Chevron Left
Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods に戻る

ペンシルベニア大学(University of Pennsylvania) による Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.3
657件の評価
180件のレビュー

コースについて

Learners discover how apply to research methods to their study of Positive Psychology. In this course, we study with Dr. Angela Duckworth and Dr. Claire Robertson-Kraft. Through an exploration their work "True Grit" and interviews with researchers and practitioners, you develop a research hypothesis and learn how to understand the difference between internal and external validity. You also begin to understand and apply the strengths and weaknesses associated with different types of measurements and evaluation designs. You then interpret the results in an empirical study. Suggested prerequisites: Positive Psychology: Martin E. P. Seligman’s Visionary Science and Positive Psychology: Applications and Interventions....

人気のレビュー

HW

Jun 25, 2018

Claire you did an AMAZING job having me listen and absorb all about statistics, every class again.. I had never expected I could be so attached to a statistics class. Thank you very much.

ED

Jul 24, 2019

Angela Duckworth is simply incredible. All her video put a smile on my face. And Claire Robertson-Kraft is makes research very comprehensive! Thank you both for this amazing course!

フィルター:

Positive Psychology: Character, Grit and Research Methods: 126 - 150 / 176 レビュー

by Tamara B M

Jul 05, 2018

It's a little more nuts and bolts of research that doesn't really interest me as much as some of the other courses.

by Bob R

Jul 02, 2017

This is the best course so far, thanks to interplay between Angela Duckworth (with her "applied" Grit stuff) and the other woman lecturer, whose content and presentation were crisp and clear.

Thank you for not forcing us to endure further Seligman Worship during this course. Dr Seligman praises himself enough to last a lifetime, and I have been getting discouraged by these UPenn courses which suck up to him even further.

by Linda E

Dec 21, 2017

Really hard and kind of boring material presented in a really thorough way, as simple and relevant as possible for the lay researcher/research consumer. I learned alot even though I was not looking forward to this class in the 5-course specialization!

by Kevin S

Apr 27, 2018

Great professors and content. The only issue is I don't like research!!!

by Terry C

Aug 23, 2017

A good course, but it makes heavy weather of understanding research issues.

by Richard B

Jan 13, 2018

Good basic introduction to research methods form an academic perspective.

by 杨建文

May 09, 2017

Obversely this course is much less popular than other coures in this seris. Most people taking this course are not going to be an experimental psychologist, they just want to learn some practical skills to lead a better life, and there are many other ways to evaluate a psychological trick, no need to systematically learn the study methods, so no wander that people are not quite interested in this. It seems that this course do not provide methods to enhance self-control and grit, but Kelly M.'s The Willpower Instinct introduces a lot of useful methods.

by Lisa B

Jun 27, 2017

Very informative. Valuable information to have a general understanding of. Thank you for sharing this with us.

by Morgan M

May 03, 2019

This was a challenging course- there was not a lot of attendance when I went through so I had to wait and reestablish my deadlines twice to get the opportunity to review my peers and be graded by peers.

by Elisabeth d R

Apr 08, 2019

Learned a lot of valuable things on research studies which will help me better analyze. And the grit topic was very interesting.

by Steve O

Jul 06, 2019

Interesting and valuable mixing a knowledge of grit with a useful introduction to research methodology.

by Kenneth M

Aug 19, 2019

I love the teaching and learning of the course a great deal. Waiting on the peers to grade and that process was not as fun.

by Karolina K

Aug 21, 2019

This course focuses much more on research methods and is in fact a series of cuts from longer videos created for outside purposes. Having said this, it's still very good if you want to learn how to do your own research. Still recommended!

by phyllis

Aug 23, 2019

Thanks this course, I know how to make more accurate experiment and make me know more useful method.

by Hans A

Oct 29, 2019

Much too theoretical, talks by Duckworth were very interesting and funny.

by Lim Z

Nov 02, 2019

A bit on the dry side but learnt a lot of technical skills, especially how to approach a research paper.

by Kathy P

Dec 07, 2019

This was a much more academic course than the others in this series. It was challenging and enjoyable. The others have felt more like "self-help," but in this course, I had to stretch myself and learned a lot.

by sridhar l

Feb 23, 2019

Material on GRIT was informative and insightful, however the research information was too academic and only relevant to those focusing on research, a better and more detailed description would have helped me course 3 and only focus on the other 4 for this specialisation.

by Lydia O

Aug 16, 2018

I really didn't love this course as much as I loved the rest of the certificate program. It was a lot of social science 101, and while perhaps neccesssary for critical science literacy I just wasn't as compelled by the material.

by Halil O A

Nov 15, 2017

Recommend, however, the organisation of the schedule a little bit confusing...

by Jennifer A G

Jan 26, 2018

Like some other students, I felt this course was heavily focused on research methods. I wanted to learn more about character and grit and how to help nurture them. As well, the previous two courses made me think this would be follow suit, but the focus on research methods felt like it went in a different direction. I appreciate that knowledge and am glad to have the awareness, but it felt a little artificial to come up with examples of how I'd employ research methods w a hypothesis of my own since I'm not a researcher nor do I want to be, and I'm not an undergrad or grad student any longer.

As well, the really short videos of Angela lecturing were too short to have a lot of impact. I think the longer ones with clearer focus are better. I'm getting a great background about grit and its associated research from reading her book and I'm thankful for that. And, I am enjoying this series of classes in general.

by Andrea

Jan 01, 2018

It's an interesting course, but quite repetitive sometimes and not very well organised.

by Jo H

May 14, 2018

This course does not fit in well with the rest of the Positive Psychology Specialization...for that purpose it would be better to simply focus on grit. In terms of the stated goal of helping others to become better consumers of research, the most valuable information came in lesson 4. It actually contained the overview that would have been better to have in the first lesson. Do put some thought into the 1st week's assignment, perhaps by reading ahead to make sure you understand what will be required in later assignments. In some ways also, the extension assignments would be better to focus on than the peer review assignments at this level. They are probably more instructive, but I did not complete all of them.

by Paralee K

Dec 11, 2017

The quality of the content text of links to other internet sites was subpar in comparison to the other courses in this series and not expected in a course for which a certificate is given.

The rubrics for the assignments were nonexistent up front. Only after submittal were the rubrics visible-- during the peer assessment section. Descriptions of the expectations for the assignments were more vague than the assignments in this series of courses. I wasn't sure how long and detailed to make my responses.

The reading demands were relatively intense.

by Georgeta E P

Jul 11, 2017

this course was pretty scattered. Too much focus on research and not enough on grit application.