Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,758件の評価
468件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 326 - 350 / 451 レビュー

by Seongsan K

Feb 26, 2018

I wish the same instructor did all the lectures

by Glendon K

May 17, 2018

The part by Martin Odersky was excellent, the other guy was kind of all over the place and a bit annoying. Good material though.

by Théophile G

Jul 17, 2017

Good course, not a greatly structured as the first one though, especially the last week.

by Luca A

Sep 06, 2017

Good material, but the course is way less structured than the first one and the lectures are not well connected.

by Romain G

Jul 28, 2017

Very good course.

Automated correction tool could do with more verbosity on failed test cases.

by Erick F

May 06, 2018

The only issue I have is with the "Latency as an effect" part of the course, it seemed reasonable but it assumed that you knew many concepts that are not shown, and also it doesn't have as many practical examples as other sections. Nevertheless, the main aspect of the course, functional design, was explained greatly.

by Albert F

Sep 21, 2018

Videos are great, however it would be good to update the content since videos are from >6 years ago.

by Sudipro G

Oct 24, 2018

This course has been very helpful for learning monads and how they relate to reactive programming.

by Tan K H

Oct 24, 2018

This course touches on many areas of production-level functional programming design. However, it is too short and the parts are somewhat disjointed, particularly the assignments. Can be greatly improved by having a specific focus (e.g. FRP, monadic design, effects) and have a course for each focus.

by Pravina

Aug 06, 2018

Apart from the slight disconnect of lectures and assignment in week 3 , I think the rest of the course contents were amazing !

by Chloe L

Nov 11, 2018

Prof Martin's lectures are great.. however I have trouble following the other lecturer Erik. He sounds out of breath all the time and the content is not as well organized & well explained as Prof Martin's. I ended up skipping his lectures (which is sad, as his lectures are about Scala Future which imo is a difficult but important topic).

by Damon Z

Nov 18, 2018

A little difficult but have fun.

by Hitesh

Nov 26, 2018

Good Course. Recommended

by Alex L

May 11, 2019

Definitely challenging. Sometimes there were some tricky gaps between what the lectures covered and what the assignments were looking for information wise.

by Santiago A

Jun 25, 2019

The course is great. I put 4 stars because week 4 is very hard to follow up and may take more than one week.

by Zeb S

Jul 11, 2019

I suspect I am not alone in finding the fourth week of this course to be somewhat lacking. I agree with the majority of the feedback regarding the shortcomings of the final week; however, as a whole this was a fun course and I learned a lot.

by Andrius V

Jun 01, 2019

Course material needs reviewing and updates

by Georgreen

Jul 27, 2019

The intructor is very clear and the materail is intresting, enough to capture your attention.

by Daniel B

Sep 02, 2019

Good course with a lot of useful material though not quite as polished as the first one

by Joaquín D R

Sep 04, 2019

Too short, In my opinion i would spend more time on future and async.

I dont like too much, when the teacher changes..

by Pedro C P P

Oct 21, 2019

A little less content than the first course.

Also the videos and materials of the second professor are way worst than the first one.

by Ishan

Oct 22, 2019

Assignments 3 and 4 can be improved. They are a bit hard to get started with and at the end only require a handful of lines of code to implement. It does not match the learning outcome of the difficult topics taught in the lectures.

by Milan V

Oct 24, 2019

The 2nd part was kind of confusing and less concise.

by Roman A

Nov 13, 2019

The course covers a range of interesting and important topics and the quality of lectures and exercises is pretty high.

However, it is organized in a less coherent way than the first course in the specialization. Exercises do not match their weeks, lecturer suddenly changes in Week 4 and delivers something not clearly following from the previous lectures.

by Peter H

Dec 31, 2018

Course material seems to be combined from two old courses, and some materials are not well prepared.