Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,618件の評価
476件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS

2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV

2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 201 - 225 / 476 レビュー

by Tânia G M

2018年1月7日

It was a very interesting course and after finished it I really want to learn more and more about plants.

Thanks a lot!

by Rinsha S

2020年10月25日

Helpfull and well clarification about each process is explained .make me more interested in studying about plants🌿🌿

by ANJU C

2020年8月4日

This is one of the best course. The topic is very simple and no need worry about it. The presentation was superb....

by Cotek T

2020年4月30日

One of the best courses I have ever undertaken. The knowledge and teaching style of prof. Chamovitz is awesome.

Thanks

by Debasish P

2018年5月6日

I am very happy to complete this course. I am looking for more courses from Professor Dr. Daneil Chamovitz in future.

by TEY W H

2017年8月9日

Great Lecturer and good content! plus it is really fun to hear and watch the videos. Thank you for making this course

by Jo I M

2021年12月15日

It was very enlightning and didactic. Some of the videos could do with an update, but all in all a great experience.

by Danise G R

2020年11月9日

I've acquired great knowledge about plants! Thank you so much for a wonderful priviledge! you have great instructor!

by mariaschlatter@yahoo.co.uk

2021年5月24日

Great, enthusiastically and clearly presented course! So many amazing aha moments and takeaways! Really enjoyed it!

by Lucero H S

2017年11月8日

This is a great course! I loved it, in the final video I cried, tears of happiness, obviously!! Daniel is the best!

by janine r w

2020年6月19日

A very good course, love the videos and way the information is explained, I have learnt so much. thank you. Janine

by Sofia S

2022年4月15日

REALLY worth taking. c​ourse very well structured, content is fascinating, prof is efficient and entertaining : )

by Leticia X C R

2020年6月7日

I love this course. I learned a lot and it just opened my curiosity on plants even more. The lecturer is amazing.

by HJ K

2020年7月30日

there was some question asking unlearned contents. But except that, perfect for me. be sure, It is for beginner.

by Lino S

2018年1月4日

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

by laura l

2021年12月28日

The information is very complex, but here it's been broken down into smaller bites to make it easier to grasp.

by TONG X

2017年5月31日

An interesting and engaging course :) I have learnt a few fun facts about plants after completing this course.

by Oren S

2016年11月8日

Will never look at plants the same again.

Fascinating course, great lecturer, easily understood, great delivery

by Juan S H

2019年3月10日

Este curso es muy bueno, ayudan a entender de manera muy didáctica los mecanismos sensoriales de las plantas.

by Brita F

2018年2月18日

An excellent course!!! It is well presented and provides a detailed insight into the sensory world of plants.

by Lee C Q

2021年10月4日

Very interesting. This course give me a complete different view about how the plants sense its environment.

by Dilshan J

2020年7月25日

Great course and interesting. This helps to understand the plants and nature in different way. Thank you..!

by Ricardo A L L

2021年10月15日

This course help me to understood the plants fisiology and how they are similar to humans in basic senses.

by Anushka A

2020年7月4日

Amazing course and great explanation. This course has enabled me to look at plants in a whole new light.

by Maria A D E

2016年10月28日

De una forma didáctica y amena enseñan principios básico de fisiología vegetal. Este curso es excelente.