Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part A に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part A の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,606件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part A: 176 - 200 / 471 レビュー

by Oladapo F

2017年5月14日

Great course for whoever is interested in understanding more about how programming languages works (statically typed in part A of the course)

by Tang H T

2019年1月6日

Very good instructor, challenging but doable homework for week 3 and 4. Exam is too easy though. I would like the exam to be more difficult.

by Ruud W

2021年5月3日

Excellent course. Learn important functional programming concepts, using SML. Very good teacher with excellent videos and written material.

by Paul G

2020年7月9日

Great course. Lectures are clear and homework really helps understand the abstract concepts. Thank you for making this available for free!

by Feiyu L

2018年4月14日

such a clear introduction to Functional Programing. My fear of 'academic functional style' is totally gone, and really like recursion now.

by Anthony J

2020年7月17日

Instructor is clear and interesting. Course material builds in a way that helps you learn it. Great class, thanks for making it online.

by Oskar M G A

2019年5月18日

Great course, if you want to learn the foundations of functional programming in a purely functional language this is the course for you!

by Ling J

2017年11月10日

This is absolutely a challenge course for those people who are not familiar with functional programming. Nice course material and teach.

by Jesse T

2017年11月25日

Covers essential functional idioms, and explores ways of computation different than the usual imperative, object-oriented patterns.

by Yu Z

2017年7月29日

This course is fantastic. Taking this course is a very rewarding experience. A great investment for sure! Thank Dan and his team!

by gaapill

2020年9月28日

Thank you, professor Dan Grossman!

I've learned a lot amoung this course, and had inspired a lot from those concepts you taught.

by Mikhail D

2019年12月29日

One of my favourite courses on Coursera, first took it in 2013 and had much fun taking it again in 2019 to refresh my knowledge

by Philip S S

2017年1月2日

This course is strongly recommended for those who wants to learn functional programming and programming languages in general.

by Dennis E H

2017年9月5日

The lectures in this course are extraordinary, especially the ones that explain motivations and how the material was chosen.

by Eugene C

2021年7月25日

I​ could learn the terms pertain to programming languages, and I could grab the concept of funnctional programming. Thanks.

by dynasty919

2018年2月21日

i can't believe i have learnt so much about PL. prof. Dan knows exactly what kind of concept a beginner should grasp most.

by ZHENG Z

2020年6月4日

Great course! It taught me how to think in a functional way, as well as some funtamental truth about programming. Thanks!

by Zhong X 钟

2016年10月8日

Very rewarding, worth taking. It enhanced my understanding of what is programming. I learned some principles of coding.

by John S

2016年8月17日

Great quality teaching and challenging homework. Much appreciated. Hoping for the Part B, and C to be on coursera soon.

by Randy H

2016年10月5日

Excellent instruction. I feel my programming ninja powers have definitely increased. Can't wait to do parts B and C.

by 蔡嘉文

2019年9月20日

good introduction to functional programming . sml is a fun language with type checking system and beautiful syntax.

by Calvin N

2017年8月31日

The course has changed the way I approach and learn new programming languages. I am going to take part B and C too!

by Ruchita S

2021年3月4日

Amazing! The course really broadens your perspective towards programming language and

I would highly

recommend it.

by Maximilian P

2020年11月24日

Awesome! Finally wrapped my head around some concepts that I had been trying to understand prior to this course.

by Maria L V

2018年3月19日

Great course, learned a lot. Dynamic videos and writen support. First experience with coursera very positive :)