Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part A に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part A の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,621件の評価
477件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part A: 151 - 175 / 477 レビュー

by Wojciech B

2020年9月4日

Really good content, I've learned a lot! In my opinion, some homework tasks are art for the art's sake, but overall really valuable. Looking forward to starting part B!

by Alexandre C

2016年9月28日

Very interesting way to see programming fundamentals concepts without the "pollution" of any specific language constraints. Nice job from the developers of this course.

by Yik S C

2018年4月8日

Awesome introduction to functional programming. A wonderful supplement to my working language Scala. Would be helpful for everyone working with functional programming.

by Deleted A

2021年2月26日

Very good course, the teacher goes in depth to explain the subject, the homeworks are challenging, so if you complete them, you know you actually learned the material

by Arent S

2018年11月6日

This is one of the best courses I've taken so far. The assignments are difficult and interesting and more importantly, the assignment teaches the core of programming.

by db g

2020年7月30日

I still had not finish the course ,but I can say this is amazing course , thank you for giving us for free such an amazing course. Can't wait for Part B and Part C.

by Jing C

2018年11月3日

I think it is very good as a start up for programming. full of useful thoughts and ideas, and instructor is explaining everything in a clear way. very recommended.

by Yi-Huan H

2018年6月4日

Overall an outstanding and organized course. Good for the those who want to know the fundamental knowledge of programming languages not related to a specific one.

by Robert S

2020年2月4日

A great introduction to core concepts and terminology of functional programming for such a relatively short course. I am definitely going to take parts B and C.

by Saket P

2018年4月12日

It is a very challenging course and great learning experience. One would be very clear on functional programming style and concepts after completing this course.

by Yuehan C

2017年7月31日

The course and instructor are both amazing! It introduces some high level idioms in programming and is useful for all software engineers! Would highly recommend!

by itiel s

2020年4月28日

Amazing course for those who have interest in functional programming. Prof. Dan is great lecturer, and his passion and enthusiasm for the subject clearly shows.

by Sohom B

2019年3月9日

Amazing Course. Professor Dan really brings out the best in the students, and communicates the material really well. Will be taking Part B and Part C shortly!!

by Mark B

2021年8月14日

I​ really enjoyed this course, the way it compared different types of programming languages helped me to understand the similarities that all languages share.

by Zachary R

2020年3月20日

Great introduction to functional programming, especially for folks with an OOP background. Challenging and rewarding. I am looking forward to parts B and C!

by Michal Z

2017年6月10日

Outstanding course. Actually, it's valuable even for experienced programmers. The ideas presented in course could be used in other - mainstream languages.

by Tega E

2019年3月28日

I really enjoyed taking this course. It was quite taxing but I loved the way Dan Grossman presented the concepts in a very intuitive and didactic manner.

by Nester P

2017年5月6日

Great course! HW

Great course! The HWs were more challenging than I expected but Dan's lectures are very clear and the concepts are explained very well.

by Jiayi L

2016年10月8日

Great Course. Unlike other MOOC courses, it provides sufficent practices which helps me to understand the content a lot. Looking forward to take part B

by Aaron

2017年10月30日

Wonderful course. Highly recommend for anyone who hasn't made any study of programming languages before, whether you are a student or professional.

by Hristo I

2020年10月16日

The course is actually very useful and well structured. Don't be scared by the use of a programming language (Standard ML) that might seem obscure.

by Tejas P B

2017年9月10日

Exceptional experience, learnt a lot! Will recommend whole heartedly to others. I am onto part B now! Excited to see how racket contrasts with ML.

by Kevin S

2021年1月12日

Really clear teaching and well prepared material. In this part the course focuses on functional programming, which is really elegant and consice.

by Nitin L

2017年4月5日

I really appreciate the content of this course and will like to thank prof. Grossman and Coursera team for providing me an opportunity to learn.

by Zhang K W

2021年3月21日

Excellent course to further hone your programming skills and computational thinking - I will forever see programming languages in a new light.