Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,699件の評価
458件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 201 - 225 / 441 レビュー

by Jonathan S R

Jul 13, 2019

everything was intuitive and enjoyable

by Tihomir N

Jul 19, 2019

One of the very top courses on Coursera. Prof. Martin Odersky, is truly incredible !

by Yichun Y

Jul 20, 2019

The last week's lectures are hard to grasp, but everything else is excellent!

by Sebas O C

Jul 23, 2019

nice

by Konrad C

Dec 10, 2018

Challenging assignments, nice lectures except those prepared by Erik (quite boring)

by Hitesh

Nov 26, 2018

Good Course. Recommended

by Luigi C

Jan 09, 2019

It would be nice to have the missing lectures too!

by Ilya B

Dec 28, 2018

Video material is a little bit confusing. It reminds me patchwork quilt

by Tang

Jan 14, 2019

the last few weeks are a bit sloppy. hope can improve

by John M

Feb 19, 2019

There's a lot to chew on here, and it's well-articulated. Some of the examples are a bit opaque and academic - a little more of a practical, intuitive approach would go a long way.

by Siyuan W

Feb 19, 2019

there are a lil bit disordered of the course arrangement

by Angelos M

Feb 24, 2019

It is a really nice course but a bit dated.

by Marcin Z

Mar 24, 2019

Better than the first part!

by Joël V

Mar 27, 2019

Provides an interesting theoretical bird view on: monads & its relation to for expressions, streams & lazy evaluation, elegant examples of mixing mutable and immutable data-structures for stateful programs, and finally signals for event management. The exercises are fun ;-) and illustrative although not too challenging.

by Juan P G E

Jan 31, 2019

Very interesting course. You can learn the basics about functional reactive programming and get to know about Signals and Futures. The assignments are not as difficult as the ones in the previous course and you can see that there is a lot of work to provide the infrastructure needed for those exercises.

by Antoine L

Mar 13, 2019

This course felt a bit less fundamental than the Functional Programming Principles but offered some nice introduction to more advanced concepts that feel to bridge the gap between theoretical advantages and real-world use cases.

On the other hand the Monad concept which I often hear about still feels a bit fuzzy, I felt like less time was dedicated to theory in this course.

This time again the exercises are challenging but fun and above all really help internalizing the concepts, although it feels like it will take me more work to really grok Signals not to mention Future which are not used in any exercises.

by Francisco E B

Dec 24, 2018

There were some discontinuity in the last week. The classes appear not to be from the same planning, and the teachers say about classes that are not in the course. It should be revised.

by dd3334

Jul 15, 2018

内容不错,但老师的教学方式太差了,就知道读PPT,害得我睡着好几次

by Albert F

Sep 21, 2018

Videos are great, however it would be good to update the content since videos are from >6 years ago.

by Chloe L

Nov 11, 2018

Prof Martin's lectures are great.. however I have trouble following the other lecturer Erik. He sounds out of breath all the time and the content is not as well organized & well explained as Prof Martin's. I ended up skipping his lectures (which is sad, as his lectures are about Scala Future which imo is a difficult but important topic).

by Tan K H

Oct 24, 2018

This course touches on many areas of production-level functional programming design. However, it is too short and the parts are somewhat disjointed, particularly the assignments. Can be greatly improved by having a specific focus (e.g. FRP, monadic design, effects) and have a course for each focus.

by Sudipro G

Oct 24, 2018

This course has been very helpful for learning monads and how they relate to reactive programming.

by Damon Z

Nov 18, 2018

A little difficult but have fun.

by Pravina

Aug 06, 2018

Apart from the slight disconnect of lectures and assignment in week 3 , I think the rest of the course contents were amazing !

by Ilari V

Jul 17, 2016

Mostly as good as the course "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" I took couple of years ago. However, some of the videos are clearly taken from another courses and referencing to content not in this course. Especially the final week's content is very confusing, topics changing constantly without clear context and presentation. (I actually purposedly skipped the last few videos, as they seemed completely off the track and it was very hard to get anything out of them.)

The exercices were good, starting where the previous course ended, and most of the videos were clear and well done (basically the videos by Martin).