Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
665件の評価
193件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

MR

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 26 - 50 / 189 レビュー

by adriana d

Oct 24, 2017

very interesting course! the explanations are very clear and easy to follow.

by Bruce w

Dec 17, 2017

Well done and interesting.

by Marwan E I

Mar 17, 2018

This is an enjoyable, interesting, eye opening course, yet it is not an easy one to pass. I have not done much biology before, and some of the terminology and processes described were a little demanding. I had to go through the lectures more than once. Professor Daniel Chamovitz is interesting to listen to. You do not go to sleep! I wish he would offer a third course on Coursera soon. Thank you professor for the knowledge you were so generous to provide.

by Brice B

Nov 14, 2017

Great class. Professor Chamovitz is a very gifted teacher. He uses the media very well. The content is very well organized, the explanations very progressive and given at the right level of detail for an introduction. After taking this course, you will never look at your plants the same way. It's fascinating. The treatment of the philosophical questions (Do plants see? Do they remember?...) is a little weak. There are philosophers working on these issues. It would have been great if Prof. Chamovitz had invited one/some of them to take part in the course. But I'm quibbling here...

by Richard S

Jul 18, 2017

One of the most fulfilling courses I've taken in awhile. Had some really interesting facts about plants. Also, the teaching style of the instructor was GREAT! Something about the way he taught draws your attention.

by Marium G

Mar 27, 2018

Feeling blessed on receiving lectures from Prof. Daniel Chamovitz sitting at home. This all happens due to Coursera that a person like me from a third world country is getting knowledge from top-notch researchers of the world.

by ,jhgfhkgd

Nov 26, 2017

Very informative!

by Lino S

Jan 04, 2018

Very interesting, thought provoking and excellently delivered. Gives you the basic concepts to go learning more!

by Edimilson J D O

Jun 06, 2017

I loved the course, Prof. Chamovitz is very didactic making the content of the course easily assimilable even for those who are not from the botanic area.

by Andrés S

Aug 11, 2017

Really interestint course to discover and understand a lot of things on plants and their similarities or not to animals/humans.

by Neetu

Sep 30, 2016

Excellent delivery of content and enjoyed the course very much !!

by Priscila F d S

Aug 15, 2017

I loved the course! I never thought studying about plants was so intriguing and fascinating.

by Ruben G

Jun 25, 2018

Great course, it is engaging, entertaining and very interesting.

by Kit K

Jun 20, 2017

The instructor is enthusiastic, entertaining, and does an excellent job of structuring the lectures to include interesting experiments, big-picture overview, and enough detail to dig deeper. The quizzes supported my learning well, too. Would highly recommend this course.

by Cynara F B

Oct 28, 2017

Excellent course! But it was not easy, I had to study a lot because my background was in civil engineering.

Thank you, professor!

by Naomi E W

Dec 19, 2016

This was great for me as I am just starting to study biology. It put complicated concepts into accessible language and was a great way to ease myself into studying. I'm looking forward to starting part 2!

by маргарита п

Mar 27, 2017

Это было здорово!

by Federica S

Mar 30, 2018

Excellent course! Well done!

by James H

Dec 29, 2017

awesome course and great professor!

by luis r o c

Mar 14, 2018

awesome course!!! enjoyed a lot and learned a lot...

by ena

Oct 14, 2016

Fantastic!

by Patrick D

Oct 24, 2016

This course provided insight into the basic function of a critical part of the world--plants--and gave me a deeper understanding of and a new outlook on this fascinating form of life. Prof. Chamovitz is engaging and entertaining, and his excitement and fascination for the field is contagious. Thanks for the great class.

by DAOUDGHERIB m

Sep 13, 2017

SUPER INTERESSANT !

by Alessandra

May 17, 2017

Simply an amazing course!

by Yarin

Dec 12, 2016

I think the tests were a bit difficult and the fact that many students taking this course aren't native speakers should be taken into consideration.