Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,741件の評価
465件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 51 - 75 / 449 レビュー

by Arnaud B

Oct 04, 2016

Great course to have a pratical introduction to functional design using Scala

by Victor M C M

May 06, 2017

It is great to learn Scala and functional programming. Thanks to Martin Odersky

by Animesh K

Sep 27, 2016

Perfectly well organised. Great Course

by Anton P

Jul 29, 2016

Very insightful.

by William H

Jul 26, 2017

Very little spoon feeding in the assignments might place you outside your comfort zone --- but what a blast. Like the 1st course - excellent.

by Илья Б

Sep 24, 2016

At times instructions for problems are really vague. Every method should have comments or be test covered like it was in the first course. For example I had to spend some time, looking through the parser to discover that spaces in calculator expressions are mandatory. Technically it was in the description, but it was not clear at all and I was stuck with the idea that I'm doing something generally wrong so i had to write a whole test(that was kinda ad-hoc and not a good practice at all) to reach that tiny problem. Otherwise the course is really really great. It made me progress a lot in my scala skill, while keeping me interested in the problems and learning some new data structs ect. Keep up the good work!

by Dhirendra K K

Mar 23, 2017

it was amazing course !!!

by Bjornn B O F F

Jun 27, 2017

Top course

by Deleted A

Sep 02, 2016

Advantages of Functional programming clearly evident after attending this course and is much easier to follow compared to reading Books on FP

by Graham B

May 07, 2017

A well-paced and intellectually challenging introduction to the concepts and practice of functional reactive programming, with two AMAZING instructors (Martin Odersky and Erik Meijer)! Builds on Martin's equally excellent introduction to functional programming. (Pass this course and join Professor O and the xs-men!)

by Jinfu X

May 29, 2016

Excellent!!!

by Li Y

Aug 15, 2017

Really great

by Anton V

Jun 26, 2016

Sufficiently challenging to be interesting. This course(s) evolve(s) so there are some quirks in assignments/videos here and there, but it no a big deal really. Many thanks to authors and coursera team.

by Andrei G

Jan 30, 2017

A wonderful course that allows you to assess the capabilities of scala.

by Ismail A I

Aug 29, 2016

Course recommended for all who deepen with Scala

by Walter E Z

Oct 29, 2016

Great course!

Very thorough presentation of functional programming design patterns.

by Jacek N

Jan 09, 2017

It's a nice course with great excercises included. I'm excited to join the next part!

by Tom H

Jul 31, 2016

This course sets out to teach from the ground up about various functional programming techniques and their uses. It manages to do just that in a very short time. The ideas are presented in Scala but apply just as well to most other languages. The last week, on functional reactive programming and asynchronous programming in particular can easily be transposed to modern front-end web development. The assignments are also interesting and well balanced.

I was familiar with most of the ideas, but this course gave me a better understanding of these.

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

by shimin

Jul 24, 2017

nice course

by Morteza N

Feb 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It's challenging and helps you develop a great functional programming mindset. I remember those classes I attended several years ago when I was struggling with learning Java, compare with that bad experience I could learn Scala just in 4 weeks much obliged to you Dr. Odersky and your colleagues that make learning process to be a breeze. Thank you!

by Rishi K

Aug 10, 2016

Functional Program Design in Scala is one of the best courses for those who want to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications using functional programming concepts. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala. It is a great course for those who want to explore into the functional programming aspect of Computer Science. The concepts are explained lucidly and the assignments are relatively difficult and help the individuals to apply the learnt concepts in an incremental manner. I was really excited on taking this course, and it has lived up to all my expectations from it.

by Andy R

Feb 05, 2017

very good

by lzx

Mar 06, 2017

新奇,使用,精简,理论!

by LatamTec

Jan 16, 2017

Buenos temas. Gracias Martin Odersky por inventar scala. Excelente lenguaje.

by Andrea Z

Jun 05, 2018

Excellent course! Prof. Odersky is a great teacher.