Chevron Left
Predictive Modeling and Analytics に戻る

コロラド大学ボルダー校(University of Colorado Boulder) による Predictive Modeling and Analytics の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

3.7
396件の評価
136件のレビュー

コースについて

Welcome to the second course in the Data Analytics for Business specialization! This course will introduce you to some of the most widely used predictive modeling techniques and their core principles. By taking this course, you will form a solid foundation of predictive analytics, which refers to tools and techniques for building statistical or machine learning models to make predictions based on data. You will learn how to carry out exploratory data analysis to gain insights and prepare data for predictive modeling, an essential skill valued in the business. You’ll also learn how to summarize and visualize datasets using plots so that you can present your results in a compelling and meaningful way. We will use a practical predictive modeling software, XLMiner, which is a popular Excel plug-in. This course is designed for anyone who is interested in using data to gain insights and make better business decisions. The techniques discussed are applied in all functional areas within business organizations including accounting, finance, human resource management, marketing, operations, and strategic planning. The expected prerequisites for this course include a prior working knowledge of Excel, introductory level algebra, and basic statistics....

人気のレビュー

TM

Apr 15, 2020

Good course to give a basic understanding of predictive modelling and analytics. Good assignments and opportunity to review peer submissions help reinforce the learnings.

AD

May 30, 2019

Even though a basic math background is needed, this course is extremely simplified for understanding and being really useful introduction to Predictive modeling.

フィルター:

Predictive Modeling and Analytics : 101 - 125 / 134 レビュー

by Raj M

Jul 02, 2020

It was a good course

by Mridul S

Jul 19, 2020

Very fast paced

by Richard F

Mar 31, 2018

instruct

by mark w

Apr 29, 2017

T

by David N

Jun 26, 2020

This is an important class in data science general and very important in the Data Science curriculum. The class was covering very important concepts and eventually was able to deliver.

However, There were two major issues in this class in particular. One, the instructor’s English was very hard to follow, even with Closed Capturing that sometimes could not convert. As someone that English is not his first language, I can empathize, however there should have been better editing to the videos.

Two, the XLMiner Software we had to use in this class was only available for 15 days trial. This is a 4 week class and by week 3, the trial has expired. I did not plan to buy a license, and they will not extend it by a couple of weeks ( I tried calling both Coursera and Solver.com). And even though any other free tool (Python, R, MS Studios, etc) could have been used they gave different results and was not good for this class. This was frustrating. I ended up signing up for another 15 day trial with another account but that should have never been an issue.

by Joshua D

Jul 13, 2020

Compared to the first course I felt this one was hard to follow. Information came at a furious pace with little explanation. It reminded me of a business algebra class I took once that had a stand in teacher. The stand in usually taught theoretical match and ended up talking over all of the student's heads. We had to bring him back down to earth. Also the XLMiner tool is only good for two weeks. I verified this with the help desk for the tool. You need better directions and/or a better tool that can be used throughout the 4 week course. Even your translator had issues with some of the annunciations by the instructor. Due to that you need better visuals, explanations of concepts and how he comes around to some of the answers he gets. I really hope the other courses are more like the first and less like this one or I will drop this specialization and go for another. Also I will no longer consider CU Boulder for my Masters.

by Chetan S

Jul 19, 2020

Not satisfied with the course structure. As you progress in the course, the course seems to be rushed with little detailing. For example the concept of calculating Gini Index. The calculations were not explained and the students are expected to figure it out basis the formula shared in the earlier slide. Had a hard time figuring out the calculation when a problem around Gini index calculation appeared in the Assignment. The accent of the instructor is also hard to understand. Had to refer to transcripts many a times to understand what was been said.

by Yodchanon N

Jun 28, 2020

Really good content but the lecturer speaks really fast like reading script ,unnaturally and not communicative but I understand what he speaks, even if the subtitle sometimes goes wrong, however. Peer-Graded system is not productive. I found someone has copied my final assignment, at least should have reviewed my assignment back but did not, really shameless and uneducated. XL Miner on the cloud, for Mac, is free for 31 days with student license, however its interface and process is really time-consuming, perhaps lots of users.

by Aaron W

Jul 07, 2020

I found the instructor did a very poor job of explaining the concepts he was trying to get across. He read the material as fast as he could and it was obvious. Also, it requires software that has a 2 week license unless you want to pay for it (and this is a 4 week class) or can find ways around it by having multiple email addresses and other ways to trick their system. I don't recommend this course if there are any other options.

by jaiyant

Dec 24, 2019

Very Poor experience, the instructor was very bad, could not understand anything which he said , this can be seen by the number of [INAUDIBLE] present in the subtitles text. The number of application assignments and the questions were very good , with practice I understood all the concepts and I really think that was very helpful.If the instructor is changed and course content increased , this would be a very good course

by Agnieszka P

Jul 01, 2020

I've been struggling horribly with this course. Quite difficult knowledge presented with too little explanation. Much more visual graphs, summaries are needed to explain these data while in the course it is mostly a speech. If pictures are presented, they are without proper description. Whats more the course focus on showing how to do the models, but not how to interpret them.

by MD. M H

Jun 13, 2020

I really think the lecturer has so much knowledge and wisdom to share with us. But it all goes in vain when students can't understand properly what the lecturer says because of his accent.

I tried very much to understand, it was very hard for me, even with the transcript.

I hope to learn more.

by Gabriel A

Jun 16, 2020

Very difficult to understand, even with CC. The backbone of this course is a little bit of macro handy work from 1995. I am not the most experienced in the field, but i find it hard to believe that any F500 company would use let alone pay for use of that thing.

by David X

Jul 30, 2020

I would suggest this course to update its video by using text to speech. "The Data Scientist’s Toolbox" is a good example !

too many errors in the scripts, I have posted some on the course forum. some assignments questions not mentioned in the course.

by Renée S

Apr 29, 2020

This course requires advanced pre-existing knowledge of statistics to really be of any use. New concepts, formulas and techniques are barely explained but are presented as a 'given'. The course does give you good working knowledge of the Solver tool.

by Lokesh T

Jul 17, 2020

Its really hard to understand the instructor even subtitles mentions inaudible on many places. There should either proper presentations available or Coursera can redraw this course with another instructor

by Eduardo R O S

Apr 01, 2020

The instructor speak to fast and it's hard to understand what he said too many times. The material in the course in not well done. I believe that the course needs to be remake.

by Manas K

Apr 17, 2020

Much below my expectation or the level and quality the other courses bring. There are so many areas within this course that could be improved.

by tan l d

Jan 06, 2020

The accent of instructor is too strong to understand, it's an unpleasant experience to have listen through the class.

by Faizan R

Jun 15, 2020

its very difficult to understand the accent of the person otherwise content is very useful

by Vedad K

May 20, 2020

Assignments are interesting but the explanations and presentations are awful.

by Connor C

Mar 26, 2020

Could not understand the instructor and the information was not useful

by Dham S

Apr 24, 2020

poor content structure

by Kevin J

Jun 03, 2020

I don't usually rate applications, let alone courses, but this is the one course I was extremely frustrated at, and I saw that I was not alone in this.

First, assignment 3 is buggy, very likely because the version of xlminer is different (I ended up downloading xlminer from other available sources because the version this course gave did not work!!). Different versions including the partition result presentation and logistic regression step 1 appearance.

Second, xlminer is COMPULSORY and NOT FREE (free trial does not count). You can not even use other tools such as Python or R because some of the values asked in questions specifically require excel to get. I still don't get why xlminer can not be a free open source add-ins. Python and R's basic machine libraries are free, why isn't xlminer?

Third, this course is the PREREQUISITE to Advance Business Analytics, which I am more interested in. Combine with my second point, it's like locking a character in a game behind a paywall as a DLC, of course people would not like it.

If you are aiming for a certificate for this course, just forget it, it's not worth it. If you are aiming for learning the subject, you can still take the course. Overall, absolutely not going to recommend it.

To developer of this course, please REVISE THE ASSIGNMENT ASAP.

by Aman G

May 11, 2020

This class doesn't even deserve that one star.It is easily the worst class I've ever taken on Coursera. The data in the final does not match the description. There are mistakes in the lessons and on the quiz. There is no feedback to forum.I was very disappointed by this course. The professor was knowledgeable, but was difficult to understand and spoke quickly. Even the transcript had the words [INAUDIBLE] listed multiple times because he was so difficult to understand. There were no slides, so note taking was difficult. The course also requires paying $25 for an Excel Add-In, which was not mentioned before enrolling in the course. The Excel Add-In is a different version from the version used in the video, so it was very difficult to follow along because the screens and outputs were different. I also had an issue with the Excel Add-In that made some of my work late because the issue could not be resolved quickly. The Analytic Solver (the Add-Inrepresentative said the problem was on their end, and had to fix the issue himself. Overall I was extremely disappointed and would not recommend this course to anyone. If this had been the first course in the specialization, I would not have continued. In my opinion UC-B needs to rethink if they should even offer this course.