Chevron Left
Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows に戻る

テルアビブ大学(Tel Aviv University) による Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
665件の評価
193件のレビュー

コースについて

For centuries we have collectively marveled at plant diversity and form—from Charles Darwin’s early fascination with stems and flowers to Seymour Krelborn’s distorted doting in Little Shop of Horrors. This course intends to present an intriguing and scientifically valid look at how plants themselves experience the world—from the colors they see to the sensations they feel. Highlighting the latest research in genetics and more, we will delve into the inner lives of plants and draw parallels with the human senses to reveal that we have much more in common with sunflowers and oak trees than we may realize. We’ll learn how plants know up from down, how they know when a neighbor has been infested by a group of hungry beetles, and whether they appreciate the music you’ve been playing for them or if they’re just deaf to the sounds around them. We’ll explore definitions of memory and consciousness as they relate to plants in asking whether we can say that plants might even be aware of their surroundings. This highly interdisciplinary course meshes historical studies with cutting edge modern research and will be relevant to all humans who seek their place in nature. This class has three main goals: 1. To introduce you to basic plant biology by exploring plant senses (sight, smell, hearing, touch, taste, balance). 2. To introduce you to biological research and the scientific method. 3. To get the student to question life in general and what defines us as humans. Once you've taken this course, if you are interested in a more in-depth study of plants, check out my follow-up course, Fundamentals of Plant Biology (https://www.coursera.org/learn/plant-biology/home/welcome). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool...

人気のレビュー

RV

Dec 13, 2016

Love the clarity of the instructors deliver which is supported by great explanations and most importantly visual aids & demonstrations. Ps... Especially loved the bloopers at the end. Nice treat! :)

MR

Oct 01, 2016

So far, I'm really enjoying this course. I like the look of it, the professor is engaging and as a layperson I find the content very, very interesting. What a wonderful take on plant biology!

フィルター:

Understanding Plants - Part I: What a Plant Knows: 151 - 175 / 189 レビュー

by Joakim N

Aug 08, 2019

In my case where im currently changing proffesion from a programmer into plants generally speaking, i find this easy to understand with short and consise lectures where only the important things are discussed. Professor Chamovitz doesn't randomly dive on a specific topic, which would cause confusion. I rarely comment on videos and courses but this one deserves all credit it can get.

by Neeraj J

Aug 17, 2019

It was a wonderful experience learning from such a fine teacher & expert when time, money and distance do not permit to pursue your dream of Learning. every lecture was so informative, elaborately explained and to the mark. We are lucky to be students of such teachers. Thanks, Coursera to let this happen

by Solange A J G P

Jul 02, 2019

Really an interesting course. I was fascinated by the facts and experiments carried out by scientist to understand plants. As a specialist in the computer field, I felt very bad that I have ignored learning about this part of the world for quite a long time. Thank you, Prof. Daniel and the coursera team for giving me this wonderful experience.

by Chantelle B

Jul 13, 2019

A good introduction to the basic senses of plants. This course broadens understanding of plants so that they aren't just seen as unsensing machines but are dynamic and adaptable, aware of and responding to changes in their environments. I recommend reading the book to get the most out of the course.

by Izumi S

Aug 29, 2019

It was very good and I studied many thing. I want to study more thing with this.

I think plants are very interesting and it is very uesful.

It made us rich and happy.

by Andrei I

Sep 09, 2019

The content included is exactly as described. The professor is just the right amount of playful, and makes sure to repeat and explain the more complicated parts. Video lectures include images to help visualise and clarify what is being talked about. There is only one personal thing I am not a fan of, but that one thing is still not enough to justify a less than 5-star rating for such a clear course. Plants deserve more credit.

by Preeti H M

Sep 11, 2019

I enjoyed thoroughly !

by Larissa D

Sep 18, 2019

I started this course with very little knowledge of biology and finished it with a solid foundation in plant biology. I'd recommend it to anybody wanting to learn more about plants.

by Ravi S C

Sep 21, 2019

Great Course to Understand How plant feels :)

by Roslyn O

Sep 28, 2019

It's been my dream to study plant biology! This was a great introduction. Thank you

by Andrei A

Oct 01, 2019

useful and entertaining so far.

by Nancy L

Mar 05, 2019

Lots of great information - Thank you! It would have been helpful if some key concepts had been repeated/emphasized more throughout the course. Maybe include a unit summary or study guide before taking each quiz. And definitely include a course review before the final quiz! Thanks for a great course. I'm going on to take Part 2.

by Marcelo d S Z

Aug 15, 2018

The course is brilliant, really insightful and enjoyable. Daniel Chamovitz is a very good teacher. Only issue that can be solved very easily is to adjust the rubrics of the final quiz to be clear if the questions allow one or more correct answers, as this doesn't follow a pattern and confuses while taking the test. I almost gave up to try it again after filed the first time (and ultimately purchase the certificate) because I was sure I opted for right answered many times but got a negative feedback until I realised what was going on.

by Apurva B

Sep 02, 2018

Interesting course

by Priscilla v D

Oct 06, 2018

I really liked this course. Definatly a success. But how do i get my cerftificate.

by Eduardo E D

Oct 16, 2018

Learning a lot. I am very excited

by Elana H

May 03, 2017

Very compelling and easy to follow (this coming from a Liberal Arts major).

by Saleem A

Feb 11, 2017

nicely covers the content for even a new learner its a good source of knowledge. i am impressed by the course content and teacher

by Paul K

Nov 13, 2016

very unique method of teaching

by Amusan M K

Jan 01, 2018

Very interesting introduction into the world of plants. Amazing!!!

by Amanda S

Jun 27, 2017

Very interesting course, although some of the concepts were beyond me and I couldn't get to grips with them! Very pleased to have passed though, so perseverance paid off. Never take plants for granted, they're amazing!

by CLEMENT-COTTUZ

Nov 21, 2016

Les questionnaires sont un peu piégeux. Le cours est pas mal.

by Ananya K

Jun 14, 2017

A very good course.. Really enjoyed it. Teaching was the best. Loved it

by Shirdheen M

Aug 10, 2017

It was a very interesting course and has made me look at plants with a different lens.

by CRISTIAN D A O

Jan 21, 2018

Excellent didactics and material.