Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,333件の評価
404件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AA
2020年4月18日

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

LL
2016年3月8日

Good intro to early Greek philosophy. Dr Meyer has a simple and subtly humorous approach to the material. Dr Meyer makes the subject approachable so that the student wants to do further reading.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 126 - 150 / 399 レビュー

by Rajeev J

2020年5月17日

I've been wanting to learn about philosophy for a very long time. This course allowed me to get a nice overview. Can't wait to take other courses!

by Tracy T

2016年5月14日

An excellent course introducing Platonic philosophy along with the ideas of his predecessors, such as Socrates. Well-organized and well presented.

by Doranelly M

2021年11月18日

Well organized information. The explanations are very clear and allow a better understanding of the readings. I liked it, I found it interesting.

by Carlos B

2018年2月10日

A unique and wonderful opportunity to learn about the basis of philosophical inquiry. Thanks for sharing your knowledge and talent teacher Susan.

by Roberto

2020年6月29日

Very interesting, useful and didactic. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to learn how to make better decisions in life or business.

by ruben s

2016年3月14日

I didn't have philosophy at school, this was my first serious contact with it, and I was amazed! Loved it from the first to the last lesson

by Germán K

2019年5月17日

Una muy buena experiencia para ordenar los conocimientos y profundizar las temáticas con la orientación de la profesora Susan Sauvé Meyer.

by Aimi I

2016年5月9日

very useful and helpful course. I know more about philosophy since taking this course, which is the objective. therefore it is successful.

by Eduardo O B

2020年7月13日

It has been a great experience, a first-rate teacher who helped me to think, to force myself to question ideas in a methodical way.

by Bruno I

2020年5月3日

I loved it! Great lectures and readings! I learned a lot about the pre socratics. Also, this course changed my vision about Plato.

by Matija K

2017年2月15日

Superb! Simple yet not simplistic. Nicely and clearly presented, with all the most important ideas covered. Perfect introduction.

by Heather S

2020年12月29日

Very informative, made the subject really easy to relate to.Professor was very personable and engaging, thanks for a fun class!

by Octavio P

2020年5月4日

Nice course, very pedagogical. Susan really masters the subjects and makes the lessons much easier than one would have thought.

by Susan S

2020年3月9日

At first I did not really want to learn about the Pre-Socratics, but I was really impressed by how the lectures hung together.

by Laura M

2021年1月31日

I truly enjoyed this course, it has helped my thinking process, and it has increased my curiosity about philosophy ever more.

by Laura V

2020年9月1日

The teacher's is very clear when explaining, I wold have love to have her as my teacher in highschool!. Love all the subjects

by Bruce F

2020年8月10日

Not only was the content - video and writing - compelling, I feel vey lucky to have had Susan Sauve Meyer as out instructor.

by Irakli P

2016年10月31日

Informative and well-presented. Even after having prior knowledge of the topic I found the lectures interesting to follow.

by John D

2016年3月11日

The best Coursera course I've taken thus far. Dr. Meyer is an excellent lecturer and the reading selections are excellent.

by Robert C C

2019年4月1日

Though I don't like doing peer-reviews or peer-reviewed assignments, overall this was an interesting course. Thank you.

by Daniel B

2021年5月4日

Me encantó la forma en la que se presenta el curso y la forma de hacer la última tarea también. Lo recomiendo al 100 %

by David O

2016年3月16日

Very good and well presented course. Interesting concepts and materials. I thoroughly enjoyed the learning experience.

by caroline s

2021年3月20日

Very in-depth, while still being concise and easy to understand. Susan Meyer is a great, engaging professor as well.

by Engr H S

2020年7月1日

I am very happy about that course so this is first attempt for this kind of university specially from USA, so Cheers

by Wong W W

2020年5月16日

Could add more discussions of modern critics (such as the ones from Kierkegaard) on Platonic writings on Socrates.