Chevron Left
Programming Languages, Part A に戻る

ワシントン大学(University of Washington) による Programming Languages, Part A の受講者のレビューおよびフィードバック

4.9
1,605件の評価
473件のレビュー

コースについて

This course is an introduction to the basic concepts of programming languages, with a strong emphasis on functional programming. The course uses the languages ML, Racket, and Ruby as vehicles for teaching the concepts, but the real intent is to teach enough about how any language “fits together” to make you more effective programming in any language -- and in learning new ones. This course is neither particularly theoretical nor just about programming specifics -- it will give you a framework for understanding how to use language constructs effectively and how to design correct and elegant programs. By using different languages, you will learn to think more deeply than in terms of the particular syntax of one language. The emphasis on functional programming is essential for learning how to write robust, reusable, composable, and elegant programs. Indeed, many of the most important ideas in modern languages have their roots in functional programming. Get ready to learn a fresh and beautiful way to look at software and how to have fun building it. The course assumes some prior experience with programming, as described in more detail in the first module. The course is divided into three Coursera courses: Part A, Part B, and Part C. As explained in more detail in the first module of Part A, the overall course is a substantial amount of challenging material, so the three-part format provides two intermediate milestones and opportunities for a pause before continuing. The three parts are designed to be completed in order and set up to motivate you to continue through to the end of Part C. The three parts are not quite equal in length: Part A is almost as substantial as Part B and Part C combined. Week 1 of Part A has a more detailed list of topics for all three parts of the course, but it is expected that most course participants will not (yet!) know what all these topics mean....

人気のレビュー

YZ

2016年12月2日

I'm just a beginner for CS or SE classes, and find this course really concise and challenging. It opens a door for me to get deeper into programming language. No wonder it got so high average score.

VA

2018年3月4日

Very interesting course! Superb teaching and homework assignments. If you are interested in functional programming or in programming languages in general, this should be one of the must take MOOCs

フィルター:

Programming Languages, Part A: 201 - 225 / 471 レビュー

by kojo

2022年1月8日

Very good teacher, super useful concepts. you should definitely take this course as well as part B and part C

by Kachan O V

2020年5月3日

Very good!Knowledge provided by this course is really useful and lecturer explains everything very accessibly!

by Jürgen B

2019年8月13日

Great course. Quite useful even for knowledgeable programmers to learn about functional programming concepts.

by Tan S X A

2017年10月17日

Dan Grossman is a lovely person, and a good lecturer. His materials are good, and the homework is challenging.

by Raquel K

2019年9月17日

Wonderful course! Really expanded the way I think about programming and I'm looking forward to parts B and C.

by Chinmay

2016年10月12日

Awesome course. Learned a lot on the way. Concepts were presented very well. Looking forward to part B and C.

by Andrea T

2021年10月21日

Very interesting insights into programming in general. Good course structure, well explained, easy to follow

by Luiz C

2018年7月22日

A fantastic Course. Before this Course I thought I knew how to Code. Now I know I still have to learn a lot

by Yusong S

2017年2月11日

Learn many fundamental concepts about functional programming! Course material is challenging but rewarding.

by James L

2021年5月13日

I'm so hilarious I thought this was going to be all review of things I already knew. Don't skip this one.

by John G

2017年2月1日

This is a really fun course. I'm glad that it was split into A-B-C because I just don't have time for B.

by Mustaqim M

2020年9月26日

Really tough and engaging but none the less very helpful in understanding the intricacies of programming

by Lei F

2018年12月13日

This is a wonderful lesson. Bring a lot of new concepts to me. Functional programming is a big surprise.

by Shen C

2018年4月6日

I should say thanks Dan's work on this MOOC. I have learned many knowledge about functional programming

by Deleted A

2017年10月30日

Very insightful and logical presentation of ideas that I now see everywhere when I learn new languages.

by Pritesh S

2020年8月6日

Arguably the best MOOC on Coursera. I wish professor Dan Grossman would upload more such MOOCs soon !!

by Caleb

2020年4月25日

Great intro to ideas behind programs and also a fun way to learn some functional programming concepts.

by Robert M

2016年9月2日

Excellent coverage of the topic. Must see if you want to grasp the functional programming paradigm.

by Akash B P

2018年9月22日

The professor's enthusiasm for programming languages rubbed off on me. Can't wait to start Part B

by Shaun G

2022年1月3日

Incredible course! Very well put together and organized. Vastly improved my programming skills.

by Rizwan Q

2020年6月12日

i thoroughly enjoyed the course, the instructor was very good and made the whole experience fun

by Ervin L

2017年1月30日

Fantastic course from Prof. Grossman. Would recommend to anyone interested in Computer Science.

by Jeff T

2018年2月22日

Course materials and videos very good. A wonderful experience for this old coder! Thank you!

by sai

2016年10月15日

Great course. You can learn the most import concepts about the functional programming language