Chevron Left
Functional Program Design in Scala に戻る

スイス連邦工科大学ローザンヌ校(École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) による Functional Program Design in Scala の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.5
2,717件の評価
459件のレビュー

コースについて

In this course you will learn how to apply the functional programming style in the design of larger applications. You'll get to know important new functional programming concepts, from lazy evaluation to structuring your libraries using monads. We'll work on larger and more involved examples, from state space exploration to random testing to discrete circuit simulators. You’ll also learn some best practices on how to write good Scala code in the real world. Several parts of this course deal with the question how functional programming interacts with mutable state. We will explore the consequences of combining functions and state. We will also look at purely functional alternatives to mutable state, using infinite data structures or functional reactive programming. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - recognize and apply design principles of functional programs, - design functional libraries and their APIs, - competently combine functions and state in one program, - understand reasoning techniques for programs that combine functions and state, - write simple functional reactive applications. Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Functional Programming Principles in Scala: https://www.coursera.org/learn/progfun1....

人気のレビュー

RP

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

ES

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you for this exciting course! I did the FP in Scala course a few years ago and decided to do the full certification now. I am looking forward to the next courses in the specialisation.

フィルター:

Functional Program Design in Scala: 176 - 200 / 442 レビュー

by Roland F

Aug 30, 2017

Odersky does an excellent job explaining concepts and providing sound motivation for them. This course's content was definitely a level above the last course in the specialization, and some of the material seemed a bit disconnected, especially towards the end. It would be useful if there were maybe notes to go along with the course (or slides) so that we could refer back to them when doing assignments instead of having to look back at the videos.

by Walter E Z

Oct 29, 2016

Great course!

Very thorough presentation of functional programming design patterns.

by Vladimir P

Oct 26, 2016

Great course!

by Alaa A

Mar 26, 2018

great course for learning scala! I am applying this knowledge directly to my job

by Chetan B

Sep 08, 2016

A wonderful course, and a great introduction to both functional programming and Scala language. It's high time that we start paying attention to Functional Programming paradigm, and thanks to Scala we can now use it in the mainstream production grade development.

I would highly recommend this course to anyone who is looking for a new (and likely better) way of thinking about programming.

by Denis A Z Q

Oct 25, 2016

Excellent. I learned so much in this course. Thank you!!

by zysuper

Sep 25, 2016

So interesting!

by Samuel S

Aug 30, 2016

Really enjoyed this course. Having had experience in functional reactive programming, the content wasn't overly in depth but it helped cement understanding of how functional patterns can be used in place of OO ones, as well as further the knowledge of Scala gained in the first course.

The content on streams and futures was particularly helpful for me.

by Andrzej

Jun 09, 2017

The course is very well prepared and easy to digest, while in the same time, assignments are challenging and allow to check acquired skills.

by Mykola S

Jun 19, 2017

Overall, the course is great. More advanced concepts are covered compared to the first course in the specialization. Thanks!

by Michał G

May 29, 2016

Great, I've learned a lot!

by Trent O

Apr 01, 2017

A good course that touches on the basics of high-level concepts of Functional Programming, that could have been made better with homeworks that are more related to course material & more examples of concepts introduced in the course, either in homeworks or video.

I thoroughly enjoyed 2nd week material, simply amazing concepts & homework.

If I could give 4.5 stars that would be the score I will give.

by Alexandr M

May 20, 2017

Nice course, reactive programming is very powerful paradigm, especially for UI.

by Victor M C M

May 06, 2017

It is great to learn Scala and functional programming. Thanks to Martin Odersky

by Arnaud B

Oct 04, 2016

Great course to have a pratical introduction to functional design using Scala

by Артем К

Oct 15, 2017

Great course too!

by Ismail A I

Aug 29, 2016

Course recommended for all who deepen with Scala

by Marcin Z

Dec 24, 2017

The programing assignment are challenging. However hard they are, it's important to keep on going. I can guarantee you it will be worth it.

by Patrick L

Aug 28, 2016

I'e been using Scala at work for more than a year, but still M Odersky and E Meijer brought me a lot in this course

by JoolsFenner

Jul 16, 2016

Outstanding

by Sasha C

Sep 27, 2016

Awesome course! I wish all courses be like this

by Roberts P

Sep 15, 2016

This is a university degree course which takes enormous effort to complete. But still its beond the programming course range giving you whats not possible to google or learn practical way. Thanks!

by Light0617

Apr 29, 2019

great!!!

by Ankur S

Jun 25, 2019

Very Good. Some parts can be provided with some material to refer . Example reactive programming.

by Tihomir N

Jul 19, 2019

One of the very top courses on Coursera. Prof. Martin Odersky, is truly incredible !