Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
829件の評価
213件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 1 - 25 / 207 レビュー

by SHILKUMAR P

Feb 05, 2019

Excellent Course guide (Professor Meyer) and Materials.

Very short but effective lectures.Its difficult to provide whole theme in short lectures but Professor has done this job fabulously.

by Laurent G

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

by Dimitris S

Jan 18, 2019

Absolutely marvelous Dr Meyer proved that philosophy is not a task for idle thinkers but the mean to face everyday practises under the right perspective and hierarchy.

by Marcela C

Jan 30, 2019

Great teacher, it really captures the essence of the ancient philosophers and teaches you the general views in their different philosophical perspectives.

by ehab a o

Jan 03, 2019

great

by Juan L P B

Feb 24, 2019

Aprendí mucho con éste curso recomendable para quien se interese por la filosofía.

by Javier

Feb 15, 2019

This is a brilliant course. Professionally designed and very well structured. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and more importantly I have learnt significantly. I highly recommen

by Carlos M G

Mar 16, 2019

Excellent teacher

by Natalia G M

Mar 21, 2019

Clear course to get introduced into ancient philosophers.

by Alvaro J F

Mar 23, 2019

Very good class

by mukesh k c

Mar 29, 2019

great course

by Yashika

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

by Robert C C

Apr 01, 2019

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

by Chew R

Jan 14, 2019

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

by Nelly S

May 26, 2016

this course it's exactly what I needed. The teacher has a Great Talent to simplify otherwise difficult topics and you can see she knows what she's talking about and gives you perfectly coherent arguments to justify her interpretation of the Ancient Greeks' philosophy.

by Edi d

Aug 29, 2016

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

by fernanda g c g

Apr 29, 2018

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

by Anthony T

Mar 12, 2016

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course. I cannot thank Professor Susan Meyer enough. This course has made classics accessible to those who do not have the good fortune of receiving an education in Latin and classical Greek during their school years. She has also demystified Philosophy and sparked my interest in the subject. In truth, I have never thought I am able to do philosophy. I have found this course so good that I have decided to do the sequel. What is more, I might even go on to read for a combined degree in English and Philosophy with the University of London International Programme.

by leslie l

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

by Charlotta S R

Jun 10, 2016

Loved it!

by Rose S

Mar 14, 2016

This course is truly splendid. I don't know how I've ever called myself educated before encountering the work of Plato. So much of what I think I know has been informed by these ancient Greek philosophers.

I love that the course is also really hard - it has not been dumbed down for us. I feel I really need to do it a few times to grasp all that is being offered. That is a good thing.

by Eduardo S P

Mar 11, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.

by Marc G

Mar 11, 2016

Brilliant! I loved it. Every statement is very clear.

Just a remark: the contrast between the level of the sound of the music at the beginning and that of the voice of the lecturer is too big, actually the voice level is not sufficient, I think.

I'm looking forward to attempting part 2 of the course.

by Georgina M G

Jun 19, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyable. Great course! Thank you.

by Gonçalo S

Dec 29, 2016

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.