Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part A に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part A の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,643件の評価

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part A: 76 - 100 / 480 レビュー

by Pablo A

2017年6月25日

Best programming course I have ever taken in person or online. Dan Grossman has to be one of the most enthusiastic and clear computing science professors. The material on Part A was far more effective to learn principles of functional programming than the many books and talks I have read and watched. Thanks!

by Sean J A

2019年3月4日

One of my favorite classes, I retake it just because I enjoy it, and it is a good refresher. Dan has crafted a fine class, everything he teaches is concise and accurate. Now that I have begun my career as a developer, it is easy to see the knowledge in these lessons has been well honed from experience.

by Pooh B

2020年8月20日

The best MOOC I've ever taken in terms of presenting the material and keeping the assignments challenging but doable. As for the material, I think it's essential to understand the tradeoffs between various modern programming languages, and a great intruduction the functional programming specifically.

by Moatasem S

2019年1月26日

A very, very solid foundation in functional programming and programming in general. I recommend this for anyone who is starting to pick a functional language like Elixir for example and still find difficulties getting around it. Dan's fun way of teaching will make it feel almost second nature to you.

by Priyank

2017年3月26日

Great to know someone is teaching ML in 2017! It was great to learn functional programming principles from the ground up. I struggled a lot with 'Functional Programming in Scala' since teaching functional programming wasn't its primary focus. Look forward to taking Part B of the specialization!

by Pratik A

2017年5月8日

It is, in my opinion, one of the best course to get started with functional programming concepts. Tail recursion, currying and pattern matching are powerful concepts, that are very well taught by Prof Dan. I absolutely recommend this course to everyone who wishes to be a good programmer.

by Frederick M

2017年1月3日

Great way to get an intro to functional programming and review recursion. Workload was very manageable while working full time -- and still challenging enough to learn a lot. Looking forward to building off what was taught by learning F# and contributing to some open source projects.

by Michel A S

2018年5月17日

I've worked in industry for several years, and took this course as a refresher. I've not used ML languages much before so some of the concepts are genuinely new, but overall this course really exceeds my expectation - it's a really good (re-)grounding in programming language concepts.

by Cheng Z

2017年5月6日

The course is very well designed, suitable for both beginners and experienced programmers. Knowing basic (core) concepts of PLs is definitely a great asset for any programmer. Based on such knowledge, we may be able to understand many other PLs, such as Python, in a more in-depth way.

by Boris E

2020年6月10日

One of the best courses I saw. It builds foundation to understand programming languages, building compound data, pattern-matching, types, type-checking, evaluation rules, benefits of functional style. I enjoyed style of teaching and all the topics covered. Looking forward for Part B!

by Josh S

2022年3月25日

Great course. I really enjoyed learning the concepts and doing the homework and practise exercises. I thought the lectures were informative, the readings were helpful and the problems were rewarding without being too difficult. I look forward to taking Parts B and C in the future.

by Timi

2019年6月4日

It's a really great course. The first week can be a bit tough to get through especially if you're from a programming background but I implore you to wait it out. You'll learn a lot about functional programming and learn how to apply those concepts to make you a better programmer.

by Sergey K

2022年6月12日

G​reat course especially for thouse who, like me, write code but do not have computer science education and learned coding mostly by writing code. Learning basic principles in a systematic way using a new language, quite different from the ones I work with, was very useful.

by Ondrej P

2018年1月25日

One of the best CS courses available, if not the best. It enlightened me more on many functional programming idioms and concepts than any other book / course. However, this course is definitely not for total beginners, prior basic experience with programming is required.

by Jimmy C C

2020年3月16日

I watch the video lectures as supplements for a course I am taking at my university, which happens to be based on this course. I feel compelled to say that this is one of the best courses I have ever taken and Dan Grossman is the best instructor I have ever had.

by Andrew C

2020年6月12日

I wanted a friendly introduction to the ML language family and got a lot out of this. This is the languages course I wish I had in undergrad. I found Standard ML really enjoyable to work with and appreciated the focus of the course material. Highly recommended.

by Krystian S

2016年9月7日

One of the best courses in which I've participated. Additionaly along with Tim Roughgarden my favourite professor as far as my familiarity with coursera and other mooc sites is concerned. Love to see his passion to the subject and become "infected" with it :)

by Vijayanand N

2021年10月12日

This is a great course for any programmer. It delves more on how things work in programming languages why they are like that, rather than how to do things using programming languages. It does require dedication and the exercises and assignments are not easy.

by 唐澤裕智

2022年3月27日

Awesome course for anyone who likes programming. I learned a lot, and is helping me write better code in any language. Very thoughtfully planned, meticulous execution for videos, lecture notes, homework assignments. I enjoyed peer-reviewing fellow students.

by Sam S

2020年3月20日

Excellent course. At first, it felt quite challenging. But, once the material started to settle in my mind everything began to make sense. Professor Grossman does an outstanding job explaining things from basic principles and building up to larger concepts.

by Rafael L

2017年6月15日

Maybe the best course I've ever taken in my whole life. If you want to learn more about functional programming this is the course you're looking for. The videos and exercises are very explanatory and will give you a deep understanding about all the topics.

by Vasilis K

2017年9月16日

With this course I realised that functional programming is not just a hype or a trend. I really became invested in this way of thinking. The course is great, Dan is a great instructor and even more important is that the mentors are doing an excellent job!

by Abhishek V

2020年3月11日

Absolutely mind-blowing course. This is a must do specialization for anyone who in interested in Programming in general. Can't thank enough Prof Dan for putting this together. I really really really wish he does a complete specialization on Haskell now.

by Бунта А В

2017年8月23日

Excellent course. Best of all I've studied here. An interesting presentation of the material, well-planned homework. Also got a great motivation :) And, I hope I became a better programmer than I was :)

I will be glad to continue my studies in Part B

by Sony

2020年8月4日

I am very pleased with this Course,

I learned a lot, Dan is a great teacher. I was a bit worried about the pre-requisites because I only had some knowledge of C and assembly but could manage to do it with a lot of practice :) I really recommend it.