Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,333件の評価
404件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AA
2020年4月18日

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL
2016年3月8日

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 101 - 125 / 399 レビュー

by Ademilton J D O

2019年7月15日

Para mim foi muito bom pois me deu oportunidade de estudar essa ciencia da qual eu amo muito que é a Filosofia muito obrigado e quando eu estiver com tempo quero pode fazer outros.

by Sebastião d O

2021年12月2日

The course was very well conducted by Susan, who managed to cover very important aspects of the work of Plato and his predecessors. The course really lived up to my expectations!

by J R P

2019年2月15日

This is a brilliant course. Professionally designed and very well structured. I have enjoyed it thoroughly and more importantly I have learnt significantly. I highly recommen

by Alison O

2018年10月28日

Although I do not have the time (or inclination, I guess) to write answers to the provocative questions, I found the lectures and the reading material fascinating. Thank you!

by Langlen C

2020年5月15日

Its short duration course but so much new knowledge and conceptual. Really like the way of Socrates quesionning and moreover their analysis arguement is whole new best ever.

by Nickson U

2020年9月4日

I really like this course, because it is well structured and explained to the point which made it easy to understand Socrates and his interlocutors many complex dialogues.

by David Y

2017年6月2日

Insightful and informative course. Prof Meyer has managed to break down difficult concepts into simple, bite-sized knowledge for any lay person to understand effectively.

by François S

2017年8月25日

Good, interesting introduction to the cosmology and ethics of Plato and presocratic thinkers. The reading material is good and the lectures are pleasant and interesting!

by Camilo A G R

2016年2月28日

The course give us an excellent understanding of Ancient philosophers's thoughts with clear explanations and all this is made with an extraodinary order and conciseness.

by Dimitris S

2019年1月18日

Absolutely marvelous Dr Meyer proved that philosophy is not a task for idle thinkers but the mean to face everyday practises under the right perspective and hierarchy.

by Akhilesh S

2018年3月12日

If you love Philosophy and antiquity, this is the course for you. It lays down a foundation of Western philosophy, parts of which are still so relevant in the society.

by Janani S

2021年10月27日

Very informative and enlightening! I am amazed that everyone gets access to such a well put together course, free of cost (unless they want a certificate, of course)!

by skuiy

2020年1月5日

Thank a lot to the teacher . I felt very lucky to have the oportunity to learn so much about this subject . This course makes me think , learn and improve my english.

by Mary J M

2021年3月12日

Excellent and intensive material. Presentation and format are also excellent. The instructor is Superior! I really enjoyed this course and will take her next course.

by Leo B

2019年8月29日

A clear and thorough introduction by Susan Meyer. I have enough information as a result to know how little information I have, and look forward to taking Part II!

by Jairo G P

2018年11月2日

Adorei. Para mim, que sou brasileiro, as legendas em espanhol ajudaram muito. Conteúdo conciso e claro, abordando questões fundamentais sobre a matéria. Muito bom!

by IOANNA L

2020年6月25日

I think that this course is very useful, it helped me to understand better several issues related to the basic beliefs of the presocratic philosophers and Plato.

by Eduardo A D

2020年6月24日

I strongly recommend this course. It's A life changer! Ms. Meyer is a great Professor, and a wise person, she was able to create on me the hunger for knowledge.

by DAVID W

2021年5月24日

Succinct and to the point, this course provides the basics about Plato and the pre-Socrates in a straightforward and easily understandable manner. Well done!

by Marquitta F

2020年5月25日

I really enjoyed this class. It was definitely challenging and took the time that was recommended. Though confusing at times I learned a lot from this class.

by Bill D

2018年6月30日

Great Course, wonderful professor—highly recommend and I will be jumping on the second part of the this course soonest. Thank you for putting this togehter,.

by Abhijith J

2021年4月29日

This course helped to understand the initial thoughts of philosophy....as to what were the initial questions of philosophy and evoluation of those thoughts.

by Marcela C

2019年1月30日

Great teacher, it really captures the essence of the ancient philosophers and teaches you the general views in their different philosophical perspectives.

by Kate G

2017年9月25日

This course was written wonderfully, the lectures are clear & detailed - the curriculum is cohesive, sensible, and useful. Really great course & teacher.

by José P d F J

2020年4月17日

Dear,

I need that you correct my name in the certificate. I'm José Petrúcio de Farias Junior and no 'Farias Junior'. Please I wait for this. Thank you