Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,536件の評価
451件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

DS
2021年8月14日

I really liked this course, the professor was engaging, clear, and informative, and did a great job explaining and simplifying the more complex biology topics so that it was digestible for beginners.

RV
2016年12月12日

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 226 - 250 / 451 レビュー

by Walter D E C

2018年4月11日

It is a course with an interesting content. You think and learn about many natural process of plants.

by Roberto C S P

2020年7月23日

Muy interesante, lo mas importante son sus proyectos de investigación que presento, sus laboratorios

by Madelaine K

2018年10月3日

Great way to be introduced to plants. Love the progression through the different senses of a plant.

by Adrián D

2018年7月8日

Excellent course, didactive, easy to follow and not extenuating. Looking forward to the next part!

by Barath V

2020年8月14日

Excellent course. Especially the way professor Daniel Chamovitz handled this course was too good.

by Chimfeka A O

2020年8月4日

The best simplification yet most effecient and fun way of virtually teaching plant biology, ever.

by Sharavanakkumar S

2020年5月18日

It is very interesting, I like the way of explaining concepts by using analogy by the instructor.

by Bahaar H

2019年12月1日

I loved the course and the wonderful and easy way it was explained. The professor was excellent.

by Roberto C C A

2020年12月2日

Excelente curso, el encargado es muy bueno y la información presentada muy clara e interesante.

by Yu-Ping, M

2018年1月5日

Very interesting. Simple words with vivid description let me understand the concept easily. : )

by Vijay A

2017年10月11日

lecture was very good. easy to understand. covered all aspects. videos and slides very clear.

by Sandra G

2021年3月14日

Great course, interesting material and the prof was excellent. Highly recommend this course.

by amoulay

2020年11月27日

Excellent course. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic instructor. Learned a lot! Thank you.

by Munna

2020年9月4日

Truly helped me to find my area of interest. It will really construct the future enthusiasm.

by Thomas S

2020年6月15日

Great course. So much information to learn. Delivered in a concise, interesting and fun way.

by Priscila F d S

2017年8月14日

I loved the course! I never thought studying about plants was so intriguing and fascinating.

by Patel S G

2020年7月30日

I m really learning with enjoyment...its a very good explanation by sir... Thank you sir..

by Michalis S

2021年2月12日

It was fun learning about plant-life throught simply explanations, thanks prof. Chamovitz.

by V. S

2020年5月26日

I was really happy. And I learned lot of things about plants and also thanks to coursera.

by Meghna V

2020年5月16日

It helped me gain a good perspective about plant life. I enjoyed learning in this course.

by Akshayaa V

2019年12月13日

This gives us hell a lot learning at basics, which now helped me to improve in my studies

by Safa m v s

2020年8月19日

This course is more informational .We get more awareness about plants via this course.

by בר א

2017年8月14日

a very intersting and a bit challnaging course for people without backgroud in biology

by Rachel

2021年1月2日

Well designed, easy to follow, really interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. Loved it

by Roslyn O

2019年9月28日

It's been my dream to study plant biology! This was a great introduction. Thank you