Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
3,002件の評価
513件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP
2016年9月14日

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES
2018年3月17日

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 451 - 475 / 496 レビュー

by Saurav G

2016年10月10日

Decent course, except in the last week it felt a bit stitched together from parts of a previous course and a new one. The jump in flow seemed abrupt and the relevance of some of the contents (regarding Future's) was not clear.

by Sebastián S C

2018年2月4日

I found this course thanks to Lightbend but I was sad to realice that a lot of content from the previous course has been took down. Actors, RxScala or Akka streams are missing and where in some sort present before.

by James T

2016年8月24日

Much of the lecture material seemed very chopped-up from previous courses and did not flow well at all. In a couple of cases the assignment had very little relationship with the course material from the same week.

by Lukasz S

2016年11月25日

Videos from previuos version of the course Reactive programming in Scala makes this course worse prepared. I had impression that it was made rushed from shredded pieces. Assignements are easier than previous

by Juan S P R

2017年11月4日

The lab for the third week was unrelated to the material, and the fourth week is a bunch of videos from the previous course of reactive programming in Scala. Nothing like the first course of Scala

by Viktor K

2017年3月4日

Too much of the content is already contained in the courses "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" and "Principles of Reactive Programming". Would be nice to have some new assignments.

by Carlos M d C T

2017年7月30日

The quality of the explanations is inferior to the first course.

But I feel I could pass the Assignments without mastery of the topics.

However, would take this course again.

by Evgenii S

2017年8月8日

Course is not well formed.

I received full grade for second assignment doing nothing.

It will be great if you attach lectures from Reactive Programming at least as optional

by Viton V

2016年10月23日

On the positive side: The content was very interesting.

On the negative side: The course was not particularly well structured. The last week was quite difficult to follow.

by Ivan K

2018年4月8日

Last (4th week) is awfully designed, includes a lot of "scratch the surface" material, very bad explanations of futures and background. With authors redesigned 4th week.

by Pavel O

2020年1月21日

Some stuff was weird, like the quickcheck task, too much weird syntax, hard to understand what's going on, especially because there was no explanation for binomial heap

by Oleg O

2017年6月23日

Weird mix of disorganized materials. Manner of teaching of Erik Meijer is really annoying. Course "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" was much better

by Pascal S

2016年11月27日

Learned quite a bit, but course was not as good as the first course of the specialization.

Especially the presentations in week 4 are rather messy.

by David P

2017年1月5日

Thoroughly enjoyed the lectures by M. Odersky! Unfortunately the lectures on Futures seemed a bit disconnected from the rest of the material...

by Santiago S L

2018年10月12日

Course is fine from an "standard" industry standpoint. However, I would have loved more monads and harder concepts related to category theory.

by Fernando G

2016年7月13日

Interesting, but a little bit too easy and shallow.

The material was reused from other courses without making it all fit together well.

by Nathan L

2016年10月13日

Was quite good but getting less and less useful, too abstract, lacking detail. Examples too academic, needs to be more practical.

by Alfonso M F

2016年12月19日

Week 3 assigment had little relationship with the material presented in the course. Week 4 needs quite a lot of polish...

by Yuan L

2017年2月16日

The last week has materials that nothing related to assignment, and it jumps a bit fast where i have no clue at all

by Nicolás C

2016年6月1日

Most of the content was included in Functional Programming in Scala and Reactive Programming Principles in Scala.

by Bidhya N S

2019年4月2日

The course is not structured well. Also concepts like monads and functors are not covered in detailed way.

by David S

2016年12月20日

Meh. Very basic intro; not the more advanced class I anticipated, based on the first in the sequence.

by Damien F

2016年12月3日

The videos were a bit confusing and gave me the impression that it was a patchwork from old lectures.

by Peter H

2018年12月30日

Course material seems to be combined from two old courses, and some materials are not well prepared.

by Roger L

2017年8月9日

The examples & exercises were too academic. Just glad to complete it. Found it extremely dull.