Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,741件の評価
465件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 201 - 225 / 449 レビュー

by Jonathan S R

Jul 13, 2019

everything was intuitive and enjoyable

by Yichun Y

Jul 20, 2019

The last week's lectures are hard to grasp, but everything else is excellent!

by Tihomir N

Jul 19, 2019

One of the very top courses on Coursera. Prof. Martin Odersky, is truly incredible !

by Sebas O C

Jul 23, 2019

nice

by David S

Oct 30, 2019

This is a great course with a clear exposition of some of the more complex topics in FP such as Monads. However, I feel the treatment of concurrency left me with more questions than answers (though I also understand the next course will explore it in more detail). I would have also liked some more excercises about building a Scala program "from scratch".

by Juan P G E

Jan 31, 2019

Very interesting course. You can learn the basics about functional reactive programming and get to know about Signals and Futures. The assignments are not as difficult as the ones in the previous course and you can see that there is a lot of work to provide the infrastructure needed for those exercises.

by Luigi C

Jan 09, 2019

It would be nice to have the missing lectures too!

by Angelos M

Feb 24, 2019

It is a really nice course but a bit dated.

by Antoine L

Mar 13, 2019

This course felt a bit less fundamental than the Functional Programming Principles but offered some nice introduction to more advanced concepts that feel to bridge the gap between theoretical advantages and real-world use cases.

On the other hand the Monad concept which I often hear about still feels a bit fuzzy, I felt like less time was dedicated to theory in this course.

This time again the exercises are challenging but fun and above all really help internalizing the concepts, although it feels like it will take me more work to really grok Signals not to mention Future which are not used in any exercises.

by Marcin Z

Mar 24, 2019

Better than the first part!

by Joël V

Mar 27, 2019

Provides an interesting theoretical bird view on: monads & its relation to for expressions, streams & lazy evaluation, elegant examples of mixing mutable and immutable data-structures for stateful programs, and finally signals for event management. The exercises are fun ;-) and illustrative although not too challenging.

by Francisco E B

Dec 24, 2018

There were some discontinuity in the last week. The classes appear not to be from the same planning, and the teachers say about classes that are not in the course. It should be revised.

by Konrad C

Dec 10, 2018

Challenging assignments, nice lectures except those prepared by Erik (quite boring)

by John M

Feb 19, 2019

There's a lot to chew on here, and it's well-articulated. Some of the examples are a bit opaque and academic - a little more of a practical, intuitive approach would go a long way.

by Siyuan W

Feb 19, 2019

there are a lil bit disordered of the course arrangement

by Tang

Jan 14, 2019

the last few weeks are a bit sloppy. hope can improve

by Ilya B

Dec 28, 2018

Video material is a little bit confusing. It reminds me patchwork quilt

by dd3334

Jul 15, 2018

内容不错,但老师的教学方式太差了,就知道读PPT,害得我睡着好几次

by Daniel H L

Jan 31, 2018

The last star is missing because it's not in depth enough

by Anders T

Jul 28, 2016

A good introduction to design of more complex Scala programs in a functional manner.

Left a few things to be desired some places, such as: less legacy from the previous "reactive programming in scala" course; a discussion of immutable options for functional reactive programming; and a demonstration of an implicits-based implementation of Functional Reactive Programming, as was mentioned.

For the most part a great course though.

by Nathan F

Aug 03, 2017

Good course, wish is expanded more on Functional Program Design.

by Kota M

Jan 24, 2018

This was my first experience with Functional Programming and also Scala. I found many parts of the course challenging, but also so much fun to me.

During the course, the teacher talks about the Scala development techniques, but also fundamental implementation of Scala language. I think the course will be more informative if the two kinds are clearly separated, since people would have different motivations towards the course. Many people may not need to understand what is going on behind the abstract functionality for their practice, but knowing them will push them up to higher levels.

I myself wanted to focus on getting used to coding with Scala, even if I am not 100% sure how the things are going on behind scene. Fundamental topics will be of my interest once I become a intermediate developer of the language.

by Zhenduo D

Oct 30, 2017

I feel that the lectures need more detailed discussions about the scala design pattern.

by Dmitry I

Jan 17, 2017

Интересный курс, но задания могли бы быть и посложнее

by Kyoung-Seop P

Jan 06, 2017

Very good! ^^