Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.8
1,334件の評価
404件のレビュー

コースについて

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

人気のレビュー

AA
2020年4月18日

Excellent course. This course has opened up ancient philosophy to me and made it accessible. I feel I have finished the course a good understanding of such keys texts as Plato's Republic and Timaeus.

MD
2021年1月16日

This was my first online course. In a crazy year, the flexibiilty to reset deadlines was much appreciated. I enjoyed the grading system, especially when your peers are from all around the world.

フィルター:

Ancient Philosophy: Plato & His Predecessors: 151 - 175 / 399 レビュー

by Stefanos M

2021年1月17日

Great lecturer with great background for stuff I should be knowing! I will definitely be back in the next course!

by Sylvia H K

2016年6月20日

Very fine lectures on Plato and the visions of those philosophers that went before him. I've learned a lot of it.

by Astra A K

2016年6月20日

it was absolutely DELICIOUS!!!!! This was a very well organized, well conceived course, i thoroughly enjoyed it!

by Lisa ( C

2018年2月12日

Excellent course. Broken into logical sections with great videos and tests to check your knowledge. Thank you!

by Caroline S d A

2020年5月22日

It was better than I expected. I've learned so much in these weeks and in a very simple way. Thanks Coursera!

by Rabeet T

2020年7月9日

Great Explanations! This course really helped me to start reading the original works of ancient philosophers

by Patrick K

2017年6月9日

Very enjoyable overview of PreSocratic thought and how it pertains to Plato's own works. Highly recommended!

by Diane N

2016年3月6日

Great course for the introduction of Socrates and all of the other great Philosophers, I enjoyed this class.

by Beatriz m d

2021年7月14日

Ha sido un curso excelente.No puedo hacer los pares por que no hablo inglés,todo el curso está completado.

by Steven B

2020年7月20日

Interesting, but not too involved. One can get through the weeks material in a reasonable amount of time.

by Chew R

2019年1月14日

Delivery of course is very clear and concise and had a very enjoyable and insightful learning experience.

by Hila J

2021年7月26日

had so much fun learning with the professor and I feel like I've learned a lot. Great job and thank you!

by Benson H

2018年8月2日

Beautifully organized, crystal clear, this is a phenomenal introduction to the Pre-Socratics and Plato.

by Andrea V

2017年12月18日

Excelente curso. Solo queda agregar la traducción en español y poder bajar las lecciones en pdf o html.

by Ferlin P

2016年2月19日

This course does a great job at supplementing my University studies. Really high quality intro content.

by Megan R

2020年4月13日

A great introduction of ancient philosophies. I like the instructor's explanations and lecture style.

by José A G R

2017年9月15日

very helpfull and atractive course, lots of information and access to material to help understand it.

by Alejandra T

2020年5月19日

Me encanto ya que comprendí cada tema y la manera de enseñanza es muy entendible para muchos gracias

by Areaba S

2020年5月17日

It was a wonderful journey of 4 weeks of learning.

Thanks to the Greek legends and Professor Susan.

by Yifei W

2019年8月18日

Really love this course! Very comprehensive coverage of Plato's theories and significant works. :)

by Oscar D

2018年1月18日

Beautiful course. It made me inquire about things like I never did before. I enjoyed It very much.

by Mandhir S

2021年3月22日

Very nicely done by the Instructor. Just the correct amount of rigor for an introductory course.

by Sajid K

2020年6月17日

I really enjoyed doing this course! Loved the way the instructor explained complex ideas simply.

by Monica B

2020年6月1日

I have learned a lot about Plato and the philosophers who came before him. Thank you very much!

by Eduardo S P

2016年3月11日

I really enjoyed this course, the topics were fascinating and the explanations were very clear.