Chevron Left
Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
862件の評価
259件のレビュー

コースについて

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

人気のレビュー

RW

Dec 28, 2019

Though i have nightmares of research design from my undergraduate career, this puts a neat spin on it and reminds the sheer importance of it. Thanks for the reminder of what is important UPENN!

HW

Jun 25, 2018

Claire you did an AMAZING job having me listen and absorb all about statistics, every class again.. I had never expected I could be so attached to a statistics class. Thank you very much.

フィルター:

Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods: 226 - 250 / 256 レビュー

by Andrea

Jan 01, 2018

It's an interesting course, but quite repetitive sometimes and not very well organised.

by Heather V

Dec 19, 2019

I wanted way more Angela Duckworth and way less Info on how to conduct an experiment.

by Halil O A

Nov 15, 2017

Recommend, however, the organisation of the schedule a little bit confusing...

by Diane H

Aug 02, 2019

Although I did learn some interesting things, I found this course hard going.

Claire talks much too fast on her videos......really hard to listen to.

A lot of jargon that still remains unexplained or inadequately explained.

Maybe the course could be split into two there is so much material. The format could be changed too. With such dry material, just having videos with powerpoint slides is boring. Don't the lecturers ever write on the board?

I found some of the assignments confusing: do one thing, but then be graded on extra content and I am sure one assignment duplicated one we had already done.

In short, not enjoyable.

One note: the topic of the paper referred to (Recruitment and retention of teachers) is not so relevant to non-US residents who may be like me and have no knowledge of or interest in the US school system.

Somehow I also struggle with this whole concept of grit.....sounds like it makes winning and being the best the most important thing in life and also sounds so relentlessly joyless. Again I wonder if this is a US cultural phenomenon. The rugged individual etc

by Julie O

Oct 01, 2020

I was really looking forward to a deeper dive on Duckworth's work, and the Character Lab. I might be misremembering, but when I started the five courses, I thought that Angela was one of the instructors on a class just like that that was one of the five, did this class change in recent weeks? In any case, this felt a little misleading having Grit and Character in the title. It was a research class. The research was about Grit, but the class wasn't about Grit per se, other than having to access my own to get through it. I have zero interest in the level of detail on research that this course went into. I can appreciate needing to know a bit to be a discerning consumer of research. I think this could have been covered in a week, not a month. I would advocate a research specific class as an additional class the those really interested in that aspect might be able to take.

by François R

Sep 07, 2020

As others have stated already... this really is false advertising. It's a "Introduction to Psychological Research" course with a few snippets of positive psychology in there. Not a course about grit. That's not really what I signed up for and I found the assignments to be boring and tedious (I'm a psychologist so I had all this stuff ad nauseam...)

The snippets of Angela Duckworth's lectures were hard to understand acoustically and generally seemed to be taken out of context...

The bits about research were well done, it's a really good introduction for non-psychologists (hence two stars), but not interesting to me. This course doesn't match the quality of the others...

by Lawrence M

Apr 09, 2020

The assignments were redundant. Instructor Duckworth was impossible to listen to. I had to turn the sound off and just read the transcript. Even then the transcript was at times difficult to follow because she does not speak in complete sentences. I found her use of biographical data to assess grit to be woefully lacking. The idea that holding office in a Greek organization compares to the stress of being a first-year teacher seems to be comparing apples and oranges. A much better measure of grit would be to measure the concept of Resilience.

by Valerie J

Nov 27, 2017

One of the challenges with being an academic is that classroom teaching skills do not always translate into engaging 'talking head' videos. In fact, at times, I found one particular presenter's intensity to be too painful to watch/listen to - she was really trying, but fell flat when reading to the teleprompter. The content of this course is chockfull of detailed info, but is more appropriate for a credited undergrad stats intro than for a non-credited online venue.

by Costantino S

Feb 25, 2018

Lessons from A. Duckworth are difficult to follow because of bad audio, and also because they are mostly extracted from a longer lesson, without much context.

Reading material is in part low quality (notes by a student, containing errors; websites with a lot of ads, etc).

Lessons regarding research methods are quite dry and maybe not extremely useful for non-researchers. On the other hand, the articles to be read and analysed are an exercise for grit!

by Ellen F

Jul 27, 2020

This course is poorly organized. Lots of repetition and minimal information. It's the same info over and over again. Completely different than first two isn this series. If I wasn't going for the full certificate I would not have been able to make myself finish. Suggestions: Make the slides match the lectures, reorganize the program, and either teach more information or combine it with something else.

by Brian H

May 18, 2018

Unlike the other positive psychology courses I've taken on Coursera, this one seemed to lack focus and not be particularly helpful. I don't feel better off for having taken it.

It's also repetitive, to the point where I think some of the exercises in some weeks were copies or near copies of prior weeks' exercises.

by Merrie D

Jan 22, 2019

I enjoyed the information on Grit and Dr. Duckworth's research, however, I did not care for the research methods sections. I understand the importance of this information, however, I have already learned this information in college. I did not enjoy rehashing information I already knew.

by Mario E T A

Jun 19, 2018

I was expecting more context about grit, too many information about measurements and statistics. I am sorry but it was a big disapointment, I even bought the book from Angela Duckworth because the topic if very interesting to me

by David K

Oct 06, 2017

there was little coherence in this course and at times it was challenging to see any connections in the content. The videos, in particular, Dr. Duckworths, had serious sound issues..... didn't like this course.

by Yauhen_Kamenka

May 16, 2018

For those who learned statistics and research earlier and would want to focus on PP only, this course will be a waste of everything. The grit part is quite messy.

by Danya S

Feb 10, 2019

I am not a science/math person and I found this course very difficult to get through. I had to keep going though, you can't exactly quit a class about grit :)

by Dana C

Dec 28, 2019

The only interesting part were the Angela Duckworth parts..All other aspects of the course were quite boring

by Ayana S

Jul 02, 2020

I wish the content focused more on grit and not on research methods

by Fabien C

Sep 11, 2018

Very technical around scientific studies

by Resha H

May 29, 2020

Either the class is on grit OR research. Not both. It felt like I was taking two classes. One that interested me, and one that didn't.

I was interested in the grit side, not the research side. There should be a class just on grit and then a class just on research, this way people who are interested in the subject they want to learn about can focus on just that topic. As an educator myself, having things so choppy was very disorientating to the learning process.

I feel like this class was not put together very well in any sense. All the quiz questions were about research and not about grit. All of the prompts were about research and not about grit. There were not enough videos on grit. If you want to study research, this is probably the class for you. The lecturer explained research very well. If you don't want to study research and you just wanted to learn about grit, this class is not for you.

Lastly, the certificate is not signed by the instructors. Literally "signature" in cursive is written where the signature is supposed to be, and where the instructors name is supposed to be it says "John Doe". The whole class is half baked in my professional and educational opinion.

I lost all motivation to finish the specialization and found myself not really investing in this MOOC. I just did as little as I possibly could to get the class over with to move on to the next course. By the time I started the next course, I had lost interest, thought I still plan to finish since I already invested so much time and some money. Ironically, I have to use grit and motivation to continue what I set out to do. I would only recommend this MOOC for those who want to study research. I would not recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn about Positive Psychology.

by Edith R

Mar 05, 2018

Lectures that were rushed and often left out adequate examples, incorrect information on an in-lecture slide, link to page with poorly written notes, discussion forums for "vetting" ideas where almost no discussion activity or learning occurred, rubric that did not fully match project instructions...

I love the idea of this class, but I think it could have been a much better experience. I had to spend a lot more time to do a lot more research online in order to try to understand the material. I got 100% on all my assignments but I never felt confident that I actually understood the material. I got the impression my peers were more confused than I was based on what I saw. I love the idea of including other researchers' experiences, but the interview snippets didn't align with the concepts enough and they ended up not feeling helpful.

by Gregg H

Aug 11, 2017

This is a poorly taught course by both instructors. Angela Duckworth needs to have a microphone that keeps on broadcasting while she turns her head. Each time she turns her head and walks around the room the sound varies too much for her to be heard. I thought the course would teach me how to be grittier and how to survive the rough parts of life. The other instructor, although she has great zeal for teaching, talks way too fast for me to take notes and actually absorb anything she says. This course is a total waste of time unless you love statistics, which I don't. I would love to drop the course if there were a way to do so. Avoid this course at all costs. Poorly executed and not user friendly at all.

by Justin P

Apr 13, 2018

The research work was incredibly dull. The main points could have been covered in two sessions, the Duckworth sessions were sometimes incongruous add-ons and the readings/linked websites were often poorly written. I can only hope this is the dud course we have to endure in the middle of four excellent modules ...

by Yashowardhan C

Sep 29, 2017

I had joined this course to learn more about Grit. Sadly, the course barely had anything on grit. Rather, the course appeared to have focused on Research Methods more.

Anyone looking for Grit, may not like to take this course.

by Ramon L

Jun 26, 2017

Angela should prepare her presentations not have somebody film her while she gives a class in the middle of a lecture. At the end some of her lectures and those of the practitioners did not have transcripts posted.