Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,765件の評価
468件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 276 - 300 / 452 レビュー

by Aengus

Mar 07, 2017

excellent course, introduces some quite involved concepts

by Nathan F

Aug 03, 2017

Good course, wish is expanded more on Functional Program Design.

by Dmitry I

Jan 17, 2017

Интересный курс, но задания могли бы быть и посложнее

by Kota M

Jan 24, 2018

This was my first experience with Functional Programming and also Scala. I found many parts of the course challenging, but also so much fun to me.

During the course, the teacher talks about the Scala development techniques, but also fundamental implementation of Scala language. I think the course will be more informative if the two kinds are clearly separated, since people would have different motivations towards the course. Many people may not need to understand what is going on behind the abstract functionality for their practice, but knowing them will push them up to higher levels.

I myself wanted to focus on getting used to coding with Scala, even if I am not 100% sure how the things are going on behind scene. Fundamental topics will be of my interest once I become a intermediate developer of the language.

by Vyacheslav A

Jan 27, 2018

Streams part was especially interesting.

by Narthana E

Aug 29, 2016

The course is generally good, but it seems to be a bit of a hybrid of several different courses. Perhaps the videos should be updated so that references in the videos to "the next several weeks" in the last week of the course, don't confuse students.

by Riccardo C

Apr 17, 2017

High quality course

by Егор П

Aug 13, 2017

Course is very informative, but has a few "formatting" issues:

Fix references to another lectures. Sometimes they are talking about lectures that don't even exist

In one of the first weeks it was proved that Try is not a monad. And later in the last week video other lecturer call it a monad. It is not anything huge, but makes feeling that content a bit inaccurate.

Week 4 / Combinators on Future 1/2 / Future recap - flatMap result type is incorrect

by Daniel H L

Jan 31, 2018

The last star is missing because it's not in depth enough

by Harish k

Nov 04, 2016

Some of the lectures were tough to follow. Huge disconnect between the course videos and the assignments. QuickCheck assignment was a waste of time for me. Calculator assignment is really good. No assignments related to Week4 course work is disappointing.

by Zhenduo D

Oct 30, 2017

I feel that the lectures need more detailed discussions about the scala design pattern.

by Shiri L

Nov 01, 2016

Great course. seems like some things that were referred to during some of the lectures were missing and kinda left you waiting for more. Hoping they will be completed in future courses.

by Ken C

Apr 22, 2017

A valuable extension of the ideas in the first course. Helped to continue to build confidence in using Scala and introduced

by Théophile G

Jul 17, 2017

Good course, not a greatly structured as the first one though, especially the last week.

by Luca A

Sep 06, 2017

Good material, but the course is way less structured than the first one and the lectures are not well connected.

by Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

by Rodolfo N P

Mar 25, 2017

Excellent course, has a good transition from the previous course but still manages to be standalone. The last week about reactive programming was a little hamfisted, though. I would have liked a more formal, but pragmatic, approach like Martin usually does.

by Andrew M

Jun 28, 2017

a little worse structured than first course

by Anders T

Jul 28, 2016

A good introduction to design of more complex Scala programs in a functional manner.

Left a few things to be desired some places, such as: less legacy from the previous "reactive programming in scala" course; a discussion of immutable options for functional reactive programming; and a demonstration of an implicits-based implementation of Functional Reactive Programming, as was mentioned.

For the most part a great course though.

by Du L

Jun 02, 2018

Very challenging course, would be better to expand this course into a more detailed and slower paced version

by Kyoung-Seop P

Jan 06, 2017

Very good! ^^

by Pavel O

Sep 10, 2016

Good course.

Next step to get specialization in Scala and FP.

Many thanks, Pavel

by Iwan E

Nov 16, 2016

Apart from week 4, I found all classes very instructive and relevant. The video's from Erik Meijer in week 4 seemed a bit artificial. The exercise in week 3 was not really related to the classes other than that we learned in the course that there is a way to proove something and then we needed to. I could not really understand why or when I would apply that knowledge.

by Bill C

Apr 19, 2017

The introduction to functional reactive programming is well done. You go from the problem to the solution in a few lectures, and understand positive and negative aspects of the approach.

by Thierry M

Jan 03, 2018

More exercices related to the courses would be great