Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,490件の評価
440件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS
2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV
2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 51 - 75 / 439 レビュー

by Ilaria C

2017年12月23日

The course is very well done. The teacher engages the students with interesting scientific theories and experiments very well explained. It is easy to understand even difficult concepts. The level is very high and I learned a lot. (There was so much to learn that I couldn't pass the final exam, I should do it again!). His English is good too.

by María P Y

2020年10月10日

I just loved it, I did it because I wanted to know more about the plants that I'm growing on my balcony and I ended knowing about DNA, genomes, evolution. I just wished to have had this course in my youth instead of the chemistry and biology I learned on high school, this knowledge is so much meaningful. Thanks Professor, bravo Coursera!

by Gabriela R

2020年5月28日

This course was not easy for me, but finishing it meant a great deal. I am happy to be have completed it, as I have learned so much about plants and I found every lecture to be as interesting as the previous one. The way the professor explains the topics is really dynamic and it keeps your attention. Thank you for a cool course on plants.

by Lugrin J

2018年2月17日

A very en-lighting course. It highlights the complexity of plant life, shows the common origin of life at cellular level, makes through provoking but scientific comparison between human senses and plant environment awareness. I also bought the book "What a plant knows" (in french), I strongly recommend it as a companion of this course.

by Freyja M

2020年5月1日

Doctor Chamovitz makes learning about the sensory functions of plants entertaining and informative. I felt engaged in the material throughout the entirety of the course videos and supplemental reading. I highly suggest anyone who is seriously interested in this course also acquire the text book to read into the materials even further.

by Paul H

2017年9月4日

Interesting and thought provoking with lots of nice examples of experiments that reveal what we currently know about plant senses and why we know what we do.Subject of course to future revision in the light of new knowledge and further experimental evidence. "What a plant Knows" also explores the nature of scientific investigation

by Binh A T

2021年1月18日

I knew very very little about plants before taking this course. I didn't even know how to properly care for an African violet indoor plant. The course has given me a lot of knowledge about plant biology. I have since become very respectful of plants and will use the acquired knowledge to tender to the plants in my garden.

by Patrick D

2016年10月24日

This course provided insight into the basic function of a critical part of the world--plants--and gave me a deeper understanding of and a new outlook on this fascinating form of life. Prof. Chamovitz is engaging and entertaining, and his excitement and fascination for the field is contagious. Thanks for the great class.

by Akhil M

2018年8月23日

Was very good. Liked how he whole teaching was rooted in experimental observations. The book that was suggested reading, also by the same instructor, was very helpful. It has really changed the way I look t the plants in my garden, and I hope I get to learn and research more on this topic in the future! Thanks a lot!

by SOUMYA S

2020年5月2日

I’m just 14 years old and could complete this course Which is a big achievement for me . I want to be an astrobiologist in future and this course has inculcated a fresh wave of interest in me about plant biology.I would like to thank Prof Daniel for a fantastic deliberation . Really enjoyed it sir ...... Thank You!!

by EVGENIYA V L

2021年1月4日

Professor Daniel Chamovitz, thank you for such an engaging learning experience. Botany will never be the same for me. I always was so distant from knowing anything enough about plants (as a bioengineer and bioinformatician I felt I have to). It was a pure pleasure to be your student. Looking forward, Evgeniya Lokes

by Montserrat L

2020年5月23日

I had not study any biology related since secondary school, but I had always wanted to do some sort of study in botany, this course was great for me. The material is not too hard, specific enough and definitely will give you a new perspective and deeper understanding of plants and the magnificent beings they are.

by Febby F

2021年7月14日

This course is amazing! I really gain a lot of insightful material. It also gives us clear examples and use research from many scientists as material to learn. The explanation by the Professor is very clear and enjoyable to hear at the same time. I must say, by far this is my most favorite course I have taken.

by Oriama S O

2018年9月3日

This course gives a better understanding of plants and gives me an idea of the research questions and type of information/data i might be looking for in an experiment. It gives me an understanding that cuts across both agricultural and biological disciplines and this will greatly impact my career. Thank you

by Neeraj J

2019年8月17日

It was a wonderful experience learning from such a fine teacher & expert when time, money and distance do not permit to pursue your dream of Learning. every lecture was so informative, elaborately explained and to the mark. We are lucky to be students of such teachers. Thanks, Coursera to let this happen

by Chantelle B

2019年7月12日

A good introduction to the basic senses of plants. This course broadens understanding of plants so that they aren't just seen as unsensing machines but are dynamic and adaptable, aware of and responding to changes in their environments. I recommend reading the book to get the most out of the course.

by Olga C

2018年4月4日

Not only was the course informative, in depth and well-structured, it was excellently and eloquently presented, keeping my interest piqued at all times. I really had a great time attending and hugely appreciate all the effort that has been put to creating this. Congratulations and gratitude.

by Juan A P A

2020年8月28日

This course was amazing. Dr. Chamovitz is such a great professor and the topics of this course were easy to follow. I loved the genetic approach given in this course about plants and the relation to some genes found in humans. The final exam is a bit long but taking the course is worth it.

by Patty M

2021年3月10日

Wow! This 69-year-old grandma learned so much about how plants react to environmental stimuli, experiments vs pseudo science, the similarities between plants and animals, and historic perspective of research done on plants. Definitely stretched myself. Enjoyed the book, What a Plant Knows.

by Julie A P

2017年6月2日

I can only recommend this course! It is truly inspiring and informative - also for those, like me, who don't have a background in natural sciences. The professor is an efficient communicator and very engaging. I'm very grateful for having this wonderful world of the plants unfurled for me.

by Jean M

2020年9月28日

I was very pleased with this course. The instructor was engaged, informative and tailored his lectures to his audience and used lots of visuals. The multiple choice could be challenging at times but it was a good refresher on how to take tests - plus - the subject matter was interesting.

by Tarfa I J

2021年4月18日

I studied biology during my undergraduate, studying both plant and animals but I have never been so interested in plant biology like I am after taking this course and now I can proudly say that my attention has for the most part shifted from animal to plant biology. Thank you very much

by Catherine O

2020年11月28日

Fantastic course that's both challenging and informative! Dr. Chamovitz is outstanding in his video lectures and has a terrific sense of humor! I particularly enjoyed learning how much in common we, human animals, have with plants, and how important our plants are to our survival!

by Isha S C

2020年8月11日

Thank You sir for giving us the wonderful e-learning experience. You have been amazing in terms of clarity of concept ,very engaging and enthusiastic . Thank you for making biology more interesting . This course will surly help me to explore more .

Respect and Regards from India

by Fabián L

2020年11月24日

Now I understand better what the plant perceives, and I value its complexity even more. I am very grateful to them for this masterful and wonderful course. I am very anxious to begin the second part of your teaching Professor Daniel Ch. Greetings from South America. Ecuador!