Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part A に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part A の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,606件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part A: 451 - 471 / 471 レビュー

by Aschwin W

2020年7月12日

I wanted to learn more about Functional Programming and prepare for a course on Compiler Construction. This course showed how statements and expressions differ. Also using a pure functional programming language is really good to prepare for my daily work and developing a compiler.

by Jeffrey C

2022年1月4日

Fun course at times and overall very intense. Some of the homework questions later in the course were extremely difficult and required a lot more time than designated (and a lot more time than I would prefer to give).

by Messias T

2021年1月11日

Gostei bastante do curso, entretanto, algumas partes dos homeworks ficaram mal explicadas, além da falta de mais casos de testes para corroborar o que se pedia nas questões.

by Jie G

2020年1月18日

Very useful, but I cannot submit my assignment and ML is also not available for my computer

by Atsushi

2019年1月6日

the course material was good and fun! but the discussion forum was not so active.

by Arto P

2021年1月10日

Clear content and good exercises, which need an investment of time and thinking.

by Chua B Q

2019年5月18日

Solid introduction to functional programming and programming languages concepts.

by Philip A

2016年11月29日

The peer review was too time consuming. Otherwise great course

by Steve C

2020年9月3日

A challenging course with some deep insight into programming.

by Mark R

2019年6月17日

Good intro. to Functional Programming

by CLARISA B H C

2019年3月5日

Muy buena información; nivel alto.

by Chang L

2018年7月29日

Quite interesting~

by Ojesanmi F

2020年8月28日

so cool

by LvGJ

2020年7月27日

good

by lhdgriver

2019年9月29日

Easy

by Roman H

2021年5月24日

Dangerous combination of dry presentation of abstract concepts, and demonstration rather than explanation. The class left me with lots of open questions, most beginning with "why", many followed by "would you", and may not be well suited for an online environment without teacher interaction.

I get the impression you have to really like math, rather than computers and programming, to find this class interesting.

The horrid sound quality from the terrible microphone the teacher used doesn't help make the lessons more enjoyable. Or maybe that's coursera's compression, I'm not sure as I haven't taken many classes here yet.

PS: Something about this comment form is buggy, making proper formatting of my review impossible.

by Andrew M

2019年11月10日

This series of courses Part A-C looks amazing BUT using SML/NJ is critical to Part A. On a MAC running Catalina SML will not run, maybe because it utilises 32bit routines which cannot run on Catalina. I found an online version of standard ML but it isn't suited to doing the homeworks.

by Stepan K

2017年4月9日

Not very applicable for the real world. Recursion over lists can be a nice mind exercise but please don't use it in real world, there are way too many stack overflows, unneeded context switches and cryptic code already, don't add to it.

by 张浥东

2016年11月18日

a little boring. I spent lots of time on learning on an useless language rather than learning the spirit of functional programming. I suppose to use C/C++\python or other normal programming language as the lesson language.

by Nathan J

2020年7月7日

I have problem keeping up wit the course because not only I have experienced regular Internet issue but also I Have difficulty configuring the SML to work properly.

In truth the course is rated five stars.