Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
878件の評価
227件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

LL

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

YY

Apr 02, 2019

I was always wanted to know things on Ancient Philosophy, This course has an over all understanding for Plato's work and his students with their different prospective on him and his philosophy.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 26 - 50 / 219 レビュー

by Crys L

Jul 29, 2017

I enjoyed everything about this class. It was well organized, the instructor was easy to understand and explained things clearly, and the discussion questions helped nudge students to talk about some of the main ideas in each section. I would definitely take more classes with this instructor.

by Sage F

Aug 18, 2018

Awesome course! One little notice though. I don't think the indicated time of the reading assignments are accurate. I am not good as skimming but I am confident that I read faster than average people. They definitely take longer than 10 min, so do consider that when making your schedule.

by James D R

Jun 14, 2019

I really liked how this course provided me with plenty of reading and then lectures that supported that reading. It helped to make quite abstract ideas as easy to grasp as possible. It really did what I wanted, which was to provide me with a basic understanding of ancient philosophy.

by Nelly S

May 26, 2016

this course it's exactly what I needed. The teacher has a Great Talent to simplify otherwise difficult topics and you can see she knows what she's talking about and gives you perfectly coherent arguments to justify her interpretation of the Ancient Greeks' philosophy.

by Ed C

Nov 21, 2017

This course has broadened my knowledge in Philosophy and I have enjoyed studying it. It was interesting, intriguing and kept me motivated throughout. For my Cambridge application, this course has broadened my philosophical knowledge which shows my super curricular p

by Daniel S

Sep 28, 2016

Curse was clear, and well presented via Coursera. Certain lecturers do great over the net, some not so ... this proessor was very well prepared for the course content, givne in shorter lectures with intermittant questions to keep you enageged. SImple, effective.

by Paul L

Feb 16, 2018

Thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this course and also Plato and his Predecessors! They have inspired me to try & attain funding to study Philosophy at a higher academic level! Many thanks to the Professor whose teaching was both concise and enjoyable. Cheers, Paul

by Faiz A

Apr 28, 2017

This course was not only incredibly educational, but immensely fascinating at the same time. If you wish to know the origins of western philosophy, and also understand the idealogy behind a lot of the assumptions we take for granted today, this course is for you.

by Fran R

Aug 29, 2016

Although I'm very nervous about writing, I do intend to finish the course fully during a later session. I love this course! I like the emphasis on the readings compared to other courses offered on Coursera, and the lectures build off of the readings marvelously.

by Valquiria C d s

Feb 10, 2020

The course is wonderful. It brought me previously imperceptible visions. I recognized understandings that were previously intuitive and compilation, but now there is logic, learning and knowledg.

Philosophy is the path of my soul and the reason of my existence

by Antonia T B

Apr 15, 2019

This course is fascinating. The professor's lectures are very clear and the course is very well structured. It could be longer and it could go deeper, but still is a great course. Compulsory for all philosophy lovers. Thanks & greetings from Spain / Antonia

by Priscilla C

May 05, 2018

Professor Meyer explained the ideas of the ancient philosophers very clearly. I particularly enjoyed how she made their thoughts seem very relevant to today's preoccupations. I intend to read more about these philosophers... she made them come to life

by Edi d

Aug 29, 2016

I found this course to be both informative and interesting. It is extremely relevant to the issues that we are dealing with today. The issues today are complex and the lack of critical thinking that is evident make this a class that everyone should take.

by David M

Aug 06, 2019

This course provided an excellent introduction to the world of ancient philosophy. Not only has it taught me specific philosophical ideas, but it has also helped me develop crucial critical thinking skills that will greatly benefit my career.

by David F

Oct 23, 2017

Excellent introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato. My only regret is that Part 2 is not a further study of the Pre-Socratics and Plato, rather than an introduction to Aristotle. But thank you for this finely articulated introduction.

by fernanda g c g

Apr 29, 2018

I am really enjoying this course, the short and concise lessons make it very pleasant and even though the reading material can be a bit heavy at some points, the way they are explained by Susan helps understanding them much better.

by Gonçalo S

Dec 29, 2016

The teaching is excellent, if you want to learn about ancient greek philosophy, look no further.

The problems I found are small technical issues: the very loud music at the start of every video, the mistakes in the transcipts, etc.

by Ferrie S

May 09, 2016

A very informative and high content course. Good tutor and explained very well.

Questions could be a bit more difficult, but I liked the last exercise with peer reviews. Very educational and would like some more of these exercises.

by ANDRES R P D

May 08, 2018

Excellence in presentation and content of the theme. Indispensable step for further comprehension of evolution of philosophical ideas until our times. Discovering the hidden details laying in the crib of science and philosophy.

by Rafael M

Apr 07, 2017

The course is simply amazing! I have learned so much about the real philosophy and how to put it to use! I surely recommend it. The professor is very knowledgable that makes it easy for us to see philosophy as a real subject.

by pooyan

Jan 01, 2018

I'm listened to this course with minimal background in philosophy. Susan is a very organized lecturer. Super cohesive material, all parts of the speech connect together at the end and create the big picture for the audience.

by JCarlos P

Nov 20, 2017

What an elegant and valuable introduction to the subject matter ! Prof Meyer speech's flow is naturally captivating which helps to deliver the content a lot more effectively. I appreciated it ! Thx to all.

best rgds,

by John F

Mar 31, 2016

Excellent!! I can't say enough good things about the professor. She does an amazing job explaining the more complex ideas and concepts in a way that is clear and very easy to understand. Great course so far.

by Emanuela Z

Aug 03, 2019

It was very instructive to study Greek philosophy starting from documents.

The lessons were clear and effective, I will continue with the next course

Thank you for the study opportunity you are giving

by leslie l

Mar 09, 2016

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.