to discover and has brought me to a point where I can better reason and understand about the nature of (some) philosophical discussions and ideas. Many thanks!

by Chung-Han L

2019年5月6日

This course is highly recommended. It makes me be more humble in front of knowledge and request me to think more and more differently. Philosophy is not only a subject but also a way of thinking. I believe it helps you in any field you are focusing on.

by Weiwei H

2015年9月2日

Very thought-provoking. Every teacher gives a comprehensible and approachable lecture about the given topics. The complementary material also helps. Be very contented with all of them. Thank you for all the contribution for making this course possible!

by Jay-R R T

2020年5月17日

I learned a lot from the discussions. It made me more aware of my surroundings. It made me more observant and inquisitive. I appreciate the passion of the instructors. They are great at presenting the concepts and providing examples. This was helpful.

by mohammad s

2020年9月19日

It is my first course on philosophy and it is really interesting. I learned how to think critically about topics and I also got to know a few topics in depth. I will recommend this course to those who are trying to know about philosophy as a subject.

by Freya O

2020年5月3日

Very interesting and great for the beginner! I definitely found certain weeks harder than other however once you begin to understand the language used then it becomes easier overall. Examples at each stage were extremely helpful for my understanding.

by Dr S K

2020年7月23日

Coming from India, I have a fairly good knowledge about Indian culture and philosophy. Mainly Hinduism, Jainism and Buddhism. I was keen to know about western philosophy. It was a good course. Very new and abstract for me, but a great learning time.

by Juan P

2017年10月4日

Un curso fantástico para introducirse en el maravilloso mundo de la filosofía. Después de aprender con este curso quedan muchas ganas de seguir leyendo y comprendiendo esta disciplina. Muchas felicitaciones a la gente de la Universidad de Edinburgh.

by Germán D C

2016年12月12日

This Philosophy course is perfect for those who want to get familiar with current philosophical discussions. They provide you with a very general view of a variety of philosophical debates in a very easy manner, so that anybody can understand them.

by Juan M H R

2020年10月30日

Es un curso bastante completo. Desde luego, la filosofía abarca una cantidad enorme de temas pero eso no impide que el curso ofrezca un hilo conductor y establezca una serie de objetivos. Los profesores y profesoras del curso son extraordinarios.

by Jeremiah J P

2020年6月29日

The class covers philosophical fundamentals in a fair, yet informative and engaging manner. The timeline of subject material fits purposefully and anyone with an interest in critical thinking could be converted into a full-time philosopher by it.

by Ani P A

2020年5月28日

I had fun taking the course! The instructors had an excellent way of explaining their material in a way that is easy to understand. I love how the syllabus covers many areas of Philosophy and it helped give me ideas on which area to explore next.

by John R

2015年9月25日

This was a very interesting course. Not what I was expecting when I enrolled, but I enjoyed it completely. I especially liked the lesson on the logical possibility of time travel. This was my first Coursera course but I hope to find more courses.

by Kay V G

2020年11月11日

It was a GREAT course. I learn a lot, but the thing that I like the most is that the teachers make me question a lot of things and I all the things that I learn are things that I can practice in my everyday life.

Thanks a lot to all the teachers!

by Llewelyn H

2018年10月16日

I want to thank you for the scholarship and for allowing me to learn more, I want to continue studying and thanks to you I've learned a lot of new things. From Mexico, thank you very much, you peolple have opened new horizons for me and my mind.

by karanjit s

2017年1月19日

Very good introduction to philosophy. The professors share simple and effective analogies to explain philosophical concepts. The concepts are also woven into interesting topics that would make one think. Highly recommend this course to everyone.

by Liau C Z

2020年5月13日

Wonderful course. I have attempted and completed numerous online courses but this course stands out. Lecturers introduce interesting concepts and encourage creative thinking. Kudos to the University of Edinburgh for producing wonderful content.

by Hanna I

2020年6月25日

As brief as an introduction should be, however, at the same time covering all the main philosophic problems. I want to thank all the tutors for this wonderful course, it was a great pleasure to spend those 5 weeks in your brilliant company :)

by Elián B

2015年10月1日

Is for me the greatest course of philosophy I ever had, specially because of a really bad "teacher" that I just don't know how can he be teaching, but well, had been my first experience with a MOOC and couldn't be better I suppose. Greetings!

by ELIAS T

2019年1月13日

Muy práctico, me sorprendió positivamente que no es un curso de biografías de filósofos sino sobre pensamiento filosófico acerca de temas sumamente interesantes.

Gracias por tenerlo y felicidades a los ponentes.

Lo recomendaré en cada ocasión.

by Muaz J

2017年5月14日

Fantastic introductory course on Philosophy, with lot of resources and links. I loved it and the instructors are really lucid in their exposition. I hope Edinburgh comes up with more courses, especially Philosophy of Social Science/Economics

by Caro S

2020年7月25日

Excelente curso introductorio, me costó un poco porque no sé inglés y muchas declaraciones me parecieron ambiguas o majaderas, pero lo atribuyo a mi falta de comprensión, ya que no es el área a la que me dedico, aún así fue muy beneficioso.

by Valerie T

2020年4月15日

Great course to start learning about philosophy as a field of study! The lectures every week cover a different area of philosophy so I got a flavour of each, which I think is useful for someone just starting out and trying to find out more.

by William O P

2016年9月8日

Great general introduction to Philosophy. I suggest taking this philosophy course before any others because it puts a lot into perspective and it gives you a good idea of what path to take in your personal studies in philosophy and beyond.

by Pedro M

2021年1月10日

Clear and concise information. The lecturers were excellent & easy to follow. The amount of additional information via links was very good and required much more investment in time than estimated in the weekly workloads but were worth it.