Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,358件の評価
412件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AA

2020年4月18日

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD

2021年1月16日

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 51 - 75 / 407 レビュー

by Noel G

2019年7月16日

I found this course incredibly helpful! My only regret is that I couldn't actually talk to Professor Meyer in person, to ask her more specific question on some of the finer points of the material. I highly recommend to anyone who wants to begin a journey into philosophy, starting from the beginning.

by Marc G

2016年3月11日

Brilliant! I loved it. Every statement is very clear.

Just a remark: the contrast between the level of the sound of the music at the beginning and that of the voice of the lecturer is too big, actually the voice level is not sufficient, I think.

I'm looking forward to attempting part 2 of the course.

by Alexandre N

2020年11月20日

Exceptional content, with a particular focus on the philosopher that are even quoted in the common education (French one, at least). Nevertheless, i takes far more than 15h if you choose to read and digest the whole suggested bibliography. Anyway, this course is a must and i am weighting my words.

by Pritha R

2017年7月9日

A very comprehensive and interactive course which is not only informative but also ensures that you question what you learn and encourages one to muse over the course content. I am thoroughly enjoying the course. The course instructor makes the material concise,easy to understand and interesting.

by Crys L

2017年7月29日

I enjoyed everything about this class. It was well organized, the instructor was easy to understand and explained things clearly, and the discussion questions helped nudge students to talk about some of the main ideas in each section. I would definitely take more classes with this instructor.

by Sage F

2018年8月18日

Awesome course! One little notice though. I don't think the indicated time of the reading assignments are accurate. I am not good as skimming but I am confident that I read faster than average people. They definitely take longer than 10 min, so do consider that when making your schedule.

by James D R

2019年6月13日

I really liked how this course provided me with plenty of reading and then lectures that supported that reading. It helped to make quite abstract ideas as easy to grasp as possible. It really did what I wanted, which was to provide me with a basic understanding of ancient philosophy.

by Miranda ( Y

2020年4月25日

Personally I really enjoyed this course, all the information was articulated very clearly and effectively, while many quotes and examples were used to enhance the analysis. Some parts did prove a little difficult to wrap my head around, but overall very enjoyable, well-paced course!

by Siddhant J

2022年3月22日

The School of Athens painting, accompanied by the background music, sets the mood and takes you back in time. Prof. Susan Meyer does a great job of keeping the topic engaging and thought-provoking. Highly recommend the course to anyone dipping their toes into Ancient Philosophy.

by Steven B

2020年5月23日

Dr. Meyer is excellent. If you take this course, you will begin at the beginning of philosophy/science. This course is a must for those studying the history of philosophy/science. I'm especially grateful to Dr. Meyer for helping me to approach the Timaeus for the first time.

by Nelly S

2016年5月26日

this course it's exactly what I needed. The teacher has a Great Talent to simplify otherwise difficult topics and you can see she knows what she's talking about and gives you perfectly coherent arguments to justify her interpretation of the Ancient Greeks' philosophy.

by Ed C

2017年11月21日

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

by D S

2016年9月28日

Curse was clear, and well presented via Coursera. Certain lecturers do great over the net, some not so ... this proessor was very well prepared for the course content, givne in shorter lectures with intermittant questions to keep you enageged. SImple, effective.

by Paul L

2018年2月16日

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul

by Faiz A

2017年4月28日

This course was not only incredibly educational, but immensely fascinating at the same time. If you wish to know the origins of western philosophy, and also understand the idealogy behind a lot of the assumptions we take for granted today, this course is for you.

by Fran R

2016年8月28日

Although I'm very nervous about writing, I do intend to finish the course fully during a later session. I love this course! I like the emphasis on the readings compared to other courses offered on Coursera, and the lectures build off of the readings marvelously.

by Tamara G

2021年7月27日

I​ really loved this class. I was challenged to read material I would have otherwise overlooked. I honestly think it has sharpened my mental focus. The material was very interesting and the instructor was very logical (of course!) and explained things well.

by Val S

2020年2月10日

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

by Richard H F

2021年3月29日

Enjoyed the course! As an introduction to philosophy it was interesting and informative. Perhaps at the beginning a vocabulary list of philosophical terms and their definitions might be of benefit to the new learner. Overall I would recommend this course!

by Antonia T B

2019年4月15日

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

by Priscilla C

2018年5月5日

Professor Meyer explained the ideas of the ancient philosophers very clearly. I particularly enjoyed how she made their thoughts seem very relevant to today's preoccupations. I intend to read more about these philosophers... she made them come to life

by Edi d

2016年8月28日

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

by David M

2019年8月5日

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

by Alexandra T

2020年11月25日

An excellent course. The readings are well-chosen, and the lecturer presents the material in a very clear and engaging way. I've learnt a great deal from it, and have very much enjoyed thinking about the philosophical questions it explores.

by Gabriel G

2020年5月25日

Great course. Not to demanding so it allows you to learn without stress. However, you need to pay attention to the reading materials in order to pass the quizzes and final report. Overall I’m happy I took this course, philosophy is amazing!