Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,924件の評価
502件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 76 - 100 / 485 レビュー

by Mykola S

Jun 19, 2017

Overall, the course is great. More advanced concepts are covered compared to the first course in the specialization. Thanks!

by Krishna A

Jun 12, 2017

This course continues where Part 1 left off and covers some of the advanced concepts of FP - especially the dreaded Monads.

by Mike D

Oct 17, 2016

Great concepts are introduced in the course. It is very educational to get through. I like the Signal Var portion the best.

by Grant N

Oct 19, 2016

Great course. The lecture about actors that were mentioned in the beginning of week 4 would have been a nice addition.

by Stephen E R

Jul 13, 2016

Challenging, well-presented topics! The course has opened the door to many avenues of study well past the course itself

by Onur U

Feb 28, 2017

Functional Reactive Programming (named Signal) is like to able to make every event driven. Thanks for opening my mind

by Michael P

Nov 07, 2016

Great course. Nice and to the point. I wish there were a course dedicated to Scala web stack (ScalaJs,React,etc. ...)

by Youwei Z

Sep 18, 2016

a more advanced class but remains friendly to beginners. i can work on 3 courses at the same time without much burden

by Zhehui Z

Apr 08, 2020

Much harder than the first course of this specialization. Many important functional programming concepts introduced.

by Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I'e been using Scala at work for more than a year, but still M Odersky and E Meijer brought me a lot in this course

by Akshay A

Jan 05, 2020

Last two weeks are definitely confusing, since the staff seems to have rearranged and removed some ofthe content.

by Fernando R

Mar 18, 2018

Great course. The material is stimulating, challenging, and very useful to learn functional programming in Scala.

by bredr

Mar 03, 2017

Really adds value to the previous course, filling in the blanks on how you might apply it to larger applications.

by Juliusz G

Dec 10, 2016

Three fun, easy & very informative programming assignments on streams, property testing and reactive programming

by Tin H K

Jan 28, 2017

A great continuation course to learn functional programming in Scala. Thank you very much Professor Odersky!

by Gregory M

Jan 14, 2017

Clear, though I was already intermediate in scala, I learnt some new functional programming techniques here

by Tomasz N

Jan 13, 2020

In week 4 sudden change of teacher and topic from reactive programming principles to Futures is confusing.

by Ignacio G S

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent course from the best professionals in the world. The Futures content should be tested as well.

by Krishnan C

Dec 05, 2016

This class was really useful for helping me to understand streams and functional reactive programming!

by Jędrzej B

May 22, 2020

One of the best courses I've encountered. Nice examples, clear explanations, interesting assignments.

by Yacine G

Dec 28, 2018

A very intricate and well designed course. I especially liked the assignments and programming labs!!!

by vladimir

Nov 26, 2016

Decent course with interesting assignments. The last part was slightly disjointed, but still useful.

by OLEKSIY B

Dec 31, 2019

It's was an awesome and amazing journey! Like in my childhood on interschool programmers contests

by Ankur S

Jun 25, 2019

Very Good. Some parts can be provided with some material to refer . Example reactive programming.

by Romina E V

Jan 26, 2018

I learned optimal and safe methodologies to manipulate data when it is infinite, mutable or async