Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part II: Fundamentals of Plant Biology に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part II: Fundamentals of Plant Biology の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
stars
463件の評価
122件のレビュー

コースについて

This class is aimed at people interested in understanding the basic science of plant biology. In this four lecture series, we'll first learn about the structure-function of plants and of plant cells. Then we'll try to understand how plants grow and develop, making such complex structures as flowers. Once we know how plants grow and develop, we'll then delve into understanding photosynthesis - how plants take carbon dioxide from the air and water from soil, and turn this into oxygen for us to breathe and sugars for us to eat. In the last lecture we'll learn about the fascinating, important and controversial science behind genetic engineering in agriculture. If you haven't taken it already, you may also be interested in my other course - What A Plant Knows, which examines how plants see, smell, hear and feel their environment: https://www.coursera.org/learn/plantknows. In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

JL

Aug 28, 2017

The course does very good job for providing the planned content. However if you have already studied the field and want to have more deep understanding like I do, you need to look for other courses.

AP

Nov 05, 2017

That was a pleasure to have such a passionate and interested in biology lecturer. I found course useful and interesting. Thank you dr. Chamovitz for let me being your student for last several weeks.

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part II: Fundamentals of Plant Biology: 76 - 100 / 117 レビュー

by 魏健.Wei C

Sep 15, 2016

天地有大美,植物在其间。喜欢花红柳绿的你怎么能错过O(∩_∩)O哈哈~

by Mariana G G

Jun 20, 2019

Very interesting and clear course

by Ignacio P S N

Dec 24, 2018

Solid Course plus great teaching!

by Pierre S

Jan 16, 2019

Great course, just a bit short

by Esraa A A A E

Jun 05, 2017

it is so amazing course really

by Muhammad K Z

Nov 23, 2019

well structured course

by Jeny S

Feb 21, 2017

Thank you Sir Daniel

by En G

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent teacher

by Sunila M L

Jun 18, 2017

Very informative.

by Mohamed E A M

Feb 14, 2018

Excellent course

by Pikulenko M M

Dec 04, 2016

Very helpful

by Marcela K

Oct 12, 2017

Great course

by Ludvig M

Feb 25, 2018

SUPER FUN!!

by Priscila F d S

Aug 20, 2017

Fantastic!

by chanchal p

Dec 02, 2019

Excellent

by Sharjeel A

Nov 02, 2018

EXCELLENT

by José A P

Jul 19, 2017

Wonderful

by Brando M C G

May 20, 2017

excellent

by mariglen111

Mar 21, 2017

love this

by jhon t a t

Mar 11, 2019

so good

by Ghaxala A

Jul 21, 2017

perfect

by Anita S

Apr 21, 2017

Thank you, Dr. Chamovitz! I enjoyed this course. I did WAPK 1 a few years back as well. Please do create many more courses on plant biology - yours is the only one available on Coursera. Some feedback points: 1) Very little interaction and moderation on the discussion forums. There are many interesting points posted there, but no instructor intervention. 2) After listening to the videos i really did not enjoy the reading material provided - perhaps some other sites would be better. 3) The course syllabus is not enough to gauge whether the course is basic, medium or advanced level. Perhaps an indicator would help. For example, in Week 3 content on photosynthesis I was expecting a much more detailed discussion. It would be great to have more advanced courses from you and your team. Your overview explanations are extremely lucid and the visuals provided really help. I think that very few biology textbooks/reading material provide such a clear overview picture and link across concepts. Excellent course! 4) The concern re. GMOs is just touched upon - in such a case I think it would be good if you could take up specific queries, concerns raised in different countries and share your view on those. For example, Bt Brinjal in India. 5) I love the lab visits! Thank you again for this course!

by Dan D

Jun 16, 2018

I enjoyed the course and learned a fair amount. And although I've signed up for a handful of Coursera courses over the years, this is my first time ever actually completing one! :)Great professor with a clear lecturing style. I would like to see more PDF materials included in the course. For example, chapters from biology; botany; and other related textbooks -- but also other related texts and not necessarily from textbooks.I was also for a class which focused on a bit more of, for lack of a better way to put it, the plants themselves; maybe not so much at a cellular level but perhaps more at the level of plant organs, reproduction, plant evolution and survival strategies, etc.

by timothy b

May 29, 2017

Very detailed and informative without seeming like schoolwork. I would have given it 5 stars except the GMO lectures were too focused on technology to the exclusion of environmental concerns. Even if GMOs are safe for humans, lab studies are poor predictors of field results. GMOs share many of the problems of invasive species and biological controls. Once released, they require constant monitoring and management, a cost many users are not willing to incur.

by Eva

May 31, 2017

Great course! I enjoyed professor Chamovitz enthousiasm. I now understand some important basics, but I understand I will need to learn a lot more to fully grasp plant biology, techniques for research and applications. This course makes me want to learn more! I hope there will be a follow up course.