Chevron Left
Global Postharvest Loss Prevention: Fundamentals, Technologies, and Actors に戻る

イリノイ大学アーバナ・シャンペーン校(University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) による Global Postharvest Loss Prevention: Fundamentals, Technologies, and Actors の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
103件の評価
30件のレビュー

コースについて

This course provides an overview of the issue of postharvest loss of grains by exploring essential physical, technical, and social dimensions of postharvest supply chains and loss prevention methods globally. Each year, estimates suggest that 1/3 of all food produced is lost or wasted, making postharvest loss a critical global food security and sustainability issue of today. Key knowledge areas are presented including: -An overview of postharvest loss -Supply chain activities such as harvesting, drying, and storage -Economics and markets -An introduction to the network of actors working in this field We face the immense challenge of feeding over 9 billion people by the year 2050. To meet these demands, yields will have to more than double using the same amount of natural resources. In recent years, postharvest loss has been recognized by major institutions including the US government, the United Nations, the CGIAR Research Consortium, and several others as a significant opportunity to impact food security and improve livelihoods. Despite this increased attention, a lack of knowledge, technical capacity, and resources remain obstacles for stakeholders worldwide to act on these issues. This course will, for the first time, provide you as professionals, practitioners, and students, with a comprehensive introduction to postharvest loss processes and begin building capacity for loss prevention worldwide....

人気のレビュー

LL
2020年11月17日

The online course is good for students and even professionals. This will help upskill the student and review past knowledge for the professionals. Thank you so much

NG
2017年1月18日

Thanks for offering a very much informative course. Look forward for more courses in this field.\n\nThanks a lot for all the lectures and Coursera!

フィルター:

Global Postharvest Loss Prevention: Fundamentals, Technologies, and Actors: 1 - 25 / 28 レビュー

by Abasaheb H

2017年3月27日

I am very grateful to faculties for this course, Dr Prasantha Kalitha and his colleagues for such a informative and ultimate course on 'Global PH Losses'. This course is very important to all learners from developing and developed countries, since world's growing population facing acute food shortage, thereby saving losses becomes need of the hour.

In fact this is my first time for such online course, but enjoyed the course due to support of all the colleagues in the course.

"Saving the food is producing the food" and this course will help to accomplish this global goal.

Thanks and regards,

by madhav s

2016年11月26日

Very good course , much informative and useful. Thanks to the instructors and coursera.

by JOHN Q

2017年6月4日

Disturbing yet hopeful in that 1/3 pho can be ideally saved. Thanks.

by Portukaran S A

2020年7月20日

Great course ! covers all topics right from methods of harvesting to post harvest treatments to when the produce reaches the market. Gives a clear idea on how to combat the losses . This course could bring about great potentials on how to ensure food is reached to every human being ! Thank you University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for this wonderful course!

by donlucey

2017年5月26日

Very informative course on Post Harvest loss.

A variety of lecturers.

Some of the information could be updated now as the video are 4 or 5 year old.

You need to meet the weekly assignment deadline, otherwise your paper may not be peer reviewed. This will delay you receving your certificate of completion.

by Siddhesh B

2019年2月22日

Great course to learn about the 'Global Post Harvest Losses'. Covers the fundamentals and provides knowledge about the present technologies and techniques used. At the end of the course, one learns to relate the real world case studies with the course info. This helps to think and provide solutions for the problems. Good course for people -

Studying about the Post Harvest Losses

Working in agriculture and / food sector

by A. S M Y B S

2020年4月20日

Post-harvest loss has become one of the main reasons of food loss. This course helps us to understand the importance of post-harvest loss reduction. Several strategies, factors and actors of post-harvest loss reduction have been introduced in this course. The course creators had developed the course very efficiently which helps us to understand the bigger picture of post-harvest loss reduction.

by Dayanand P

2016年8月28日

There are a lot of aspects of PHL that is not taught to Agricultural Engineers in India. This course is an excellent way of understanding some of those aspects such as economical value of PHL and the role of Extension workers in PHL. The course also opened my mind to the many available resources online and also to the problem of PHL as a global aspect.

by Eric P

2016年9月2日

The course, led by experts, presents clearly and gradually the key concepts of post-harvest losses.

The evaluation is very thorough and requires carefully attention during the on-line teaching.

But beyond the learnings, the course includes 3 essays writting which are a great opportunity to share own experience with other peers.

by Lakshmi S P

2020年4月25日

It was a great learning platform. I could learn many new things and about many new research organisations. It was a very great platform. Thanks to coursera and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for giving this wonderful opportunity. Looking forward to learn many other courses.

by Deeksha P

2020年7月1日

This course was really a good experience. I came to know about a lot of things here which I was truly unaware about. I actually didn't know that post harvest loss was such a big issue in our society and a small step could actually make differences.

by SIBOMANA A

2020年10月14日

Now I know that just Production is not enough.

Through this course, I gained enough and deep understanding on how Losses happen, solutions.

Very well organized course with quality and clear content s.

by Leo M S L

2020年11月18日

The online course is good for students and even professionals. This will help upskill the student and review past knowledge for the professionals. Thank you so much

by Abhishek S

2020年8月1日

It is wonderful course based on research that make it highly practical course and increase understanding & knowldege of Postharvest losses.

by MBA E E

2016年11月28日

A wonderful piece and a great eye opener on issues of post harvest losses and food security in general. Thanks for the course , nice move.

by Eze N

2019年12月11日

I found the course interesting, educative and knowledge packed

by ashmita u

2020年5月24日

this course is very useful for agriculture student like me..

by AJAY S

2018年4月3日

Very Good Course Must recommended!

by kanika

2020年5月6日

EXCELLENT COURSE

by Nimak R

2020年11月29日

Great!

by Mona A A

2020年7月11日

good

by Rob K

2020年5月11日

A well-presented overview of the challenge of post-harvest loss and strategies on how to reduce these losses, according to context. I gained a clearer sense of the issues involved and the complexities being faced. I feel more confident to discuss post-harvest loss issues with my staff and to find appropriate strategies relevant for each context.

by Kunge K M

2020年5月15日

It is a wonderful course, I have gained knowledge on the difference between food loss and waste, and the importance of reducing it.

by Debasish P

2018年8月1日

Definitely a good course. Peer review process is not satisfactory. Enjoyable experience.

by Gokul V G

2020年5月26日

A thought provoking course which keeps you engaged in it during the course period.