Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,361件の評価
412件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AA

2020年4月18日

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

NM

2020年7月26日

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 76 - 100 / 407 レビュー

by David F

2017年10月23日

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

by gurpreet b

2020年8月24日

Susan Sauvé Meyer is an excellent instructor. I am so grateful to her that she created this course. She is so poised in her lectures and she knowledge spans so many varied subjects . I am thankful to her from the bottom of my heart.

by fernanda g c g

2018年4月29日

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

by Gonçalo S

2016年12月28日

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

by Ferrie S

2016年5月9日

A very informative and high content course. Good tutor and explained very well.

Questions could be a bit more difficult, but I liked the last exercise with peer reviews. Very educational and would like some more of these exercises.

by ANDRES R P D

2018年5月8日

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

by Aida T

2020年5月24日

A great introductory course and I loved the lectures. Prof. Meyer is an eloquent speaker and an excellent teacher on dissecting abstract topics into practical examples. Greatly enjoyed it and I will be taking the next course.

by Rafa M

2017年4月6日

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

by Kevin A

2021年4月14日

Un viaje muy agradable en la historia de la filosofía antigua, en donde analizamos las ideas y contexto de esas personas tan sabias que empezaron la genial tradición de pensar mucho sobre temas de la naturaleza y la persona.

by Ricardo S C

2020年5月25日

It's my first time with this kind of knowledgement topics. And if somebody wants to learn about this, it's a good way to start, because you would like to know what happened then and how this helped developing the philosophy.

by pooyan

2018年1月1日

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.

by FRANCISCO D

2020年6月2日

An excellent course taught by and extraordinary professor. I´m happy and proud of have taken this course and very excited to keep learning on Ancient Philosophy with Professor Meyer in the next course. Thank you very much.

by JCarlos P

2017年11月20日

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

by Jutta B

2021年2月2日

A fantastic introduction into ancient Philosophy and into the thought of Sokrates. Most inspiring and stimulating! It gives me a basis for understanding the concepts that lie behind discussions about what is knowledge.

by Silvia F

2020年5月7日

It has been a very clarifying course.

The teacher talk crearly and her voice captured my interest.

The questions made during the units provided the student of a genuing tool to know if he is understanding it.

I enjoy it.

by John F

2016年3月31日

Excellent!! I can't say enough good things about the professor. She does an amazing job explaining the more complex ideas and concepts in a way that is clear and very easy to understand. Great course so far.

by Daniela M

2021年6月1日

Professor Sauve Meyer is a great teacher, she gives clear explanations and examples to help us understand better such difficult, yet universal themes. I enjoyed this course and I hope to keep on learning.

by C

2020年5月26日

I knew nothing about Philosophy and wanted to learn. This is a great place to start. The professor is an awesome lecturer and gives great interpretations for the subject matter. I will be back for part 2!

by Emanuela Z

2019年8月3日

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

by Noemi M

2020年7月27日

I have never studied Philosophy before at school or on my own, but Professor Meyer made it very clear, interesting and fascinating for me to understand. Following this course has been a pleasure!

by ivan l a

2020年6月8日

I loved the course. Excelent teacher and materials. Motivate to continue studying philosophy.

Me gusto mucho el curso. Excelente la profesora y los materiales. Motiva seguir estudiando filosofía.

by Yashika

2019年4月2日

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

by Matthew A

2019年10月18日

Well taught and a very reasonable course load. Though I've studied some of the writings from this period, the class provided good structure and new insights, especially on the pre-Socratics.

by Alberto H

2016年3月16日

Highly recommended. This course was a great guide to understand to pre socratic philosophers. Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer is very clear in her explanations. Thanks a lot. I enjoy the course.

by Alejandra F M

2020年11月2日

I have never studied ancient philosophy before, but I really enjoyed this course. I thought the video lectures really explained the key ideas well. I will look forward to the second part.