Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,899件の評価
495件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 451 - 475 / 478 レビュー

by David S

Dec 21, 2016

Meh. Very basic intro; not the more advanced class I anticipated, based on the first in the sequence.

by Damien F

Dec 03, 2016

The videos were a bit confusing and gave me the impression that it was a patchwork from old lectures.

by Peter H

Dec 31, 2018

Course material seems to be combined from two old courses, and some materials are not well prepared.

by Roger L

Aug 09, 2017

The examples & exercises were too academic. Just glad to complete it. Found it extremely dull.

by Mayeul M

Sep 05, 2016

Not as useful as the first course. The part on the futures is not really understandable.

by yassine a

Nov 03, 2017

not bad , but very short and not huge plus value compared to first course

by Gabriele A

Oct 01, 2019

Good course but not much coherence between lessons and exercises.

by mostafa n

Apr 29, 2017

nice course but i was expecting more about actors and futures

by Andrew Z

Sep 05, 2016

The main difficulty of the task does not apply to the course

by Bert H

Oct 06, 2016

Course material looked sometimes recycled and unstructered

by Shi Y

Sep 04, 2019

A bit of confusion about the assignment instruction.

by Chang F

Dec 05, 2016

Not as good as the first one, esp near the end.

by Sergey S

Dec 17, 2016

progfun and reactive programming was better

by Kuba F

Sep 24, 2016

Worse than Scala Principles - too chaotic.

by dani l

Sep 27, 2016

The old version was more interesting.

by Ivan P

Oct 27, 2019

The first week is simply useless :(

by Dmitriy K

Dec 03, 2016

Asigments are too easy to implement

by Luigi

Sep 23, 2016

I was expecting more from it.

by Martiniano J

Aug 29, 2019

In order to save time I will quote this other review By Abhinav P. that reflects 100% what I think:

"I was optimistic about this course based on the previous course, because that course was consistent, self-contained, and systematic. On the other hand, this course was clearly put together by throwing together, rather haphazardly, bits and pieces of other courses, some of which no longer even exist. This is outrageous; a course like this would never be taught at a prestigious institution like EPFL, and it is highly deceptive to give us a course, put together in a arbitrary, incoherent, Frankensteinish fashion, right after a course that was quite systematic and coherent.

Week one and two were not bad, hence why I gave two stars instead of one. But week three involves a programming project that has literally nothing to do with the lectures at all. To be sure, I didn't mind learning about Scala Check, but I had to do it pretty much entirely on my own; it was mentioned for about five seconds in the lecture videos. If I wanted to just read documentation without any actual teaching, why would I sign up for a course like this?

And week 4! Coursera/whoever put this course together isn't even trying anymore. The videos are clearly from multiple different courses, and Odersky himself makes references entire weeks worth of content that simply doesn't exist anymore. This is a damn mess. In its current state, the course is simply not worth publishing."

by Andrés F

Jul 16, 2016

This course is a re-hash of both the excellent "Functional Programming Principles in Scala" and the mediocre "Principles of Reactive Programming in Scala". Unfortunately, in quality it's closer to the latter: mixed quality, lectures that seem unrelated to their corresponding assignments, many errors (both typos and, more seriously, examples that don't type-check!) and a general lack of an in-depth motivation for the principles. Staff participation in my run of the course (2016) was disappointingly low; in some cases there was no response at all to students pointing out glaring errors in the lectures.

It's very noticeable that this course is a patchwork of previous courses. In same cases the video lectures even display the wrong title for the course, or mention lectures that no longer exist in this version of the course!

The course has interesting parts (I was especially thrilled when I saw there were lectures about FRP), but its quality is way below "Functional Programming Principles in Scala". I'm disappointed.

To make this review constructive, my recommendations:

1- Pay attention to quality. Make sure all examples compile and type-check.

2- Make sure you're not repeating content already in other courses, especially if they are part of the same specialization!

3- If you're going to re-use content from other contents, make sure it fits the current course. Do not mention lectures not in the course.

by Zilvinas

Sep 03, 2016

I expected more. Week 2 on streams in my opinion was a very strong week and well worth time and effort. Week 1, 2 and 3 were pretty weak in my opinion. I don't feel like I've learned much or that the exercises reflected what was being taught in the lectures. For example on week 4 the exercises do nothing with futures even though there's 6 lectures on them. Week 3 spends 3 long lectures how to build a discrete simulation application and exercises are about property checking. Course felt disjointed and not really finished. Would NOT recommend and definitely would not pay 79 USD for.

by Shodz

May 17, 2020

Subjects of exams are really cool but they are already written at 80~90%, I would prefer to have to do things from scratch even if the subject is less interesting. A part from that, there no connecting thread during the course, each weeks is about something new and we don't really use stuff from the previous week. Globally, it's hard to retain the new knowledge...

by Michael P

May 20, 2018

Inconsistent!

by Ilya O

Jul 11, 2016

In fact, this is an inconsistent attempt of re-implementing previous FRP course from the same authors. FRP course had many issues about homework/lectures being poorly related, this one is even worse. This is very frustrating, as a topic itself is one of the most interesting ones in today's software engineering.

by Diego M C

Oct 29, 2017

Very boring and unorganized course. It feels like it is a mix of two older courses that no longer exist.

This almost made me feel like I was back in college, with those unbelievably boring lessons and project subjects from 30 years ago.