Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,852件の評価
487件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 276 - 300 / 470 レビュー

by John W

Aug 15, 2016

Saw the application of some functional programming in the course. It was pretty cool, but it was a bit random. I wished we could learn more advance topics of functional programming, such as Category Theory.

by Chinmay P

Jun 28, 2016

Maybe an unfair comparison but I am comparing this with the principles of reactive programming. That had much more contents such as actors, etc. Having said that this is a good course by itself.

by Bill C

Apr 19, 2017

The introduction to functional reactive programming is well done. You go from the problem to the solution in a few lectures, and understand positive and negative aspects of the approach.

by Francisco E B

Dec 24, 2018

There were some discontinuity in the last week. The classes appear not to be from the same planning, and the teachers say about classes that are not in the course. It should be revised.

by Shiri L

Nov 01, 2016

Great course. seems like some things that were referred to during some of the lectures were missing and kinda left you waiting for more. Hoping they will be completed in future courses.

by John M

Feb 19, 2019

There's a lot to chew on here, and it's well-articulated. Some of the examples are a bit opaque and academic - a little more of a practical, intuitive approach would go a long way.

by rand(23)

Nov 22, 2016

Overall very good and somehow challenging course, however week 4 is a bit convoluted (E. Meijer referring to the nonexisting (in this edition of the course) previous video etc.)

by Oleksiy R

Nov 20, 2016

Less material and practical tasks than in the first Scala course, also some bits about Reactive programming were just taken from other course, but not fully, just partially!

by Owen S

Jun 03, 2017

Great class, though the content seemed less coherent than the first course. Topics tended to bounce around without enough deep dives into the more abstract ideas.

by Alex L

May 11, 2019

Definitely challenging. Sometimes there were some tricky gaps between what the lectures covered and what the assignments were looking for information wise.

by Daniel Z

Jan 28, 2020

The course is much better than the first one - it give much more real hands-one experience.

Would be nice to have: lecture slides, assignments with futures

by Tyler F

Feb 05, 2017

Good assignments, lectures are a great introduction to Reactive programming but would be nice to have a "where to go from here" type of section/lecture.

by Dustin H

Nov 19, 2016

Very interesting course. Four stars instead of five because it was less about "Program Design" (from the title) than I would have liked.

by Junji S

Jan 09, 2017

Overall learned a lot. Some contents are hard to follow but using supplementary material helped me to discover new things about scala.

by Ricardo C

Jun 04, 2016

Very good course. Sad that it is at the same time as the Functional Programming Principles in Scala, which is clearly a pre-requisite.

by Pedro C P P

Oct 21, 2019

A little less content than the first course.

Also the videos and materials of the second professor are way worst than the first one.

by Glendon K

May 17, 2018

The part by Martin Odersky was excellent, the other guy was kind of all over the place and a bit annoying. Good material though.

by Pravina

Aug 06, 2018

Apart from the slight disconnect of lectures and assignment in week 3 , I think the rest of the course contents were amazing !

by Ken C

Apr 22, 2017

A valuable extension of the ideas in the first course. Helped to continue to build confidence in using Scala and introduced

by Roberto O

Nov 03, 2017

A few gaps left over from when this course was longer, which took a bit of googling to fill in. Otherwise, a great course.

by Carlos R

Jun 08, 2017

Sometimes the exercises don't match the content exposed for that week, but in general the course is really interesting

by Jacek K

Dec 27, 2016

Good course, material needs more coverage in programming assignments. For example monads and futures were not covered.

by Joaquín D R

Sep 04, 2019

Too short, In my opinion i would spend more time on future and async.

I dont like too much, when the teacher changes..

by Levi K

Aug 07, 2016

This part I liked less than the first. Less substance, and I do not like somebody replacing Mr. Odersky as a lecturer

by Török E

Jan 02, 2017

Basics of lazy streams, monads with for notation, functional reactive programming, and futures with error recovery.