Chevron Left
Introduction to Probability and Data に戻る

デューク大学(Duke University) による Introduction to Probability and Data の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.7
3,470件の評価
787件のレビュー

コースについて

This course introduces you to sampling and exploring data, as well as basic probability theory and Bayes' rule. You will examine various types of sampling methods, and discuss how such methods can impact the scope of inference. A variety of exploratory data analysis techniques will be covered, including numeric summary statistics and basic data visualization. You will be guided through installing and using R and RStudio (free statistical software), and will use this software for lab exercises and a final project. The concepts and techniques in this course will serve as building blocks for the inference and modeling courses in the Specialization....

人気のレビュー

AA

Jan 24, 2018

This course literally taught me a lot, the concepts were beautifully explained but the way it was delivered and overall exercises and the difficulty of problems made it more challenging and enjoying.

BB

Sep 04, 2019

Very clearly explained and the pace is awesome! I really enjoy each deadline and l can already see how it is impacting my day to day work and life. I ook forward to completing the course! Thank you.

フィルター:

Introduction to Probability and Data: 51 - 75 / 765 レビュー

by Cecilia L

Jun 26, 2019

Mine Cetinkeya-Rundel' explains the concepts in a very very clear manner.

I actually started with other statistics course on Coursera. But found it going too fast. A lot of ideas were poorly presented. I was quite frustrated with one topic, so I searched online for detail elaboration and found Mine Cetinkeya-Rundel's youtube videos. Her deliberate explanation built my confidence. Hence now I'm at her class and I really enjoy it overall.

by HEMANT S G

Apr 06, 2018

This course is really helpful to have a better understanding of fundamentals of probability and data statistics. The course mainly focuses on basic concepts of probability and how to apply them. The assignment provided was very helpful and challenging. The peer graded project allows me to evaluate my fellow course mates which really boost my confidence as make me feel like an invigilator and provide the basis for my academic career.

by Noah

Oct 01, 2017

This is a very good course to learn (or review) the foundations of statistics and how R can be a great companion tool to augment a solid understanding of the topic.

The instructor speaks clearly and at a fast enough pace that there is no time to pay attention to anything else. I appreciated the lectures, slides and there is a free PDF book which is also well written! I am looking forward to the other courses in this series!

by Kimberly G

Sep 06, 2017

The course was really beneficial to someone with no R experience. Having taking statistics courses before I was mainly interested in the use of R for computational uses of statistics and analysis. The course provided those means and more. I'd recommend using RStudio on your own computer versus the Data Camp tutorials however as when it comes to the project at the end, you'll be extra comfortable with the use of RStudio.

by Bruno P d O

May 29, 2019

It's a great course for who want to learn applied statistics using R. The main topics are deeply explained. Exercises and other materials, like the OpenIntro book, are challenging. And final project gives you and idea of your new skills levels. The only attention point, for me, was the unbalance between the expected time to do the final project and the real demand. But it was a very, very rich experience for me.

by Jose A R N

Oct 22, 2016

My name is Jose Antonio from Brazil. I am looking for a new Data Scientist career (https://www.linkedin.com/in/joseantonio11)

I did this course to get new knowledge about Statistics in DataScience and better understand the technology and your practical applications.

The course was excellent and the classes well taught by teachers.

Congratulations to Coursera team and Instructors.

by Karen J

Aug 22, 2017

I've taken several introductory statistics courses and this one is by far the best. Material is covered quickly and clearly, and there are extra explanations for the questions that other courses left me puzzling over. A really well taught course, highly recommended. The only minor drawback of this course is that the sound quality could be better, but that's a minor point.

by Nikolai K

Jun 02, 2017

A well-thought course on statistics. Some topic were explained too fast on the video, but I was able to catch up on the things that I have missed reading the text book. By the way, the text book is really well written - easy to read, concise and comprehensive. Great course overall. I wish they gave more additional info on R programming basics, but that's the only concern.

by Gunjari B

Nov 29, 2018

The course was taught in a very illustrative manner with enough repititions over the concepts! A very deep dive from absolute basics to how's and why's. The assignments related to coding can come with some clearer explanations and the project is a little beyond the scope of the coding taught, however it will be an intensive and incredibly helpful venture if completed.

by Damon R

Oct 08, 2016

A nice blend of statistics, applied labs using R, and a final exploratory data analysis project that the course prepares you for very well. The instructor is informative, easy to understand, and brings enjoyment to the video lectures. The open textbook is well aligned and easy to read. The quizzes and labs are challenging. The mentors are responsive and helpful.

by Chuwen Z

Nov 24, 2019

Very useful, especially in R. I really like the final project since it really gave me the opportunity to explore the dataset on myself. it was a little bit challenging for me since I had to integrate all of knowledge I learned here. But I have to say it is really useful. The narrator is brilliant too. Each concept and statistic method is clear and acceptable.

by Nicolas M

Jun 18, 2019

Excellent guidance, videos and a free ebook to guide you through the process. I managed to learn alot and do well on the final project finishing the course with 95% even though I had 0 programming experience. If you are willing to spend the time studying, and reviewing the very helpful material, there is no reason whatsoever you will not be able to do well.

by Krishnendu S

Apr 15, 2019

Excellent! mind-blowing! I am immensely impressed by the way the coursed is designed. Very well balanced introductory course with an wonderful introduction of R (which is very needed for modern day statistical problem with huge data)! So extremely recommended for those who wants to kink start their understanding with statistics (in any field!!)!

by Chin J L

Feb 08, 2018

This course gives a nice introduction to fundamental concepts of Probability and Data. It also gives a glimpse on scientific studies. The topics are very well presented and the study material is excellent.

I highly recommend this course to anyone who does not have a background on the subject and wishes to have a better understanding of Statistics

by Yize H

Oct 04, 2016

This is a great course, very helpful for people who are interested in statistics and R. I learned a lot from the lecture. Apart from the compact lecture, I also learned a lot from the peer review process, the work I reviewed and feedback I got were very helpful, I was also shocked by the efforts present in the work and feedback. Great community.

by Ben G

Aug 29, 2016

Excellent introduction to Statistics and Probability. The course progresses at a nice pace - not too much too fast. The textbook is a great resource, and it's written in a very easy to digest way, making the concepts clear and approachable. The videos further reinforce the textbook and help clarify the material.

This class is highly recommended.

by Puneet K

Jun 01, 2017

I doubt there are many professors around the globe who can match Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel's clarity of thought, her structured thinking and most importantly the the way info was packed into this course. Love the Openintro book, I still refer to it in my day to day work. Great going folks from Duke. Will see you in the Inferential Stats Module !

by RAGAVAN N

Jun 14, 2016

It took less than 3 days overall for me to finish this course, but I did this just because I wanted to refresh the basics and see if I am missing something. At the end I learnt quite an amount. Prof. Rundel's explanation is clear and concise. I would take all the courses in this specialization just because of the way she explains things.

by Amruta G

Apr 07, 2019

The course has been handled really well! I learnt a lot. I took this course to revisit the basics and get them conceptually clarified. And I am completely satisfied with what I have achieved.

The R programming part need instructions on how to work with an R Markdown File, I feel, as I myself spent too much time trying to figure it out.

by Robert S

Dec 06, 2017

Great, diversed material presented in a lively fashion. Inspiring and well explained. The supplementary coursebook with exercises gives the opportunity to study the subject deeper. A lot of real-life examples and a convenient way to practice using R. If the Statistics is for you, this will increase your motivation to study it.

by James G

May 23, 2016

Course covers a lot of material very efficiently. Instruction is concise, and provides a free online textbook for deeper learning on topics in case you don't fully understand them from the lecture. Be aware that the final project is a serious chunk of work, maybe 1/3 to 1/2 of the total time it took me to complete this course!

by Clinton B

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent introduction to Statistics, Probability, and Data Visualization! The professor explains it extremely well and supports her instruction with helpful examples. The associated textbook is both free and high quality. The instructor of the course was a co-author of the textbook which ties the course together very nicely.

by Serapion P

Dec 06, 2016

All the concepts are very clearly presented and the instructor is really a great teacher!

What I liked the most is that special attention is given to the fine distinction between statistical concepts that students easily confuse, myself included.

The mentors are also very helpful and very prompt to respond to any questions.

by Shao Y ( H

Feb 07, 2017

I love how concise the lectures are, and also the quizzes provide explanations to questions I've done wrong. That's very helpful indeed. This is my first Coursera course with peer-review assignments - I'm impressed that classmates give useful and encouraging feedbacks. I also learnt a lot from reading other people's work.

by Chanuwas A

Nov 21, 2018

The course is rather easy to understand and covers most fundamental knowledge of probability that we need to know for data analysis purposes. However, the coding exercises are not enough to provide us an extensive technical skills for performing exploratory data analysis. But overall, it's a fun and awesome course! :)