Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,076件の評価
317件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

A

Mar 04, 2020

A perfect course to understand all senses of plants in a straightforward way and I must admit the way professor Daniel chamovitz helped me to better acknowledge this course was satisfactory for me.

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 101 - 125 / 315 レビュー

by Margaret ( M M

Jun 25, 2020

The most fascinating course I've done so far with Coursera. Great depth and detail about how plants do everything they do and many intriguing surprises.

by Lucas M

Mar 12, 2019

Awesome course! The teacher is really nice and gives a good comprehension of what a plant knows and how scientists develop their hypothesis and results.

by John N

Sep 06, 2017

Amazing course, explaining plant evolution on molecular biology level, showing differences and similarities with animal kingdom with amazing clarity.

by Michael K

Jul 20, 2020

Very accessible, great reading lists, sufficiently taxing (I still haven't worked out the answers to some of the final quiz!) Thanks & Best Regards!

by Dylan L

Mar 06, 2019

love it so far. Its informative and fits my schedule. i love that i can watch the videos as much as needed to learn, and that doesnt put anyone out.

by Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.

by Mohamed A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a great introductory course to Plant Genetics! Be sure to take notes so that you can easily answer the final quiz by the end of the course

by Royston M

Aug 02, 2020

I am extremely happy that I came to know lots of details on understanding plants. I thank the Coursera community for availing this course online.

by Jie W

Dec 28, 2018

I really like this course. I never thought plant science could be so interesting to learn. Moreover, it could help with my furture research work

by Larisa T M

Nov 02, 2018

Este curso es muy claro. Comienza con los más sencillo y va subiendo poco a poco el nivel de la información.

Entretenido, completo y estimulante.

by matthew s

Sep 08, 2017

A great study and very enjoyable.

Plants are food for thought as well as the table; who would have thought it.

Thanks for creating this course !

by Paola A V O

Jul 17, 2020

Gran curso, la forma de explicar es buena por parte del docente y se aprenden muchas cosas y te ofrecen mucho material para leer y aprender.

by Rosemary M

Apr 30, 2020

Super-fun course for anyone interested in plant biology. Danny Chamovitz is a very engaging and clear lecturer. Looking forward to part two!

by Alejandro M M

Aug 07, 2019

Dr. Chamovitz is able to expose complex and interesting topics in a very engaging way! I enjoyed all the lectures of this course. Thank you!

by Megan H

Jan 25, 2017

I love the content and the instructor. Well put together and easy to understand. I highly recommend for anyone interested in the subject!

by Andrea V

Jun 26, 2020

Best teacher ever! Hard subject and complex ideas if new to biology but the teacher makes its fun and interesting, thank you very much!

by Daniel M C

Jul 11, 2017

This is an informative and enjoyable course by a professor who is passionate about his work and who cares about the world around him.

by Matthew R

Jan 11, 2018

Wonderful course - Dr. Chamovitz is an excellent teacher with extensive knowledge on the subject and an approachable teaching style.

by Umar H

Dec 31, 2019

This course was just awesome and specially the professor is so cool and his method of teaching was so awesome really appreciated...

by Jean C H R

Oct 23, 2019

Very enlightening, I definitely appreciate this intensively precise lesson. Thanks Thousand times, Tel Aviv university&Coursera.

by Cynara F B

Oct 28, 2017

Excellent course! But it was not easy, I had to study a lot because my background was in civil engineering.

Thank you, professor!

by Renata d O A

May 16, 2019

Love it and I'd recomend this course to people I know. Now I'm gonna do the second part.

Thank coursera and Professor Chamovitz

by Andrés S

Aug 11, 2017

Really interestint course to discover and understand a lot of things on plants and their similarities or not to animals/humans.

by Ashley J S

Mar 07, 2020

Really good course, better than I wa expecting. Professor was easy to understand and made the subject even more interesting.

by Godineau E

Feb 26, 2017

A very interestinf course, well documented and explained by Dr. Chamowitz ! I highly recommend this course, I learnt a lot !